We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Value for the money, beyond one of the most luxurious hotels we have ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Santa Caterina for four nights. This hotel overlooks the mediterream sea & has some of the most stunning views, we have ever seen. The terrace and hotel restaurant overlook the ocean. The accomodations and staff are five-star with excellent service. This is a very tranquil, romantice setting, with an abundance of lemon trees in small gardens surrounding guests rooms. The hotel lobby and bar comes alive in the evening as one of the hot spots on the Amalfi Coast. I dream about going back. After 7 years of marriage, I felt like a newly wed after four days at the Santa Caterina.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_nigro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Santa Caterina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2009

I had the week of my life!! There is no better setting than in Amalfi. The food, wine, service was top notch. Room service was quick and very accommadating. Transportation to and from the hotel was easy and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoStevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We couldn't have asked for anything more with our stay at the Santa Caterina Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is attentive and friendly. The breakfast on the terrace in the morning is a great way to start your day and the food is phenomenal. We sampled other local restaurants (concierge was extremely helpful) and although all restaurants were fantastic, the food served at the hotel was still our top choice. My husband and I even enjoyed a dinner served to us on our balcony while enjoying the piano music from the restaurant terrace. The hotel is conveniently located for easy day trips to other areas of the coast. The pool is a beautiful experience and enjoyed our spa visits. Best hotel experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RARChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

The Santa Caterina is one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. I have traveled all over the world and stayed at many five-star hotels and this one is by far the best! The value for the money is fabulous. The owners and the staff are so elegant and polite that you wish you would never leave. The breakfast in the morning is such a joy to look over the breathtaking Mediterranean Sea. The restaurant by the beach is equally stunning for lunch and dinner. And the food is delicious! The rooms are precious and each one unique with colorful Vietri tiles that brighten up everything. I treasure my time spent at the Santa Caterina and plan on going back as often as possible.

SG--Miami

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

First off, I wasn't paying. So I can't comment on value for money I'm afraid. But I expect that the amazing luxury came at a price...
Everything was divine. Attention to detail went beyond what I could have dreamed of. From exotic fruit in the room, glorious bathrobes, efficient pool service; all exceeded luxury to it's highest possible degree.
The staff are fawningly attentive and fall over themselves to provide you with the highest possible standards of service. The food is exquisite. The wine perfect. Rooms comfy, well stocked, luxurious (how often can I say that word?).

Only words of advice: don't stay here if you're afraid of heights. It's perched on a cliff!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LadyAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Loved our stay at the Santa Caterina. Located just before you get to Amalfi (when coming from the Sorrento area), it is in a great location (no issues with driving through town). We were at one of the rooms at the new wing, and loved it. Modern inside, comfortable bead, flart screen tv, nice balcony with great view of Amalfi and the water (a nice place to drink the half bottle of sparkling wine they give you). TV includes a DEV player and they have a large selection for you to use (for free). Friendly staff.

Hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk (heading down hill) to Amalfi. They have a shuttle bus during the day (9-12 and 3-6) that will take you down and bring you back once an hour. But you are own for dinner in Amalfi (we would walk down and take a 10 euro cab ride back to the hotel).

Excellent swimming pool, with bar and restaurant. Nice gardens to wlak through and incredible lemons.

It is worth driving to get here. Was worried about everything I read on the Amalfi coast drive, but it was not bad at all (Road to Hana on Maui is worse, as is driving in southern New Zealand).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sm122097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We spent three days of our honeymoon there, and enjoyed this 5*L hotel a lot. Their staff/guest ratio is excellent, to the point that you are always watched or catered to, but in a very non-intrusive, subtle way. The food is great, but not out-of-this-world, the view from our terrace however, was. Staff and management treated us very nicely and professionally, but Hillary Clinton stayed there as well, and the pictures suggest she got the royal treatment. We were upgraded from a Euro 800 to Euro 1200/per night room, as a "standard policy" of the house. Nice touch! We've stayed in many high-end hotels before, and this one is certainly a top hotel in terms of privacy, romance, quality of service, view, view and view. However, the rooms and amenities are nice and above average but not 5*L in international standards, and the reason we only gave it a 4 star is due to the price/value ratio. For nearly $ 2000.00 a night, one can get the presidential suite with butler in other places, albeit not in Amalfi. We had no complaints and certainly recommend the hotel for very special occasions, if you are willing to pay for the view and the feeling of being at a 'special' place. Which we did.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank J M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $482 - $3,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing