We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Da Teresa

Ristorante Da Teresa
Via Santa Croce, 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 831237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fabulous service! Our spaghetti was perfect with fresh tomatoes basil and perfect spices! The grilled calamari was so fresh and cooked to perfection. The prices are extremely reasonable. Would recommend this place without hesitation. Got there by boat! It is a gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nilou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Off the hook; literally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant located on the water in Conca de Marini (near Amalfi) is only reachable by boat, but the extra effort getting there is well worth the trip. The seafood served at this restaurant is fresh out of the water (the fisherman bring there catch directly to the restaurant). I absolutely loved this place. Our waiter only spoke Italian but was extremely friendly and attentive. We sat on the outside terrace which sits directly on the water. The setting is great. The waiters prepare dishes of pasta with fish right at your table. The orata, calamari, spaghetti with clams and fish salad with octopus were all excellent. The complimentary lemoncello served after the meal was one of the best I ever tried. Best of all, the waiter just left the bottle on the table. Da Teresa was one of the best places we went while in Amalfi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravens32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Died and gone to heaven many times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Another place that Jamie Oliver should visit. Here you sit immediately above the sea and you MUST eat seafood.
Ask in broken Italian or English for seaweed balls and accuighe (anchovy) with mozzarella. All that as a starter. If you are very nice and ask their advice without requesting a menu, you will probably get much more on top. Then I strongly recommend the spaghetti a la Vongole in bianco. One alternative is a plate of cottze [mussels]. They also do a perfectly ridiculous spaghetti with fresh lobster and this has quite frankly shocked family friends. I have tried other plates and they are all divine, but why ask for meat and other mountain dishes when you're on the sea? The food here is better than I have had anywhere on this coast in 30 years and frankly better than anything I have eaten over the same period in London. I have been eating here in summer for very many years and I am entirely confident in these comments. As another reviewer has said, ask for white wine in a brocca, with peaches. This is actually good wine and works perfectly with the food. It delivers a perfect dessert at the end of a meal. Make sure you have previously hired (€10 for the long day) beach beds to sleep on afterwards and buy a coffee before you leave. This will be an experience you remember for many years.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstandingly Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Ok - here we go .....

The whole experience was fabulous. Being picked up by the (free) boat to a wonderful location.

Mario, the owner greeted us like old friends. All a bit reminiscent of the great Chiriguitos in Spain. The food was beyond wonderful, fresh, served with love.

As a seasoned traveller, trip advisor bag 'n' all - this is an experience NOT to be missed.

Bellisimo

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing, amazing !! So fresh, so authentic, home cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived by boat, that we had hired for a day of sight seeing up and down the coast. The boat docked us here for lunch after a swim in the lovely surrounding beach area. We were wet, with bathing suits, and tshirts, flip flops, and they welcomed us like VIPs. The food was unbelievable ... wine with fruit swimming in it, amazing pasta and salads, and these big huge lemons as decor on the table. They gave me one to take with me when I left as they could see how thrilled i was to see such organic freshness right at our table. One of our most memorable stops for lunch ever ... just beautiful, yet simple, and delicious!! Still dreaming of that place, day, lunch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Teresa also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Da Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing