We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
$472
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$473
$462
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amalfi(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$156
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Maria Luigia(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $334/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
$294
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$406
$385
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Felice Relais(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$301
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,092
$999
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
951
99
18
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
951
99
18
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass elevatorbeautiful hotelamalfi coastpool areathe cliffmain restaurantcomplimentary shuttleelevator ridesea levelsalt water poolprivate boatour honeymoonfive star hotelevery half hourmediterranean seathe entire staffshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
753 - 758 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Loved our stay at the Santa Caterina. Located just before you get to Amalfi (when coming from the Sorrento area), it is in a great location (no issues with driving through town). We were at one of the rooms at the new wing, and loved it. Modern inside, comfortable bead, flart screen tv, nice balcony with great view of Amalfi and the water (a nice place to drink the half bottle of sparkling wine they give you). TV includes a DEV player and they have a large selection for you to use (for free). Friendly staff.

Hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk (heading down hill) to Amalfi. They have a shuttle bus during the day (9-12 and 3-6) that will take you down and bring you back once an hour. But you are own for dinner in Amalfi (we would walk down and take a 10 euro cab ride back to the hotel).

Excellent swimming pool, with bar and restaurant. Nice gardens to wlak through and incredible lemons.

It is worth driving to get here. Was worried about everything I read on the Amalfi coast drive, but it was not bad at all (Road to Hana on Maui is worse, as is driving in southern New Zealand).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sm122097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We spent three days of our honeymoon there, and enjoyed this 5*L hotel a lot. Their staff/guest ratio is excellent, to the point that you are always watched or catered to, but in a very non-intrusive, subtle way. The food is great, but not out-of-this-world, the view from our terrace however, was. Staff and management treated us very nicely and professionally, but Hillary Clinton stayed there as well, and the pictures suggest she got the royal treatment. We were upgraded from a Euro 800 to Euro 1200/per night room, as a "standard policy" of the house. Nice touch! We've stayed in many high-end hotels before, and this one is certainly a top hotel in terms of privacy, romance, quality of service, view, view and view. However, the rooms and amenities are nice and above average but not 5*L in international standards, and the reason we only gave it a 4 star is due to the price/value ratio. For nearly $ 2000.00 a night, one can get the presidential suite with butler in other places, albeit not in Amalfi. We had no complaints and certainly recommend the hotel for very special occasions, if you are willing to pay for the view and the feeling of being at a 'special' place. Which we did.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank J M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We just came back from two great weeks in Italy and the Santa Caterina was the highlight hotel of the trip. We had a junior suite and the view was so amazing it was hard to do anything but sit and stare.

We travel a great deal and stay at very nice hotels, but this was probably the best ever. In my opinion the food, fish dishes especially, were excellent every time. We stayed for 4 nights and ate in th hotel 3 times because of the food. The wine list was also excellent and the head waiter chose very good, less expensive local selections, when asked for ideas.

No one mentioned that it's a very easy 5 minute walk into town. Although we are 65 years old, we walked both ways twice, both in the afternoon and evening, rather than wait for a taxi or bus. Coming back is a fairly steep hill, but not terrible. If you can walk around Positano, you'll have no trouble with this.

One of the walks to town was to get the ferry to Positano, which was a beautiful, inexpensive way to go. The ride was less than 30 minutes and the scenery was amazing.

Since we went early October, there were no crowds, great weather, plenty of pool lounges and the service was warm and helpful. We were out sightseeing each day during lunch, so never tried the pool restaurant. We'll certainly go back to the hotel in the future.

The only negative was the adjoining decks. We had an Eastern European couple who sat there and smoked incessantly. When they were on their patio we couldn't enjoy our own.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tiamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

4 night stay after visiting Rome.We had a junior suite with fantastic views over the sea and Amalfi town and the suite was very clean.Not badly appointed either although the balcony is small and overlooks adjoining suites and vice versa.Big show of bringing welcome champagne which turns out to be a half bottle of Prosecca.
Santa Caterina in general operates on 2 parallels.Staff seem efficient and helpful but the ethos underlying this appears to be one of getting as much money out of the visitor as possible together with making it clear that repeat or longer stay customers are the only customers the hotel wants.
Some examples - the sunbeds and pool.The pool is tiny and hopelessly inadequate for the number of potential users,as indeed is the sun lounger area which is a stretch of platform wholly undersized for the job so all the sunbed users are squashed in like sardu=ines.The staff here favour repaets/long stay by reserving their sunbeds leaving the few remaining inferior beds for the rest.The staff here are unhelpful and in some cases surly - no offers of water,fruit,fresh towels etc.At the level this hotel claim to set their stall,this really is below par.
Lunch is served at a restaurant on the way down to the sea/pool and is a strange option of formal waiters and full silver service for 'beach-dressed' customers.Indeed this restaurant only offers more substantial lunch options and you have to go up to the main hotel restaurant for snacks - seems the wrong way round?Here there is no opportunity lost for money=making for example I asked for some fries with my club sandwaich so the waiter brings a separate plate of fries (for 14 euros) but the sandwich already has a side of fries anyway!
I asked for an outside table for dinner but after 3 conflicting replies suggesting it may not be possible to book a table outside or maybe is was possible,I decided not to chance it but to eat in the town instead.
The hotel runs a complementary shuttle to the town (about a mile) every 30 minutes but not between 12 and 3 and not after 6.30 pm so a taxi at 10 euros each way! is the only option,again the hotel being greedy I think in trying to farce you to eat in on their terms.
Amalfi town is very pretty but again they have overcharging down to a fine art - 14 euros for 2 ice creams,one restaurant said try our lobster starter special which was delicious but cost 45 euros! and so on.
In summary,the hotel is very expensive indeed to stay,expensive to eat,very cramped for pool/sunbeds and not well disposed to other than repaets/long stays but it is a fantastic location if you can put up with all this.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We started our honeymoon out at the Santa Caterina for 6 days......what a beautiful place. Everything was absolutely wonderful including the friendly staff. You were addressed by your names every morning. The food was amazing at the restaurant. The views from the room were breathtaking. We are were happy that we chose Italy for our honeymoon. There really was not one thing that we could complain about it. Complete Paradise. Hope to go back eventually.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank Monty513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews