We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I can not say enough about this resort. It is top of the line. We just got back from a wonderful 3 day stay. Staff was very helpful with every aspect of our trip from dinner suggestions to transportation options. The view from our room overlooked the sea with a view of the Amalfi coast. Worth every penny spent! Buffet breakfast was very good with a wonderful omlete station and many options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogwalker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    84
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
127
527
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights in October and I must say that this is a truly fantastic hotel. The service is exceptional and better than anywhere else I have stayed in fifty years of travel. It is the effort that the staff put in to make you feel special that makes me give this hotel the best review I have ever given. The choice of room however is very important. If you like a quiet room and you can afford the extra, it is in my opinion worth it to have a room away from the road and facing the sea. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: A quiet room away from the road and not under the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skipacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamstown, md
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just returned from staying at the Santa Caterina Hotel, all I can say is I wish we could have stayed longer. Everything from the views, the rooms, and the food are all spectacular. And the service could not have been better. This was by far the BEST hotel we stayed during our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muddshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was perfect in every way! The service was impeccable, the views were amazing, and the room was superb! A huge shout out to Antonio who met us as we drove in and always made us feel like we were the most special guests staying there!!!Love this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmorty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is hard to add something meaningful to the glowing reviews Hotel Santa Caterina has already earned from other TripAdvisors. They're all true. The location is simply spectacular. The building is kept spotlessly clean. The amenities are many. The staff is simply superb: Gennaro and Franco at Reception; Pino in the dining room; Raffael in the bar; the entire breakfast crew (including the wonderful omelet man) -- just to name a few. My wife and I believe the most special aspect of Santa Caterina is that it's truly elegant but relaxed -- no stuffiness here. While the hotel undoubtedly attracts the very wealthy (and with good reason), we of modest means were made to feel very, very comfortable. We have been lucky to stay at many wonderful hotels but, overall, Santa Caterina provided the most enjoyable vacation experience. Our room had a huge balcony overlooking the ocean; there is a stunning ride in the hotel's glass elevator down the cliff to the pool and ocean; the saunas and spa were immaculate; hiking in the neighboring hills and mountains is easy to get to and well worth the effort: don't miss the Sentieri degli Dei. Amalfi itself is within walking distance (a kilometer) of the hotel; and the hotel runs a shuttle back and forth during the day (but get the schedule; it's not continuous); and the town of Amalfi -- though touristy, of course -- is very enjoyable and has an interesting history. One of the earlier glowing reviewers added that her companion proposed to her during their visit -- that'll make anyone fall in love with the hotel; but, in contrast, my wife and I were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary; and we fell in love too. It's a romantic oasis for young and old alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyinMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked this amazing hotel for our October honeymoon. It exceeded expectations on every level. The room was magical with stunning views of amalfi town and the coats beyond. The service was exceptional from the reception, to the dining room and pool side. The attention to detail was second to none: the decor was stunning, the ambience superb. I cannot recommend this hotel more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMQ_IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our second stay at Santa Caterina.This time we brought relatives and everyone loved the hotel and the views and the service.We all had lovely rooms overlooking the water with balconies with lounge chairs and a table and chairs.We had breakfast and dinner in the main dining room which is stunning with views of the Amalfi coast.The food was very good and the service was impeccable.The pool and water area is outstanding. You take a lift down to the water level and can swim in the Mediterranean Sea.They offer lunch in a spectacular open air restaurant overlooking the whole coast.At night they add small candles and lanterns which make it seem like fairyland.Fabulous place to visit and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fancythis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing