We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel on the very beautiful Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel on the very beautiful Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We traveled in May to Italy and stayed in this lovely hotel. The setting is absolutely gorgeous perched cliff side above the Mediterranean. The staff was charming and friendly, particularly Simone Pepe, a concierge, who was very helpful with trip planning suggestions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    84
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
132
534
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fabulous views...Check
Superior Customer Service...Check
Exceeded expectations...Check
Pricey but worth it...Check
Great Location...Check

If you want to go first class and be treated well, this is the place to stay on the Amalfi coast. We even had a few issues with our room but all mechanical and all addressed immediately. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel itself and the rooms overall are very nice, but no nicer than a fine hotel in NYC or equivalent. What makes it actually worth (if that is actually possible) the $1200 a night is the incredibly accommodating staff (I have a number of pictures of them holding our 16 month old son). Genuinely sweet people that I would look forward to seeing again on a future trip. The Amalfi coast is not a great place for a child (especially under 2) yet they made every effort to make my family and others with small children welcome. Anything we needed, milk at all hours, crib, baby sitter, car service to Ravello, were handled promptly and professionally. The location a short (albeit treacherous) walk from town and the port was modestly inconvenient - they run a shuttle frequently but it involves being on their schedule and does not run in the evenings. Water access is fine but not remarkable - the pool, in a great location adjacent to the water, is average. Those who have not been to the coast might be disappointed that there is no beach - you jump off a dock into deep (cold) water. They have ladders that allow you to climb back up to the "dock".
Food is as expensive as you would expect, but excellent. Breakfast is included, which is nice. Drinks - will get you. My wife had a non-alcoholic drink by the pool that was $16. Some that should have been $5.
Overall a great place and experience, but you have to be back at your desk reflecting on the trip before you can truly say it is worth the price.

Room Tip: We were in room 70 - a hike from the main hotel, but with a balcony overlooking the water - honestly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trout444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is pricey, but you are treated like royalty. This place is the example of great service meets paradise. The staff is so welcoming and kind, not pretentious as some hotels of this caliber can sometimes feel. When we walked in our room it was a Honeymoon dream come true only to be topped by the bathroom then topped by the view from our balcony. The food was excellent for all meals, the views from all areas are just gorgeous. The staff is amazing, the pool area was fantastic and the gym was small but had some decent equipment. If I could live in this hotel, I would. We preferred the city Pasitano to Amalfi but this hotel was the best in our Honeymoon and the best I have ever stayed at to date. It is great for adults and people who want a truly romantic experience.

Room Tip: Get to the pool area early to get a good spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

one of my favorite place's in the world great family run 5 star gem the staff and hotel among the best cannot wait to get back perfect setting with great care for there customers, put in your bucket list you won't be sorry , this is truley a leading hotel of the world , great place to stay to do day trips along the amalfi coast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel Santa Caterina was the best hotel experience I've ever had. The service, spa, restaurants, room accommodations, actual location of the hotel- everything was just superb. I've traveled to several countries in Europe and this is the only place I would return to in an instant!

Room Tip: The villa is especially nice with a private patio- quiet and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Amalfi Coast is stunning to start with and then bolt a 5 star hotel to the cliff and the result is that every view is like a postcard. The hotel is just outside of town so guests feel like they are in a more isolated resort rather than surrounded by tourists. The hotel is spread between a number of buildings across the cliff face that are connected by outdoor walkways. It can be a bit of a walk to some of the more distant rooms but we didn't mind the isolation.

Service is top notch. A terrific breakfast buffet is included and the waiters will gladly let you fill your plates but then intercept you to carry it back to your table for you. They don't take no for an answer. My wife and I had a contest to see who could bolt back to our table without a waiters assistance. We were rarely successful.

This hotel is anything but cheap but of all the pricey places we stayed during our two weeks in Italy, this was the one place where there was no doubt the money was well spent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PstarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#2 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing