We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Santa Caterina in Amalfi is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.....from the view, the surroundings but most of all the staff who males you feel like family. I travel often and this is the hotel I dream about!

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a view and get up each morning to the most amazing sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    91
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
146
594
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This was a surprise weekend for me booked by my husband. What a choice!
The staff could not be more helpful, they always remembered our room no, our name
And did what they could to make you feel special.
The garden is incredible with lemon and orange trees, not a formal garden, more a secret garden. And lots of vibrant colours with Magnificent views.
The food in the dining room ( that room is beautiful) over looking bay was fantastic and even had a prosecco on the house!
Lemon soufflé was delicious , so lemony and refreshing.
The pool area is right on the edge of the sea so can jump straight in to the med!
Lots of little extras really make this hotel rather special.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathypullan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

WOW. This hotel is really where you want to be if you want to be pampered. The landscape is out of this world. Imagine taking an elevator down a cliff to your private rock by the sea oasis. I am not kidding! The staff was a so helpful - they arranged so much for us! See Gennaro, he is the best Concierge we have met in all of our travels around the world. He found the best, most cost effective way of getting us to Don Alfonso by car - saving us over 100 Euro! He booked a private boat to take us for a day along the magnificent coast - and even had them pick us up at the hotel (down by the swimming area). The breakfast buffet was the best I have every seen. This hotel deserves 6 stars out of 5. The only thing I would have to say is I would have liked a more plush bed (along the lines of a W bed) but since that was the only thing I could pick on I would return in a hearbeat!
Last thing to note, where we were there more than half of the hotel was taken over by a weeding group that were having the wedding on the property. You would never have known that this was happening. Not once did we feel like the staff had more important things to do or were catering more to the group. We were just as pampered as everyone else.

Room Tip: The view is spectacular - make sure to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choco_nut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this hotel thanks to Citalia, a British travel agent. What a gorgeous hotel. We had a garden partial ocean view room, which was lovely. Everything about the hotel was five star (except the restaurant - more about that below). Service was impeccable and the views were amazing. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for a wonderful get away in a lovely town. The only disappointment was the restaurant. Not five star, I'm afraid. Service wonderful but the food was a big let down. Fortunately, Amalfi has wonderful places to eat, so it's not a total loss but the hotel could truly be memorable by improving the restaurant food.

Room Tip: Select the garden view rooms. You may pay a bit more but the balcony and the ocean views are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a truly wonderful experience. The ocean views from our room on the 2nd floor were unforgettable. Service was exceptional and breakfast was excellent. This hotel is not cheap but is well and truly worth the money. Location is also excellent, being just a short walk from the centre of Amalfi. I could not more strongly recommend this hotel especially for special occasions such as a honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaslake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The service in this hotel is immaculate. seriously, it is a benchmark against which I now find myself comparing other places. If you're going there, it's worth spending a little time on the location of your room. The hotel is located on the coast road into Amalfi, and though it's not busy, the ghastly Italian mopeds do start up pretty early. If you're a light sleeper you will hear them. However there are some beautiful rooms at the back and down the hill a bit. In the end we had the honeymoon suite, which though expensive was one of the most spectacular rooms we've ever stayed in. As with all the cliff edge hotels along this coast line, space around the pool is limited, with some spots getting sunshine for longer than others. Food was gorgeous and in the end we cancelled our outside bookings and had lunch at the beach restaurant and dinner up on the terrace. Amalfi itself is a bit disappointing - too many tourist shops - though there is one spectacular patisserie on Trip Advisor. However, unless you don't like relaxing, there is no real reason to leave the hotel!

Room Tip: Down the mountain, away from the road is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiocrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Thank you to all you Tripadvisors. Without your advice I may not have found this wonderful hotel for my 60th birthday. Your reviews meant I did not have to suffer poor service, cold breakfast or even processed orange juice. Thank you all so much because you helped me make the right choice. I went with high expectations but was prepared to be disappointed. My expectations were exceeded.
Hotel Santa Caterina is quite simply perfect. Their generosity, kindness, flawless service and attention to detail overwhelmed us. On a very short break we were only able to stay for two nights but they were two wonderful days and nights. You feel important and cossetted from the moment you arrive. As it was my birthday we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a fantastic honeymoon suite with enormous Jacuzzi set in the floor. The room was beautiful, immaculate and spacious with a vaulted ceiling and led lights in the floor. The view, enjoyed by all parts of the hotel was stunning.
Staff couldn’t do enough for us, breakfast was very good with an egg chef, plenty of choice and the best of everything. They don’t even like you to carry your own plate to the table when you have loaded it with your choices. Dirty plates and cutlery are removed quickly from your table but replaced with clean ones immediately. Lunches at the pool restaurant were just as good and dinner was the most wonderful experience with candles making the atmosphere magical.
The pool area is fantastic and the attendant so helpful and friendly. Two towels are given out, one for the sunbed and one for you. You can change wet ones when you need to. At the end of October it was warm enough to swim in the sea and the pool is heated. This area is a long way down from the hotel but the view from the lifts going up or down is stunning.
The shuttle bus into Amalfi runs every half hour until 6.30pm. It is supposed to take about 10 minutes to walk but you have to keep stopping to look at the views…so it took us about 20 minutes to walk back up hill, it is not a strenuous walk. A taxi back cost 10 euros.
The attention to detail is beyond any other hotel in its class. British plug adaptors in the sockets, bags to take shopping or to the beach or pool. Bottles of ice cold water for your onward journey when you leave for the airport. I am sure there were many other things that have slipped my mind.
This is a fabulous hotel, it is not cheap but it is worth every penny. You will emerge feeling fully relaxed and refreshed. Next time we go we won’t have the honeymoon suite but I think I would be happy with a broom cupboard in such a wonderful hotel.
Very few people had any criticism of this hotel but one person was unhappy with the bed linen. I can tell you that we had a high thread count cotton sheet on the bottom and 100% fine linen top sheet. What is there not to like?
Can’t wait to go back as it is a very special experience. It is possibly worth knowing that the hotel can arrange a limousine pick up from the airport for 150 euros each way that’s 300 euros round trip. A car will not cost much less than that and we all know about the stress of driving in Italian traffic. If you can only get away for a few days this is the place to make you feel as though you had been away much longer.

Room Tip: Some side sea view rooms overlook the road but they will have fabulous views of the coast and the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enamelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing