We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Preferita

La Preferita
Ranked #47 of 107 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When we arrived there was no music, so the "owner"? got the electronic piano set up and played for almost an hour. He was not the scheduled entertainment, but he was great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank anniM129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greve
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hillside restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went there in November - and we were the only guests most of the time. The food was actually fine and the service was impeccable. The only bad thing was they only had one gas heater and when we they thought that we had finished (new guests had arrived) they removed it - and since one side of the restaurant was open, it got very cold and unfortunately, I had a fever the next day

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greve2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fancy a limoncello”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Out of the main town but great view over bay and food was excellent despite rather plain looking menu. Beware the multiple free limoncello's as you leave. Lethal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMQ_IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A beautiful view, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This reataurant is located nearby the Santa Katerina hotel just above Amalfi on the coastal highway.
Beautiful view - very charming host Nicola.
Good menu, well priced local wine (approx 10 Euro a bottle).
The food was good but not what one one expect on the Amalfi Coast.
Good quantities of food - but could have been slightly more tasty.
Nicola played a few ditties on the organ and while his voice is past it's use by date -
he was very agreeable.
Overall - ho-hum.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blacmikOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good view, poor food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for food after a long day, mainly because it was near our hotel and they promote the authenticity of their local cuisine. The food was poor and bland and prepared "too quickly". The waitress was keen to take my plate and hovered so that she could snatch it away as soon as I put my cutlery , I like a game so forced myself to finish the food and chew slowly despite the fact I wasn't enjoying it much, just to prolong the torture for a bit longer.The menu is short and basic and not authentic unless you like Risotto made with long grain rice !!!! Save your money there are much nicer places to eat in Amalfi for the same price.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hughsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Preferita also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Preferita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing