We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best of Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I planned our trip to Italy for months. We selected the Santa Caterina for a wide variety of reasons, not the least of which was the wonderful view from the rooms to the Mediterranean Sea.

We arrived at the hotel late after a long plane ride to Rome and car trip to Amalfi. The winding roads, blaring horns and dark of night hid the treasures to be discovered in the daylight hours.
The hotel staff was expecting us as they sent the car. We arrived late and tired. The staff greeted us like family.

Upon arriving at the room we discovered a fruit and cheese platter and a bottle of champagne.
The room was a honeymoon suite with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea about 30 meters above the water. While we heard the waves on the shore, we did not fully appreciate the spectacular nature of the property and grounds............and the views.

Upon waking up the following morning we discovered breathtaking views of the Mediterranean Sea and a gorgeous sunrise. It was a harbinger of the week of treats ahead of us.

Quite simply, the Santa Caterina exceeded our expectations in every way. Many famous people have stayed there and it is easy to see why. The grounds were impeccable with blooming flowers even in October when we visited. The food and beverage service was phenomenal and the staff was not only professional but warm and hospitable.

We were close enough to walk to the city center in Amalfi and we did so on many days. We also hired a car and visited Positano and other points of interest on the Amalfi Coast. We took the ferry to Capri and then the hydrofoil to Sorrento. From there we took a bus back to the hotel, giving us the full Amalfi Coast experience..........made wonderful by the return to the hotel room and incredible views of the sea.

Not only would we recommend the hotel to any who visit this area, but we plan to return to the Amalfi Coast in the near future and would definitely stay at the Santa Caterina Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atljpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    84
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
127
527
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at the Santa Caterina several times before but this was the first time we were a little disappointed. This is why the very good and not excellent rating.
We always had a seaview room in the main building and this time we had one in a building on the side. Room was large but lower causing a musty smell and balcony was just a metal terrace with not really a full seaview. Could live with that but the wedding going on right in front of our room caused us not to be able to get back to our room. When we did get back to our room we could not sit on the balcony as it was right on top of the ceremony!
We did complain and was changed the next day to another room in the main building. Which was nice but with the constant increase in room prices the room does not justify the cost.
This is a beautiful hotel with great service--everyone has a smile and most do know you name which is a nice touch.
Yes, restaurant is expensive but the food, service and view is fantastic. People working at the pool can't do enough for you.
Very clean but can't say the rough sheets and flat pillows are comfortable.
All said and done I just hope they don't get greedy with the prices because we do love this hotel and hope to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigFanSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel with a great view of the Amalfi coast. Hotel is beautiful and has old world charm. Best concierge! They were helpful before we arrived and very organized with all of our excursion information available when we arrived.The doorman was my favorite, as he had a wonderful happy personality. Our room had an ocean view, but seemed small and the chairs on the balcony were uncomfortable. However, everything in the room and bathroom worked, and easily accessible outlets available. Easy shuttle ride to Amalfi for shopping, lunch or dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ROmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

With the exception of a few small issues, this must be pretty close to the perfect romantic and special visit. First, I heartily endorse staying in the Amalfi area when on the coast. It is central to Ravello or even Salerno, but close enough to easily get to Positano and Sorrento, and even Pompeii. Second, the HSC has as good service as I have ever seen. The entire front staff knew us by name as soon as we checked in, and the remainder of the staff quickly addressed us by name thereafter. They responded to every request with a smile and a solution. Third, the grounds and the views are just breath-taking.

What could be better? The internet connection is variable, and in this day and age they need to address that. The shuttle to Amalfi operates in the morning and early afternoon, but I would have gone to the village more often, especially at night, with easier access. You can walk or take a 10 euro taxi, but that is a barrier. Finally, they need to pay a bit of attention to where the public areas, with their beautifully tiled floors, are over bedrooms, as any footfalls reverberate in the wee hours.

Again, these are small issues. This place is close to heaven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I usually only review places I love, to spread the good word...or places that disappoint to warn people off. Average or places with a one time issue are best left off my list. I was not going to write a review about this property because I felt my situation was unique but after some thought felt I should warn my fellow travelers of potential issues.

Hotel Santa Caterina is a fine, old, distinguished property on a hill overlooking the road into Amalfi. The service is exquisite, everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. The views great and the pool and oceanfront are what you dream about. The breakfasts are abundant and tasty. The floors are all covered with ceramic tiles and there are numerous terraces to sit and enjoy the ocean views. Sounds perfect.

Our experience was somewhat troubling. We paid 400 euros/ night to stay. Our first room was a small, corner room facing the highway with a peek of the ocean and a canted balcony that was surrounded by 2 other balconies and provided no privacy. Three rooms could look into each other's rooms and you could hear conversations. To make matters worse, the room was located directly below the kitchen and there was significant noise until 10pm and again beginning at 6am. True to their service intent, when we complained, they moved us to another room. The new room was more spacious and had a better view of the ocean with a bit more privacy. There was a public terrace that abutted our balcony but since it rained both days we were there, the terrace was not used. Turns out, the new room was directly below the hotel reception area and with the ceramic floors, we heard footsteps and rolling luggage all night long. Two nights with poor sleep was very discouraging. The other issue has to do with hotel services. There is a casual - but still expensive - restaurant open during the day but in the evening, the only restaurant is their high-end and very expensive restaurant. Meals for a couple with wine would run you $200 or so. The hotel is located far enough away from Amalfi center that it wasn't convenient to run out and get something and the shuttle didn't run often enough so you just felt kind of stranded. It didn't help that it was pouring rain for much of our stay.

After 2 nights of a planned 5 night stay, we left. The hotel offered to change our room again and they were very understanding, we just weren't willing to take another chance on not getting sleep.

Bottom line, if you are wealthy (their usual clientele), book a superior room and don't worry about the costs of in-house food and beverage service and you will probably enjoy the beautiful location and service.

Room Tip: Ocean front, superior or suites. Not under kitchen or reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M2hra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a 5 Star hotel and that, plus it's in Italy, means it isn't cheap! Overall it is a great hotel - our room with a sea view was delightful - clean, spacious and in excellent condition throughout.
We went bed and breakfast and breakfast was very, very good with enormous choices of bread, rolls, cereal, cakes, fruit, fish, cheese, sliced meats, hot breakfast and eggs cooked to order (scrambled, omelette, fried, poached), fresh orange/grapefruit juices and prosecco etc etc.
Lunch can be had down by the pool (Mare Pranzo) and this was also excellent - expect to pay Euro 150 - 200
The evening menu was very good and the wine selection excellent - expect to pay Euro 200 - 250.
Staff and service was exceptional throughout with waiters carrying breakfast dishes you had selected to your table for you (I personally found this a bit "over the top"), bringing you your egg order when it had been cooked etc etc.Every single member of the staff smiled and chatted as if they were pleased to have you there and loved their jobs.
A couple of minor downsides:
Drinks were VERY expensive and as we were celebrating our anniversary we drank A LOT! Unfortunately my wife and I tend to drink different drinks from each other and the best way of easing the drinks bill is to share a bottle of wine!
The hotel didn't advertise snack menus for those times like lunch or evenings when you didn't fancy a 1st Class ding experience.
As a result we noticed many of the guests went out for lunch and dinner (and drinks). The Palazzo Avino in Ravello (another 5 star hotel) had a casual dining area on the terrace which we thought could be applied to the Santa Caterina.
One final little niggle - the courtesy car to Amalfi town stops at 12 noon and starts again at 3pm, finishing at 6.30pm. Not everyone wants to tie themselves to this schedule and we found ourselves taking taxis regularly at Euro10 each way. I realise the driver has to have lunch but surely the old tradition of a 3 hour lunch could be curtailed in 2013 and a later finish at say 8pm for the car means that people who like to eat a little later can be accommodated.
Other than that a good time was had by all!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great - ask for 9 or 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on our way to Ravello during a trip to Sorrento and the Amalfi coast. This hotel is stunning - the service we received was excellent and warm, from the moment they take your car keys from you to park your car when we left the hotel three hours later.

Our lunch and accompanying wine was superb and the view from the open restaurant is simply breathtaking. We will definitely return to the Santa Caterina next time we visit the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie180261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing