We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Off the hook; literally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Da Teresa

Ristorante Da Teresa
Via Santa Croce, 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 831237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 107 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Off the hook; literally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant located on the water in Conca de Marini (near Amalfi) is only reachable by boat, but the extra effort getting there is well worth the trip. The seafood served at this restaurant is fresh out of the water (the fisherman bring there catch directly to the restaurant). I absolutely loved this place. Our waiter only spoke Italian but was extremely friendly and attentive. We sat on the outside terrace which sits directly on the water. The setting is great. The waiters prepare dishes of pasta with fish right at your table. The orata, calamari, spaghetti with clams and fish salad with octopus were all excellent. The complimentary lemoncello served after the meal was one of the best I ever tried. Best of all, the waiter just left the bottle on the table. Da Teresa was one of the best places we went while in Amalfi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravens32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    15
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Died and gone to heaven many times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Another place that Jamie Oliver should visit. Here you sit immediately above the sea and you MUST eat seafood.
Ask in broken Italian or English for seaweed balls and accuighe (anchovy) with mozzarella. All that as a starter. If you are very nice and ask their advice without requesting a menu, you will probably get much more on top. Then I strongly recommend the spaghetti a la Vongole in bianco. One alternative is a plate of cottze [mussels]. They also do a perfectly ridiculous spaghetti with fresh lobster and this has quite frankly shocked family friends. I have tried other plates and they are all divine, but why ask for meat and other mountain dishes when you're on the sea? The food here is better than I have had anywhere on this coast in 30 years and frankly better than anything I have eaten over the same period in London. I have been eating here in summer for very many years and I am entirely confident in these comments. As another reviewer has said, ask for white wine in a brocca, with peaches. This is actually good wine and works perfectly with the food. It delivers a perfect dessert at the end of a meal. Make sure you have previously hired (€10 for the long day) beach beds to sleep on afterwards and buy a coffee before you leave. This will be an experience you remember for many years.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstandingly Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Ok - here we go .....

The whole experience was fabulous. Being picked up by the (free) boat to a wonderful location.

Mario, the owner greeted us like old friends. All a bit reminiscent of the great Chiriguitos in Spain. The food was beyond wonderful, fresh, served with love.

As a seasoned traveller, trip advisor bag 'n' all - this is an experience NOT to be missed.

Bellisimo

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing !! So fresh, so authentic, home cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived by boat, that we had hired for a day of sight seeing up and down the coast. The boat docked us here for lunch after a swim in the lovely surrounding beach area. We were wet, with bathing suits, and tshirts, flip flops, and they welcomed us like VIPs. The food was unbelievable ... wine with fruit swimming in it, amazing pasta and salads, and these big huge lemons as decor on the table. They gave me one to take with me when I left as they could see how thrilled i was to see such organic freshness right at our table. One of our most memorable stops for lunch ever ... just beautiful, yet simple, and delicious!! Still dreaming of that place, day, lunch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food & service, Absolute waterfront location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived in our own hire boat (from Amalfi Marine) & one of the staff came out in a dinghy to help us moor before taking us to the restaurant jetty. That is definitely the cool way to do lunch on the Amalfi coast !
We intentionlly arrived early (12:30) to avoid the weekend tourist crush, and had the restaurant & staff to ourselves. Wonderful views from our waterfront balcony table, attentive service, and superb seafood. We had been to a few other restaurants on previous days, between Amalfi & Positano, in our boat - and this was the better of them.
Fortunately we were well into our main meal before the tourist ferries started arriving to disgorge wave after wave of hungry tourists ! The atmosphere & service took a bit of a dive from that point on, so we decided to escape back to our boat & were ferried back by the friendly restaurant 'boat boy'. Our tip? - if you can, get there early to really enjoy this great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank feendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Teresa also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Da Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing