We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Perfect Place to Stay on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Place to Stay on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is everything you would imagine for a visit to the breathtaking Amalfi Coast. We were upgraded to an ocean front room, and it was lovely. The bathroom is big and comfortable, the decor is just what you'd want in a luxury oceanside hotel. The restaurant features a spectacular view as well, and the food is delicious! The staff is always available to help with anything (we had a problem with our power converter, and they were very helpful). Though it was too chilly to swim or enjoy the ocean, the Santa Caterina was the perfect place for us to stay during our visit to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front if you can afford to - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    84
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
132
534
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for two nights over easter. What a wonderful experience the staff were so welcoming as soon as we got out of the taxi they knew our names and always addressed us in that way. The reception staff were very helpful too, the best staff were at the breakfast, bar and dinner. I oredered a dessert/cake for my husband as it was his birthday the day we arrived what a wonderful cake they made.
I have stayed in many hotels with excellent staff but Santa Caterina is at the top of the list so far.
Thank you for the cake and making our stay very special.

Room Tip: Balcony sea facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieLondon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Santa Caterina Hotel for a few nights last May. It is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at.

The hotel grounds are immaculate and perfectly situated on the rocky Amalfi Coast. The pool was nicely situated right on the ocean. I enjoyed being able to hop in the ocean for a swim whenever I wanted.

Restaurant Santa Caterina was exquisite. The food was first class and the wine list was one of the best I've ever seen. The service was, without a doubt, the finest we experienced in Italy.

We didn't spring for one of the upgraded rooms. I would say that the normal rooms are fairly small for the price, but given the beauty of the grounds and the view from the balcony, we hardly noticed.

It felt, to me, the perfect location for a honeymoon. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMergott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent hotel in all aspects. Staff are outstanding. Location is stunning. Food is excellent. Staff went out of their way to really help make the trip enjoyable. We stayed in mid-March, so slightly out of season for many local hotels and restaurants, but the big plus was the ability to get around on the narrow roads. Will definitely be heading back

Room Tip: Ocean front is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been traveling to Amalfi for five years during Ferragosto (during one of Italy's biggest holidays where there are always fireworks at night that could be seen from the hotel's bar) (also the hotel staff make the day/night festive by having a special dinner and singer every year) and will go back this year again. Every time my family and I visit we always stay in Hotel Santa Caterina! The views, staff, accommodations, are of the highest qualities one can ever imagine. The views from every angle is breath taking, and one can make a hallmark card out of each view. The staff is SUPER friendly, knowledgeable in every question asked, they will go beyond their way to accommodate one's requests, and super fun/sweet to talk to. The accommodations that are provided by the hotel is wonderful too, the rooms are super clean (washed and scrubbed every day), anything one needs as if they are home can be found in the hotel (an actual hair dryer & real wooden hangers). Th funniest part of the hotel that it has the best wi-fi I've seen around all of Europe. This year I'll be coming back for the 6th consecutive year and will definitely stay in Santa Caterina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashurova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed four or five days at Santa Caterina, just before Easter week and the start of the main season in the area.

The hotel is spotless and clearly very well managed. What I particularly enjoyed was the lack of pretension and the way that the owners have empowered the staff to take the initiative on behalf of guests.

I thought that the staff were genuinely nice people, who worked hard to help guests enjoy one of the most beautiful locations on earth.

By our standards, the hotel is relatively expensive, but it was well worth saving for, especially as hotel prices in the area are high anyway. Standards at this hotel are very high indeed and we left keen to return one day.

If you are lucky enough to be able to afford to stay here, then please do, Santa Caterina is a credit to Italian hospitality.

Just a few random points:

Amalfi is a good touring base. We travelled from Rome to Salerno by train (2 hours on the Freschia Rosso express) then a 35 minute boat ride from Salerno to Amalfi. Services are frequent and reliable.

The only criticism of the room was that there really should be a smaller / less bright bedside light for reading without disturbing your partner.

Don't feel that you have to order the more 'fine dining' items on the menu. I had a lasagne, which may not seem like a luxury dish... but it is the way they do it at Santa C. A revelation!

It's perfectly possible to walk up from Amalfi, if you're reasonably fit.

It was also feasible to get to Pompeii via pubic transport. Bus to Sorrento and rail to Pompeii Scavi - or you can add in Herculaneum and Vesuvius for a very long but worthwhile day. We ended the day at Pompeii and it was largely deserted by 6 - 7pm. Unless the weather is perfect, Vesuvius is not wildly exciting and is perhaps best missed out in favour of more time at Pompeii.

Nearby Ravello has charm and there is a marked trail from Ravello to Amalfi via Pontone, lots of steps on a one hour walk through lemon groves and terraced gardens. Keep an eye on the festivals and events in Ravello as they have a good range.

The Amalfi lemons are huge, fragrant and unwaxed. You can carry a few home (there's a box of lemons in reception) and ours survived the journey to the UK nicely.

Room Tip: I would say a sea view is essential at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrittib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Santa Caterina

Hotel Santa Caterina is a beautiful hotel with stunning view of the water and mountains. The hotel is immaculate. Service was excellent. Food was delicious. I loved to sit in the bar area and large lobby area that had comfortable sitting areas. The beach club has magnificent views of the mountains and water and a heated pool. My wife had a massage in the spa and loved it. Breakfast and dinner in the main dining room was delicious and the service was very good.

We loved the serene and peaceful feeling of this hotel. It was a welcome change from the busy feeling of Sorrento. The hotel is a 1 km walk or 5 minute hotel shuttle ride to the town of Amalfi, which is quaint and filled with good shops and restaurants.

Our Superior room had a balcony overlooking the water - which we loved. It was immaculately clean and comfortable.

Overall I highly recommend a 1 or 2 nite stay in Amalfi and in Santa Caterina.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#2 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing