We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Ranked #22 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Amalfi is not my favorite town on the coast, as other than early in the morning and late at night you have to fight through hordes of tourists. But I was pleased with our choice of the Hotel Croce di Amalfi. It's location up a number of steps means you need to be in decent shape if you're carrying heavy luggage, but for me it was worth it to be up above the commotion in the town. The view from our window, and especially from the large communal terrace, was lovely. (I would guess that hotels closer to the beach are quite noisy, as during the day there's a constant parade of tour buses and cars).

Our room itself was smallish but pretty, with old wooden shutters. The bathroom was probably the nicest on of our entre trip through Italy, with the same lovely blue and white tiles that are maintained as a decorative motif throughout the hotel. We had a great modern shower.

We did have to ring the front bell and wait a bit for someone to show up when we arrived, as I believe the owners live in a nearby house, but with a small, independantly owned hotel you don't expect someone to be occupying the front desk 24/7. In gneral I found the hotel to be well run, and the staff friendly and helpful.

Amalfi is very pricey town, so the rate was not cheap but seemed in-line with what similar hotels were charging. So overall I would say that the Croce di Amalfi is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent three nights in this during our honeymoon trip in south Italy. Almost 80 steps to the hotel is an Amalfi standard and it is not a big problem unless you have heavy luggages. Hotel is located in the heart of Amalfi and has a nice terrace with superb coast view. Breakfast was poor and finished breakfast stuff ( like cheese,bread and fruits) were hardly refilled by staff and coffee&tea service was very weak. Hotel was recently refurbished and well decorated but the service and cleanness could be much better regarding the price they charge for the room. Overall a bad value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms without sea view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

New hotel with the Amalfi classic style in the middle of Amalfi. Great location, great terrace for breakfast, lovely rooms and very nice bathrooms. Paola, the owner is super friendly and helpful together with her fantastic staff. Definitely an hotel to revisit! It made our girlie weekend amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supermeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had never been to Amalfi before. What a lovely location, right in the centre of town, lovely rooms, refurbished in 2011, lovely bathroom. Amazing views of the seafront. Great breakfast terrace with lovely views. Staff were very helpful, and Paola (the Manageress) really looked after us, in fact she was the main reason I chose the hotel, as I was so impressed with her friendly professionalism when I first emailed, and then rang the hotel from abroad, as we booked direct. There are some steps to get to the hotel, but its worth the walk up, and they also offer help with the luggage if you need it. We also booked a car through the hotel, who collected us from the airport. This was also fantastic, and worth the money. All in all, a great holiday experience, thanks Paola.

Room Tip: When you book, check with Paola as to the views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

excellent location, lovely rooms, recently refurbished, large bathroom. Lovely view from our room over the amalfi front. Breakfast terrace is fantastic, amazing views. Staff very friendly and helpful. Some steps to get to the hotel, but location is great.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MHughes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fiordal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander une chambre avec vue sur la mer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Annalara
Hotel Villa Annalara
#17 of 43 in Amalfi
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croce di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Address: Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range: $78 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croce di Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Croce di Amalfi, once an historic house belonged to the aristocratic family Scoppetta, is situated in the ancient district "Vagliendola", one of the most panoramic and suggestive place of the city. Surrounded from picturesque houses and overlying from the bizantinic belltower of saint Biagio's church, the Hotel has an unique and privileged location and offers breathbreaking view. Very closed to the Cathedreal and the beaches,reachable with a a staircase of about 77 steps, the position's hotel makes possible for our guests to reach in a few minutes the bus station and the mole for the boats departures and to visit by foot the historical center and walk along the seaside promenade. The renovation works, finished in the year 2011, kept the ancient look the same as before but inside is made comfortable and modern. Owners' love for the art has made a perfect union between history and tradition, ancient and modern, mediterranean and classic styles. The cross ceilings and the tipical amalphitan capitals give to the structure the historical charm of the ancient sea republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Croce di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing