We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Once in a lifetime honeymoon...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime honeymoon...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

As my husband and I get ready to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary, we can't help but smile and remember the most amazing honeymoon at Santa Caterina in Amalfi.
From the warm and friendly greeting upon arrival to the special touches (dinner reservations, day trips to wineries, Capri) arranged by the wonderful staff, we were so well taken care of!
We stayed at the beautiful Santa Caterina for 13 days and enjoyed every single second of our stay. We upgraded to the Chalet Giulietta & Romeo on our last 2 nights and it was a dream come true!
The grounds were immaculately maintained and the room accommodations were divine.
The staff were absolutely amazing, especially Simone, Gigi, Lello and so many more!
We felt like an extended part of the Santa Caterina family when we left.
We are so looking forward to coming back to celebrate our 5 year anniversary! (and perhaps our 10, 15, 20, etc.)
Santa Caterina Hotel is the ultimate!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    89
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
138
573
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel without a doubt is fitting for the title one of the world's best hotel. The view alone is breathtaking and worth the stay. Please remember that the hotel has been around for a while now and you are able to see this from the common facilities of the hotel. However with that being said, the room is spacious, the amenities is first class. Do ask for a room with a view and you won't be disappointed. The hotel interior and atmosphere is majority in white. The character of the room is that of a resort of mediterranean. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes away from the Amalfi city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We loved the staff, the view and the feel of the hotel (although the buffet breakfast was pretty bad - watery eggs, etc). If it weren't for all of that, we would have given a Poor rating to the hotel, because it was so noisy. The maids yell at each other in the hallways and while cleaning the rooms early in the morning, the rooms have tile floors and chairs with no sound protection on their legs, the room doors have no sound protection on them and therefore are loudly slamming constantly, workers outside make a racket early in the morning, etc., etc. Noise alone, from chairs sliding around in occupied rooms above us, cut our sleep time in half and ruined our stay. And we talked with 4 other couples who experienced the same sleepless nights. Management could do so much to fix this. Forget having a peaceful, quiet stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

After the beautiful drive up the mountains arrived to the hotel we were greeted by a friendly face who took our luggage and let us to the front desk. Everyone was friendly they let us to our room got our bags situated for us showed us how to work the whirlpool explained the complementary breakfast and how to work the TV along with the beautiful view of the ocean. We made dinner reservations here and before then we strolled down the beautiful stone path that was lit up by little lanterns and pieces of wood that were carved into the mountain. When we came back we entered the dining room which was filled with candlelight and beautiful flowers. We ate one of the best meals we have had in Italy do not even think about the price it is totally worth every cent. Even at a high and restaurant such as this the waitstaff was fun loving kind and personable. When we arrived back in our room they had set up little mats at our bedside along with slippers a little water and cups by her nightstand. We use the Jacuzzi and got into a robe and slippers while overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. The room was beautifully decorated with old vintage furniture interesting books a beautiful bar and wonderful floor tiles. Even the amenities were amazing anything you want here they will give it to you, there's a spa a pool is very helpful concierge and a bar. We slept with the door open so that we could see the moon rippling along the ocean I cannot tell you how much this meant. We have been in Italy for two weeks and this by far has been one of the best stays and locations for a little rustic getaway ever. I highly recommend this hotel it has been one of the best experiences and definitely once-in-a-lifetime.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allisonlee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was the best hotel ever. great service and food. the views to die for. Best breakfast buffet on the planet. cant wait to go back...............................................................................

Room Tip: facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boboitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

After arriving a day too early for our reservation at another Amalfi hotel, we were happy to find a room at the Santa Caterina for the night. The first day's experience so was wonderful that we did not bother to return to our original hotel and stayed the entire time at the Santa Caterina. The people, the food, the room, the view-all amazing. Without being snobby, we have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the finest hotels in the US and beyond, they were all wonderful but did not have the "feel" of the Santa Caterina. It is more than a luxury hotel, it was almost a home. This is because they thought of everything before we did and the staff made us feel so welcome. Expensive but it is only money and can never match up to the experience.

Room Tip: They have a room off the beaten path, all alone at the end of a walkway. No other room around. No on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had the most amazing week long honeymoon stay here in March 2013 and it will be a long time before we will forget the hotel, the place, the people and not to mention the food! You genuinely feel like a Hollywood superstar!

If only we could afford to come every year!

Stayed in the Chalet Giulietta & Romeo honeymoon suite which is worth every penny for the sun rise into the bedroom and the views of Amalfi town.

Wish we were there now!!!

Room Tip: Chalet Giulietta & Romeo is possibly one of the most amazing rooms you can rent in Italy! It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing