We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful HSC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Oxon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful HSC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from a really lovely week at the Santa Caterina. It's position over-looking Amalfi is superb, clinging impossibly to the cliff face. We arrived from Naples airport in the dark - the journey is a little testing with mile after mile of bends. Arrival was a relief.
We had booked the cheapest room but this turned out to be very nice and I'm not sure that I'd want to pay more for a better view. The furnishings and bedding were of a very good quality - I don't think that I've been to a hotel that used linen sheets. The towels were changed twice a day. The bath was in the bedroom which seemed a little odd, but the shower was and toiletries provided were very good.
The staff were always very helpful and polite. The food was very good, especially if you like fish. Breakfast was a buffet but the selection was huge - we really enjoyed the fresh fruit. Dinner was also very good although one night, Sunday, was a little disappointing.
The access to the pool area was an adventure with the lift. Here again the staff were always very helpful. The Al Mare restaurant was also very nice for lunch and twice the evening meal was served there.
Trips to Amalfi on the regular shuttle bus were a nice touch. Taxi's are expensive at €10 for about half a mile. The walk is OK in daylight but I wouldn't want to do it at night. We enquired about the cost of a taxi to Ravello but was told that it would be around €80 each way - a real rip-off when the red sight-seeing bus is €3 each way. We also took the boat to Positano but there didn't seem much there. We planned to go to Capri but the sea was too rough for the boats to run that particular day.
Santa Caterina is not cheap, but we did think it was worth the money and we would love to go back one day. It's a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaldingOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    85
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
136
552
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Vacation of a life time. The views are AMAZING!! The staff at Hotel Santa Caterina are professional! We had room service in our balcony room overlooking the Mediterranean and yachts coming in for a wedding reception. Simply the best.

Room Tip: Deluxe Balcony room has an opening window in the bath tub area allowing the fresh sea air in. Love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This past trip was our fourth time we have stayed at the Santa Caterina and it was another amazing experience. Having stayed at Le Sirenuse and other top hotels, this is still our favorite. We always worry that it won't be as good as the last time we went, but that has never been the case. In fact, this time was one of the best times ever. The majority of the staff has been at the hotel for at least 10 years plus and get to know you by name. The service is exceptional and nothing is ever a problem. We have stayed both in the main building and the Villa Santa Caterina. The Villa Santa Caterina is located a short walk (some stairs) through a path that passes the citrus gardens. If you want to be close to the restaurants, pool and spa and don't feel like walking much, then stay in the main building. After staying in both buildings, we actually look forward to the walk through the gardens to get to our room (especially after a big dinner) and prefer the Villa section. Regardless, the views are spectacular in both so you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have great views. As mentioned above, if you don't like walking much, stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We travel a fair amount and are pretty picky. This hotel is one of the best ever. Beautiful hotel, great amenities, gorgeous views, lovely and comfortable rooms. Slept like a baby. Service is great and food is delicious. All this doesn't come cheaply but is well worth it for a special occasion when you want to be pampered.

Room Tip: We were in annex which is a bit of a walk but just lovely also. Balcony with incredible view a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonladyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent our honeymoon there. Perfect is all I can say. Fabulous location, incredible service, fantastic food... going down the lift through the cliffs made me feel like being in a James Bond movie. There is nothing to fault in this heavenly place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We understand why T&L rated this the #1 resort! Beautiful and amazing. We stayed here on an anniversary trip in May 2013 and wish we could return tomorrow. The view from our room was unbelievable as was the view from the pool and the restaurant. The service from the staff was wonderful. Everyone knew us by name and were always pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

On the edge of amalfi and the best hotel there.amalfi is beautiful but full of tat so being way from it all was great.plus great location from which easy to visit Capri positano and ravello.the staff were fabulous,friendly and always helpful.having stayed at villa deste on Como as well I am now educated that Italian hotels have their own style w,which could be described by some as outdated by current tastes but that is to miss the point.this hotel is the essence of an Italian stay stunning viewsandold world service in an immaculately clean hotel with a nice sea edge bea,ch area.I got the impression that the customers return year after year which I would given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlHoweK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#4 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing