We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views; not so hot on the welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We went to Hotel Luna out of season so it was pretty quiet and lifeless in the lounge and restaurant but the location is excellent. Views are outstanding even from the cheapest room - we had 3 windows looking straight out onto the tower and the sea, with Amalfi laid out to the right. Room & bathroom were spacious and really attractive. Breakfast was good - a wide ranging buffet.
This isn't a hotel setting out to be the best on service. Requests at reception were met with perfunctory responses, and no real attempt to go beyond the very specific request or to *offer* help or advice, or to be particularly welcoming or warm. There seemed to be staff endlessly sweeping odd bits of corridor - yet no-one around when we wanted a drink in the bar.
To note: the photos of the swimming pool are pretty cleverly taken! It's small, not much seating around it and down a load of steps opposite the main entrance. We went late October, so it was too chilly and windy to sit down there - might be nicely refreshing in full summer of course.
Agree with the previous reviewer - it's a nice place which is definitely not at its best in late season (in fact Amalfi as a whole pretty much shut down on November 1st, and it was cold and stormy too - go in summer!)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Luna Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 648 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. This hotel is delightful, we were charmed by everything from our room (what a view!) to the wonderful courtyard which is perfect for a pre-dinner Prosecco or a morning coffee. Even the bathroom had an amazing view. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were very attentive. Other reviews have mentioned the road but we didn't find it a problem. Wherever you stay in Amalfi you have to deal with the roads. The location of this hotel is perfect, a short enjoyable walk (10 minutes maximum at a slow pace) and the views are amazing. We visited a few other hotels during our visit and we agreed that none of them had the charm or the personal touch of the Luna Convento. You're missing a treat if you don't go.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineOB_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Gorgeous hotel, but in October they do that annoying thing of still receiving guests while closing down the hotel in stages around you. Positives: all the architectural beauty and mood you'd expect from a converted convent, but without the austerity or the attitude. Good facilities, good breakfast, gorgeous cloisters, no ghosts. Negatives: laundry service down. Bar closed, 'because we have no bartender' (as in, the bar is closed because the bar is closed). Overall: great place to stay, in season.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dylancotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We were very disappointed with the hotel. The hotel staff had an attitude. We had to greet them in the morning with a half hearted response in the dining room. The room was musty smelling with one window that had a view but lots of traffic below. The bathroom was very dated and dirty.

The location is very dangerous, noisy with no safe way to get into town. I really felt scared for my life every time we left the hotel to cross over to get into town.

Amalfi is very pretty but I suggest you stay in Positano. I would have never chosen this hotel if I was making the travel arrangements.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klingsizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had the standard room which was full of charm and had a spectacular view overlooking the private terrace & pool. The breakfast offered had a great selection of food and you dined overlooking an unbeatable view of the coast. The bathrooms were spacious and accommodating as well as the bed for comfort. We were so impressed with this hotel as part of our first impression we cannot wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mols0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Wonderfully helpful staff (esp. Pepe the life guard). The pool was stunning, the courtyard was quaint, and the rooms were distinctive. Would completely return to both the town and Luna Convento.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passport_and_a_Amex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for one week in Room 1 which was tiny but had a beautiful balcony overlooking the coast towards Maiori. The bathroom was unusually tiled but the fittings seemed new. Breakfast was served on terrace overlooking Amalfi, food choices good but not enough variety for 7 days and the OJ could be improved. Only had one evening meal at the hotel but it was disappointing. However, this is a very pretty hotel with lots of nooks and crankies, twists and turns, corridors and stairs, a delightful place. Pool area lovely if a little cramped on busy days but well looked after by S Peppe. A few minutes walk along the road to the town with lots of restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $210 - $2,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing