We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Santa Caterina - Amalfi, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Santa Caterina - Amalfi, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is in our opinion the prime hotel in this area. The Santa Caterina is built on the cliffs on the Amalfi Coast. it was an ancient sea trading city that was wiped out by a Tsunami and the black Plague. Today it is a quaint town with good restaurants and shopping and a nice ocean to see all of the boats and ships you wish you could have. the hotel Santa Caterina is also a fine hotel. The staff is geared to satisfy your needs, wants, and desires. the food is terrific along with the unique rooms. our room was a little bit of a walk along the side of the cliffs. Great views from the room. The room was very comfortable and clean. the location is within walking distance of Amalfi town center. The hotel has a shuttle to take you to town, if you have a hard time walking or are just too tired to walk. We stayed three nights and enjoyed the quietness and beauty of the area.

Room Tip: There no bad rooms. I think most of the rooms have a sea view. The swimming pool is on the ocean w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jagnew5398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    84
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
127
527
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked into Santa Catarina during three weeks in Italy. This was one of our favorites. Everyone in the hotel had the ability to make us feel they were pleased we were there. The room was lovely with a beautiful view over the water. The dining was excellent with a pianist playing during dinner. The bar and lobby were candle lit at night which was just beautiful. We would definitely go back given the opportunity

Room Tip: Spend the money for sea view. It is absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcneil771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I don't even know where to start with explaining how wonderful our stay at Hotel Santa Caterina was. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were treated like royalty. Beautiful hotel all the way around. We stayed in a room with a private balcony with spectacular views of the Mediterranean and the town of Amalfi. The food at the restaurant was phenomenal. The complimentary breakfast was probably the best we've ever had at a hotel. The staff was extremely helpful in setting up train travel, tours, shopping suggestions. We had a very memorable stay and without a doubt would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Santa Caterina five different times and can never say enough about this hotel. The staff is beyond belief along with the service; they never forget your preferences from year to year; the location and the view is beyond belief. I cannot chose my favorite room/suite they have always been amazing. I love to wonder around the property and feel like I am the only person in over a 100 years to walk the steps and enjoy the lemon groves that are on the hill side. The restaurant is unbelievable - please go and enjoy a drink beforehand in the lounge with the view. The breakfast is more than you can believe with Prosecco (Italian Champagne) and the best pastries on the planet. I love this place more than any place I have every visted and can never wait to return to heaven!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our balcony afforded us a magnificent view of the village, the Mediterranean, and the most spectacular sunrises we've ever experienced! The staff went above & beyond to make our stay outstanding in every way! The pool area was a favorite with our sons, and the vistas from the exercise facility made our workouts something amazing! I'm so glad we didn't economize on this particular part of our trip!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

You must stay at Santa Caterina at least once in your lifetime. It is like old Hollywood glamour - white painted walls, white slipcovered furniture, waiters in starched white jackets. It just has an air that makes one feel important - like you've stepped into a movie and Cary Grant should be sitting out on the balcony. It's just a feel and setting you don't see any more. Staff that is perfect - just enough, not too much. Manicured gardens with lemon trees everywhere, views of the most beautiful scenery one can imagine. Our room had the whitest walls and headboard I've ever seen with crisp white linen sheets and wonderful Italian tile floors. The pool is reached by elevator and is very private - right on the waters edge. Breakfast was included in our rate and it is a feast - anything you want and seating is on the balcony looking out at the sun rising over the blue ocean. Try to have dinner there at least one night. It is a beautiful treat. It was a pleasure to experience this property. There are nice hotels and there are expensive hotels and every once in awhile there comes along a magical hotel. Thank you Santa Caterina!

Room Tip: If at all possible get a room that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at Santa Caterina twice, once for our honeymoon and then again for our one year anniversary. Such phenomenal service. Classic unparalleled luxury. A place like this makes you feel like a celebrity but somehow still feels like home. Breakfast is a wonderful spread and is served in the sunroom overlooking the sea as grape vines grow in an around the windows. The restaurants at the hotel are also incredible. Amalfi itself is a truly magical town and we love to stay there. For us, S.Cat is the Jewel in its crown. Santa Caterina will always have a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: The views from some of the rooms are incredible. Others are peaceful and garden side. The Romeo an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drrobrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing