We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveler rating
965
99
20
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
965
99
20
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass elevator beautiful hotel amalfi coast pool area the cliff main restaurant complimentary shuttle sea level salt water pool private boat elevator ride our honeymoon five star hotel the entire staff every half hour mediterranean sea shuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Caterina for 4 nights this summer and it is fantastic! It is simply stunning. The garden views, the sea view, and the attention to detail throughout the hotel are impeccable. We stayed in a sea side-view room. There was a small balcony with a table and chairs. We still had a lovely view of the sea through the middle of the garden. I absolutely loved the glass elevator down the cliff to the sea!!! The pool and lounge chair area is wonderful. The staff greet you and quickly prepare the chairs and umbrella for you - no worries about enough chairs for all guests. And then there is the ladders to the sea - getting to swim in the sea was such a treat!!! And they provide "noodles" to hang on to if you'd like:-) We ate once at the lunch/pool restaurant and once at the formal restaurant for dinner. Both were delicious and have wonderful wine choices. And the wait stuff are so gracious and professional However, the restaurants are quite expensive, making it a one-time experience for us:-) But the views over the cliff of the lights of Amalfi, while having dinner, are gorgeous! The reception staff were very helpful and friendly - making reservations in Amalfi, answering questions, and giving directions. I certainly hope we get the opportunity to go back to Amalfi and this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LTCOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is like a dream, clinging to the side of the Amalfi cliffs as if by magic with beautiful gardens that smell like heaven! We stayed here for 3 days last summer and thought we would go back as it was SO relaxing 3 days felt like a week, in a good way!!!! You know things are going to be good when the hotel recognizes you are returning guests before you arrive. We landed in Salerno and needed a car transfer to the hotel. This was efficiently and promptly sorted in emails with the concierge. upon our arrival we were greeted by name as we walked in the door.

We were thrilled to discover that we had the same room as last year with a bit seperate from the main hotel and thus quieter. If you have read any of my other posts, you know that I am OBSESSED with hotel toiletries, or lack of them. Never fear, here they have wonderful Bulgari toiletries which smell great. Conditioner, bath salts for the jacuzzi bath and wonderful lotion. Rooms have iPod docks, Flat Screen TV, and a selection of DVD's that we never felt the need to see, such is the beauty of this place.

The pool/sea front is more spacious than appears at first glance. The staff who run it are efficient and helpful. We arrived our first morning before 8 and they were still gracious and professional.

My biggest thanks go to Franco the Head Concierge who is a true treasure! From restaurant reservations to plans for a special dinner at the hotel, he is amazing. It is a true art to be as gracious and professional as he is; making all guests feel like at home and welcome. No request is too much trouble.

The staff in the restaurants are super professional and they just do not make them like this anymore!!!! WOW. It is like watching a very carefully choreographed ballet. They are there but not obtrusive. Refilling wine and water glasses refolding napkins from guests who have stepped away for a minute, this place just hums along in perfect key!

We can't wait to go back!!!! I did not rate the spa as we pretty much just stayed by the sea and read and swam. A perfect 3 days!

Room Tip: If you can get one of the rooms next to the hotel room 47 or 46 are fantastic!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I are just back from a week at this lovely hotel where we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed a week at the Santa Caterina and a week at the Palazzo Sasso in Ravello. The Santa Caterina is a lovely hotel with beautiful views of the coast and the town of Amalfi. The hotel's gardens are just lovely and very popular for weddings! The staff are just great, very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was very good. It is only a 10 minute walk to Amalfi which is a super, vibrant town with plenty of restaurants and shops. Boat trips to various places can be booked in Amalfi. I would thoroughly recommend the Santa Caterina and the Palazzo Sasso (i placed a review of this hotel too).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel Santa Caterina is an incredibly charming and romantic hotel located on the top of a cliff, with a view of the Mediterranean.

The hotel is a 10-minute walk from town, which means that you get a bit more privacy, compared to the hotels in town.

The hotel does not have its own beach, but don’t worry, because they have made their very own “platform” over the cliffs, which you can get directly to by taking the hotel elevator. From the platform, you can swim in their salt water pool or swim directly into the ocean. Obviously, there is also a lunch restaurant in connection with the platform as well as a fitness centre, so you have everything you need within reach.

They only minor drawback of the hotel is their spa facilities, which are rather limited, with very small changing rooms, even though the treatments are just fine. However, this minor drawback is not enough to reduce the overall grade, as the view, atmosphere, experience, food and service are almost magical.

The hotel restaurant is not a Michelin star restaurant, but the food and service still deserves 5 stars, so all in all, I can highly recommend Hotel Santa Caterina.

There are more expensive hotels on the Amalfi coast that are also 5-star hotels, but with regard to ”value for money”, Hotel Santa Caterina is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Mt wife and our youngest son (16) had one of the most delightful weeks as guests here. Also one of the most expensive at 1,000 euros a day but it was such heaven, would go again at the drop of a hat. The Lovely food, the fantastic views, the walk down through the lemon grove hanging on the cliff face, the snorkeling, the pampering, what heaven. Joy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenryTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews