We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, but some good points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2006

I completely agree with the previous review. In addition, the hotel is in desperate need of repair. The outside of the building is has crumbling cement and peeling paint. The balconies are rusty and look as if they are about to fall off as well as having missing tiles. There is no p.m. turndown service. The beds were extremely thin, hard and uncomfortable. The main road runs through the main part of the hotel and the old section which contains the pool and one of the restaurants. It is difficult to cross and walk along. However, this is life along the Amalfi Coast. For 390 euro a night ($500 U.S.), one expects much more.

On a positive side, the hotel still has historic charm. It has architectural features you wouldn't find elsewhere. The interior of the room is attractive with a turreted painted ceiling. The views from the rooms are spectacular during the day and at night. The hotel has 2 restaurants: 1 in the main building which also serves breakfast and one in the old section near the pool. Both are very good with great views.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MmSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Luna Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 648 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2006

The Luna Convento is magnificently situated a very short (but somewhat dangerous) walk from the main square of Amalfi, and the facility itself has all of the charm expected from an ancient convent. It also has some of the drawbacks of that same charm -- odd shaped rooms and shower heads so low that to shampoo your hair requires getting down on one's knees. Complimentary toiletries appeared recycled from prior guests, towels are in need of replacement, turn down service usually failed to appear, and (shockingly, at these rates), plastic bathroom cups. Food quality and service is not up to par. None of these are a big deal, but they are hard to justify at the rates being charged by the hotel. Much better options exist in the area, both in Amalfi and in neighboring coast villages. We will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank LXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My husband and I are just back from a week-long stay in the Luna Convento and totally loved it. The hotel was gorgeous, classy and elegant, staff friendly and helpful and the views amazing. We had a room with a wonderful balcony overlooking the sea, as I think all the rooms do. We ate in the restaurant on 3 of our 7 nights as the food was so good, and on a few other nights had wonderful salads from room service on our balcony. Amalfi town is a few minutes walk away but we didn't find a restaurant to beat the hotel, either on quality or price. Amalfi is really picturesque and atmospheric. On two nights there were firework displays over the bay which looked amazing from the hotel. We also got to see a local festival which started off from the cathedral and in which many of the townsfolk took part, scattering flower petals from their balconies over the streets. A wonderful holiday, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MJR754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

We had our wedding in the Hotel Luna Convento in June. It is such an amazing place where the staff cannot do enough for you and the ambience is one of tranquility. It was originally built as a monastery and founded by St. Francis of Assisi in the 13th century. The hotel still retains the olde worlde style and grace. We got married in the church attached to the hotel which holds around 60-80 people and then had the apperitifs in the cloisters. The staff were amazing, so professional and charming. After a fabulous buffet spread, champagne and cocktails, our guests were brought across to the Tower restaurant where we had a 6 course meal to celebrate our wedding. The food and wine were glorious, the staff were so professional and met all requests with ease. The Tower restaurant is situated on top of cliff opposite the hotel where the views of the Amalfi coast are breathtaking. We stayed in the hotel for two nights following the wedding, the breakfasts were amazing, we sat out on the terrace eating cream filled croissants and other fresh pastries and watched the world go by. The cloisters in the hotel is a place filled with lemon trees and a well, where we spotted a tortoise! We used to sit there over a cappuccino amid the peace and tranquility that surrounds it and really feel that we were in the heart of Italy. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel, sometimes words are not enough to describe the wonderful time we had, you just have to experience it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Quidam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2006

We stayed 3 nights at Luna Convento. We had a group of 5, 3 rooms. It was nice to up a short 5 min walk down to the town. Breakfast was served on the outdoor patio overlooking the coast and sea. The food was delicious. The staff was very nice. They was a nice enclosed patio with lemon trees where we could have our evening wine, away from the wind and in the nice warm sun. The pool was very relaxing. You could also jump into the see. Pepe was very accomadating with chairs. I would highly recommend for a few days. A nice quiet town. Nice jumping point for Ravello and Atrani.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vivianC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

we stayed here for 2 nightsin mid may.it was the last 2 nights of our honey moon . we were disappointed that we hadn't more time to spend in this fab hotel.The pool is all any one would want on a honeymoon. amafi is a good location to do trips from also if you are not pool people & it is a lovely town just to browse around.
The staff were very helpful when necessary & professional. Our room was road side but no noise interferred with our sleep.the rooms were spacious,very clean & cool even w/o a/c. I would highly recommend staying at hotel luna.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
gainesville, ga
13
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Luna in March 06 for about 9 days, we had an excellent experience with the hotel as well as their staff, who made it a very personal experience. The views from the room were outstanding, breakfast was excellent every morning, the place was quiet, dinner a little expensive, but overall, we had a wonderful time for our stay. Luigi and Andreo both took time to look after us very well, and greeted us every time we met them on the streets of Amalfi. The room was clean but simple, small balcony, but very acceptable, since we were only looking for overnight accommodations. We spent day trips to Capri, Ravello, Positano, Paestum, Herculaneum and Pompeii, a full schedule each.
We will definitely be returning in 07, we prefer late March since there are no crowds, although the tour options are limited, but we did it all on our own with some advice from the very friendly people of Amalfi. Paestum, Positano and Herculaneum were the most remarkable points of interest (we are into the history thing), but don't miss the paper mill tour in Amalfi, it is well worth the 45 minutes or so it takes, with friendly owner/operators.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $157 - $2,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing