We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding where all our dreams came true” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A wedding where all our dreams came true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our wedding night but we had our entire wedding at this venue. Wow, wow, wow. From Alfonso, the food & beverage director to Pino, the Maitre'd, through to the waiters and the head chef to the reception team, these guys are simply fantastic. Our wedding had a hundred little details, and nothing was too much for the team here to deliver them to perfection. We had the time of our lives, and each of our guests are to this day still buzzing with how amazing the venue (down by the sea) and the garden (for the ceremony) were. The food is expensive here, but it is taste-bud-tastic! The rooms are spacious, unique, and offer bathrooms that should only be reserved for royal families, with their exquisite Bulgari cosmetic range. If you can afford this luxury, sleep here. If you can't, find the money to at least eat here. Thank you to the HSC team for helping us have the very best of weddings at your most wonderful of hotels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fandango1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    89
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
138
573
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our family stayed at the beautiful Hotel Santa Caterina the last week of August. Our three girls (10, 9 and 6) loved everything about the hotel. They were very sweet to the girls. Crescenzo, one of the owner, personally made us feel very welcome. Our rooms were spectacular and the restaurants were wonderful. The concierge arranged great side trips or us to tour the gottos of Capri and the ruins of Pompeii. I think anyone with children would love this hotel. It would of course be spectacular for just adults too - very romantic.

Room Tip: The separate garden building was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rated in leading hotels of the World, and its easy to see why. Beautiful location and setting, fabulous staff. Pure Luxury. If you want to treat yourself, this is the place to go.
We went to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and upon arrival we were upgraded to a fabulous suite overlooking the bay. A lovely bowl of fruit and chocolates greeted us when we went into the room, which was a lovely touch.
We werent sure how to get to Pompey from the hotel, but the helpful concierge set us straight.
They dont come much better than this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are fortunate to travel a lot in some very good hotels.
We had a great stay in the hotel. The room was very comfortable, quiet and with sensational views and a lovely small balcony.
The pool area and terraces of the hotel are stunning with great views over the Amalfi bay.
We ate dinner 2 nights in the main restaurant which was excellent. We dressed for dinner with a jacket and this seemed to appreciated by the staff.
Food was superb as was the ambience. We also ate several times in the beach restaurant which was great.
What sets this apart from many hotels was the superb personal and efficient service. The team went that extra mile to make this a great stay.
Over 50 percent of the guests seemed to have stayed there before - we will return also!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Our room had a balcony with a lovely sea view and the room itself was comfortable if not spectacular. Taking the lift down to the pool and sunbeds at the bottom of the cliff is fun but the area a little crowded. One evening dinner was served at the restaurant by the sea with torches floating on the water to add a touch of romance. The main restaurant has a beautiful terrace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our day was off to a late start and we were speeding toward the Hertz dealership in Salerno to drop off the rental car and meet the private car the hotel arranged to pick us up for the "death defying Amalfi coast" drive up to the hotel. I called the hotel concierge and he informed me that the Hertz dealership was about to close for a 3 days weekend within the next 15 minutes, but everything would be fine because he would call them for us. He called back a few minutes later and told us he had spoken with the dealership and they would wait for us. He had also called our car that would also wait for us at no additional cost. When we arrived the dealership and the car were expecting us. This was just one of many instances where this hotels staff went above and beyond to make our stay as wonderful as possible.

After the beautiful drive along the Amalfi Coast, we arrived at Santa Caterina and were warmly welcomed by the bell staff and the check in person. They gave us a big beautiful key (it really was huge!) for our room, took us to our room, explained everything in the room, and gave us details on the rest of the hotel services.

The room was full of light, bright white decor, accented with other light pleasant colors (or at least that's how I remember it). A bottle of champagne and a basket of fresh fruits awaited us, along with a plate of delicious biscuits. We were starving so we proceeded directly to the balcony to devour our feast. Each fruit was spectacularly delicious in its own special way. Apparently they were all grown in the gardens right at the hotel. Our balcony overlooked part of the gardens and we could see the endless beautiful blue waters meeting up with the coastline in a perfect view of Amalfi, which was only a ten minute walk away (we were told....we never actually left the hotel).

We left the room to go exploring and we found the elevators that took us down to the pool area. The elevators were see through so we could see the water get closer and closer as we descended. When the elevator reached the ground and opened up I thought we were in a scene from the "Bachelor" television show. Candles lit the way through a beautiful rock hallway leading to the pool/beach area. A salt water pool was carved into the side of the rock and it was lined with beach chairs that overlooked the mediterranean sea. Guests had the option of climbing down a ladder and swimming in the sea or swimming in the pool. There was an ample supply of flotation devices for children and adults who wanted to stay afloat. We promptly returned to the pool area with our bathing suits on and were greeted by the pool attendant who put comfort cushions on the chairs he helped us select and brought us towels. The server brought us a menu and we ordered some delicious rosinis which came with an endless supply of chips and olives. This is how we spent the rest of our day and the whole of the next day that we had to spend at the hotel, with swim sessions in both the pool and in the sea.

On our first evening, the restaurant just above the pool area was hosting entertainment so all guests were invited to dine there. When we arrived we were sat at our table, our chairs were pulled out and pushed back in for both of us and a large dinner napkin was put on our laps. The setting was probably about the most romantic thing I could ever have imagined. Again, like a scene from a movie or a television show. We were both given our menus, but mine didn't have any prices on it (only the mans menu had prices). Rather than being offended by this I was pleasantly amused by the traditionalism. We each ordered delicious entrees and a bottle of their house wine. A server continued to pour our wine, and our water throughout the evening, making sure that our glasses were never empty. Our waiter was attentive, yet not overbearing in any way. We were treated like we were the only ones at the restaurant, although there were many other families dining there and receiving the very same exceptional level of service. After dinner we retreated to the terrace bar to enjoy the entertainer, a wonderful Italian singer accompanied by live musicians. Our breakfast on the following morning and our lunch were also quite wonderful.

Our dinner on the second night was in the upstairs restaurant overlooking the sea and it was nothing less than spectacular. The service again was truly the best in the world and the food was divine. When they brought our soup out and poured it into our bowls at our table I teared up a little. I couldn't imagine what I had ever done to be treated this way.

Not wanting to leave our beautiful hotel, but ready to relax in the room, we were excited to find that the front desk stocked a large supply of English and Italian movies that you could borrow at no additional cost.

The only thing that I can think of that could even potentially be improved was that the jets in our bath didn't work, but with everything else this hotel had to offer us, who really cares anyway. The spectacular views, the comfortable big room, the romantic atmosphere, and the superb customer service made staying at this hotel the highlight of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeTsernoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for five nights in a double luxury suite which was wonderful with its private balcony. Domenico and the waiters give an excellent service, the chamber maids keep the rooms spotlessly clean all the time. The evening meals are unforgettable with the views over the Amalfi coast, little wonder this is where Hilary Clinton chose to stay on her holiday. Fig and lemon trees line the paths to the rooms. And the food! Caprese salads, bruschettas, the best olives in the world... I did not think I would be able to leave. The bedlinen is pure linen with crisp cotton throws, and utterly indulgent. So if you need a luxurious holiday and want to be spoiled, and you can handle a swelteringly hot climate, this is the perfect holiday. It is a problem that the shuttle to town does not operate between 12 and 3 pm, nor in the evenings as this makes you rather trapped to the hotel restaurant which is over the top expensive ( but beyond comparison to anything you may find downtown). My husband who frequently stays at Leading Hotels found that there was a feeling of lack of individuality - although individually the staff are great, together he found they were a system.

Room Tip: A sea view is probably essential unless you plan to be out most of the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifibelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing