We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“cheated at the restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Jose Ignacio, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cheated at the restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

repeatedly asking for the price of the daily special resulted in smiles & grins of the staff. stupidly, i believed the price would be acceptable and in the range of the rest of the menu. I had not expected the Tuna Carpaccio to be twice of anything i have paid over the last two weeks for the equivalent dish on Capri. Even if highly priced, the grilled fish was very good.
the food was worth the price (except the tuna), but feel cheated because they 'refused' to simply state the price.... not becoming of a high-end establishment

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danoontje072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    160
    42
    22
    14
See reviews for
91
316
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

During our stay Luna Convento offered us an unforgettable week: magnificent setting in an old monastery, unmatched views on Amalfi. Very friendly and warm staff made our stay perfect.
Especially Alfonso who is very professional. Alfonso was always there when we needed something and made us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnelienW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful stay. The hotel is in an amayzing position overlooking this wonderful coastline. We had a great room with spectacular views.
The main thing about this hotel is the warmth and care from the staff, it's almost like being with family.
A special mention needs to go to Mauritzio, what he doesn't know about wine or customer care isn't worth knowing. Make sure you ask him for local restaurant advise - especially the amayzing Teresa restaurant.
The only feedback to the owners would be to get a new uniform for the staff - shorts and an elegant open neck t shirt would look SO much better especially in the searing Summer heat !!
All in all a joy. Go book, and have a fabulous experience. We shall be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A caution to travellers, this hotel is not ‘rustic and charming’, it is run down, in need of a makeover and terrible value for money.

We arrived at the hotel, expecting comfortable and picturesque accommodation, in accordance with the reviews we had read online, and indulgence in line with the high rates. Unfortunately we were severely disappointed.

The rooms (which are appropriately described within the hotels own literature as ‘cells’) are dated, drab, small and uncomfortable. We booked a ‘superior’ room which offered a lovely vista over Amalfi and a large balcony, but not much else. There was not art on the walls to distract us from the basic furnishings. The shower leaked over the bathroom floor and water spilt into the bedroom. How they can justify the 300.00€ per night rate is a mystery.

The communal courtyard and pool area are definitely the stand out features of this hotel. The staff weren’t particularly friendly, although I did appreciate their old fashioned white waiters blazers and bow ties.

Having endured 1 night at Luna Convento, we checked out the next morning, cancelling our second night’s stay. We ventured back to hotel Palazzo Murat where we had stayed the preceding nights. We were thrilled and very lucky that the gorgeous Murat had a room available for us.

I’m sorry to have written such a scathing review, but I feel that the owners either need to pour some money back into this hotel, or reduce their rates drastically.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annie-lou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
333 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is not a slick hotel and has its glitches. However with two balconies positioned with views across the bay and the town many sins could be forgiven. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked and was quiet. It is close to Amalfi town and the staff are very helpful. Did not get to the pool as it was down steps and a bit removed.
The old cloister courtyard is lovely and the whole place was founded by St Francis in 1222 so it has a special spirit.
Two main improvements required:
1. the breakfast is not at the level one expects for this sort of property. Too many sweet processed cereals and breads. Needs more natural and healthful options.
2. We went out on the balcony around 11pm to take in the view shutting the sliding door to keep the AC on. To our horror we could not get back in as the door did not open from outside! There was no warning. After imagining a night spent on the tiles amongst the mosquitoes I noticed a neighbour on her balcony and called out. She was kind enough to call the hotel who eventually came to rescue us. Needless to say this is very dangerous and could be so easily avoided by putting a handle on the door from outside.

Room Tip: ask for the suites with views. room 30 was good but watch the sliding door does not close!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Luna Convento is a superb hotel, the staff are very helpful, room was lovely, spotless clean with a beautiful view of the coast and town. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served on the balcony each morning..great way to start your day! The town center is a 5 minute walk downhill, where there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liane19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I had this hotel suggested to us by friends - we were impressed from start to finish. After visiting Ravello, Positano, Minori etc we quickly realised we were in the jewel of Amalfi. Only 200 metres to the town centre and square. I recommend San Andrea,Galina and Maria restaurant in the square they were divine. We loved the view on the balcony at breakfast and afternoon drinks in the lovely courtyard. If you are reading this I'm promising you that you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing