We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We understand why T&L rated this the #1 resort! Beautiful and amazing. We stayed here on an anniversary trip in May 2013 and wish we could return tomorrow. The view from our room was unbelievable as was the view from the pool and the restaurant. The service from the staff was wonderful. Everyone knew us by name and were always pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    85
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
136
552
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

On the edge of amalfi and the best hotel there.amalfi is beautiful but full of tat so being way from it all was great.plus great location from which easy to visit Capri positano and ravello.the staff were fabulous,friendly and always helpful.having stayed at villa deste on Como as well I am now educated that Italian hotels have their own style w,which could be described by some as outdated by current tastes but that is to miss the point.this hotel is the essence of an Italian stay stunning viewsandold world service in an immaculately clean hotel with a nice sea edge bea,ch area.I got the impression that the customers return year after year which I would given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlHoweK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed here back in May/June for part of my pre-wedding trip with my husband and friends. The hotel is extremely disappointing.

We stayed at the largest suite which was 1500USD a night. Totally not worth the money. We wouldn't mind paying for 1500 USD a night if the hotel provide a 5 stars experience and service. Some hotel staffs were nice but we've encountered a few that were very rude. Our suite was large and spacious, but extremely boring with no character. We did not feel cosy at all. Bathroom was decent size but jacuzzi looked old and dirty. I found hair in the bathtub upon check in. I didn't feel comfortable to use the jacuzzi due to its questionable cleanliness. 

The Bar again lacks atmosphere and character. The quality of linens were horrible. It was hurting my skin and I am not even exaggerating. We did not have lunch/dinner at the hotel. I was quite disappointed at the quality of breakfast item and especially the quality of coffee. The food was uninspiring. We were in ITALY for God's sake!! How can you mess up the coffee!!

It's about 15 minutes walk to town, they do not offer convenient schedule for shuttle bus service. We did have a car with us but it is very difficult to find parking in town.

The view was nice, but definitely it's not the best view in amalfi coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank momo6192010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and it is truly Amazing. The service is great, courteous and friendly. The rooms are large and clean. The view is breathtaking. The staff really do go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. If you are planning on staying in Amalfi, definitely stay in this hotel, it is truly an experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alicina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My GBF brought me for an unforgettably luxurious break here. Our arrival was unauspicious - it was all I could do to keep from vomiting all over the reception's elegant marble floor after our taxi driver's enthusiastic style of driving around the winding coastal road from Naples. The concierge took one look at my white face and upgraded us to the honeymoon suite. Never before has a honeymoon suite been less used for its intended purpose but hey. What's not to like about a free upgrade to a private suite of rooms with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples, a huge jacuzzi, and free champagne on arrival? And between us and the rest of the hotel, a pathway through a terrace of lemon trees, which in May was full of scented blossom.

The staff continued to spoil us throughout our stay and called us their favourite couple. They seemed not to mind two idiotic 25 year old Brits cantering along their marble floors making horse noises, reading 19 century novels at the breakfast table, or J's screams as he attempted a swim in the Med (apparently he usually only swims in the West Indian sea, the git). This is the sort of hotel in which you only really need to go out for dinner. Otherwise eat in so you can spend the rest of your time lounging on the private beach terrace, reading, sleeping, sunbathing, and swimming. And yes, the sea is about 6 storeys down, but there's a handy lift set into the rock which saves your legs and lungs.

Thanks, O Santa Catarina, for a perfect honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyAshtonGeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the finest hotel I've ever been to. Not only is it in a magical, beautiful place. It's where the stars stay (literally and figuratively!) This was a once in a lifetime trip. Save your $ it is worth every penny (euro). The food is great. Staff is wonderful. The views are breathtaking. And the hotel itself-lush! The memories/experiences you make here will forever be ingrained in who you are!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner and I were traveling with our 20 year old niece who wanted ocean proximity. The swimming dock was quite lovely and we enjoyed the sunbathing. We also enjoyed the easy walk or cab to downtown Amalfi.

Both our rooms had "terraces" but the street noise was so loud and intrusive that we did not wind up using them. otherwise the rooms were quite comfortable.

The Concierge service was exceptional.

The hotel has two restaurants - the poolside "casual" place, and the more formal dining room off the main lobby. Both were, in my opinion, extremely overpriced (we're not cheap, but expected better quality and better waiter etiquette/service). The restaurants in Amalfi were quite pleasant and a better value.

One thought I will leave you with - we visited Ravello, up in the hills -- and fell in love with it. It was quiet, artistic, out of the way. If ocean proximity is not your driver, you may want to explore accomodations there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astilbe_Arendsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#4 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing