We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“one of my favorite hotels ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my favorite hotels ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really beautiful hotel with some of the best service that I've ever had to date. Beautiful rooms which they put fresh flowers in for us. Love the unique, local design of the hotel and the staff is extremely helpful and accomodating.

The restaurant also has the best service and delicious food with good poritions.

Great spa.

Room Tip: the 2nd floor (rooms starting with 40) are best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer_soffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    84
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
133
534
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Title says it all.
Stayed here in November 2012 and we had a wonderful time.
Service was faultless with some of the most attentive staff I've ever encountered
Food was delicious. We stayed on a half board basis and enjoyed every meal.
We had a garden room with a jacuzzi looking out to the sea.
Room was huge and very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Fabulous cliff top location with a wonderful sea level terrace
Top class hotel

Room Tip: Garden room with large balcony and jacuzzi was fantastic but any Sea view room would be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a stunning hotel on the Amalfi Coast.Staff were friendly,helpful & very polite. they get to know their guest's.View is incredible from all aspects of the hotel.Shuttle picks you up from town centre.Rooms are huge with safe,tv & a massive bathroom with a spa bath,shower & toiletries.10 minute walk down to the centre of town but beware of cars & big buses as they share the road with you.If walking down or up at night good to have a small light to guide you.We enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning & the staff always there to serve you & greet you by By the time we got to hotel it was late so we decided to have cocktails in the bar & dinner in the hotel.Dinner was wonderful,service was impeccable but food was pricey.After that one dinner in hotel we ate in the town centre.It is a very beautiful hotel.I would leave the room key with reception as it is very heavy to carry with you.Shuttle bus to town doesn't run all day so check times with hotel.The only downside was no coffee/tea making in the room, you had to call room service for tea & wait.We stayed in room#97 overlooking the ocean with a balcony to sit & enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not below the guest balcony as you can hear people coming & going or movi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherhen408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were here on this beautiful property in August for 2 nights. Our second time at amalfi coast but the first time in Amalfi town.

On the morning we went on a boat tour to Capri. We could go onboard the boat from the hotels own landiong stage by the pool area. There were 2 persons working at the hotels "beach club" who helped us onboard the boat.

On the first evening we had dinner at the "Al Mare Restaurant" because very unfortunetly the "A La Carte restaurant" was closed that evening. Before we went to this hotel I had been reading a lot of reviews on tripadvisor and several people was warning about the restaurant and the Very high prices compared to the food. Anyway I wanted to try it and I came to the same conclusion as they. It was all waaay too pricey. Because it's Not a michelin star chef who prepares the food and the portions are very small too, so we also recommend people to go to other restaurants in central area of Amalfi town and thats only a short walk away or you can go with the complimentary hotel shuttle, but dont forget to ask for the times because it doesnt go all day. Otherwise u can take a taxi. Walking from the hotel is no problem only walking back perhaps would be more hard because its then uphill.

The breakfast was very good, but not the best we have had. The service was good too.

Its very very nice to just walk around in the gardens of the hotel and enjoy the splendid view of the sea. Enjoy the beauty of the plants and fruits. Enjoy the moonlight.

Rooms and Suites are very beautiful. All the corners of this place is beautiful, from top to toe.
So amazing work that has bin done. The hotel is actually carved inside the rock.

The pool is very nice and service Very good. Its so nice to just jump straight in the sea as well. The drinks and other stuff are very expensive but they have good quality and you get some snacks or something with it as compliments. If you like olives like we do, then you Will just love the fresh green olives that you will get.

We recommend everyone to stay at this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamed1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Santa Caterina is without a doubt one of the most amazing hotels I've ever stayed in, and is well worth the harrowing drive down the twisty roads along the Amalfi Coast!
The views are almost beyond description - incredibly gorgeous!
The service is so genuine and warm that you feel like a member of the family.
The food is delicious.
The rooms are beautiful.
The swimming pool will blow you away!!
I was so happy to have stayed here and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolynvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

OUr stay in Santa Caterina Hotel was jas expectacular. The stuff was very very nice and attencious with everything. The viwe of our room was breathtaking. And even was winter the garden was very beatiful. I realy recomended the hotel. Expectacular!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked a room with a balcony view of the town of Amalfi. From the moment we checked in, you can really tell that hotel cares about its reputation- the service really shows that. The staff is very friendly and attentive across the board. I loved the feeling that you were stepping back in time, to an Old Hollywood attraction, but with all the modern amenitites you'd need. Breakfast every day was delicious, and what a view! The pool deck is the slice of paradise I mentioned in the title, and even though it's not huge, it did not feel crowded. The shuttle is great if you catch it, but the walk to town isn't bad. We had terrible luck with the ferries to other towns (Positano, Sorrento) getting cancelled due to the weather, so we took cabs everywhere. That was a very expensive addition to the trip, but public buses were the only other option and they were crowded, infrequent, and did not adhere to any sort of schedule. I would also recommend a nightcap out on the patio in the evening- usually there is some music in the background and it's very serene. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing