We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Jewel in Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The atmosphere of this hotel is unrivalled and the location is perfect. You can walk to town in a few minutes so no need for a car. Amalfi is alive with activity and has lots to offer, not just shopping.
All rooms have sea views but not all have balconies. The sea view is spectacular.
Every room is different and unique unto itself but some are much smaller than others. Be wary of mold in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast is magnificant and so is dining al fresco with the incredible view. The cloister is a very lovely, special quiet place to have a glass of wine or just reflect.
The front desk staff are helpful but not that friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and preferably not the ones downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    153
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
85
307
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cph
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here as part of a long weekend. The "Suite classic" we had booked met expectations with a large terrace overlooking Amalfi. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was ok and we can recommend having dinner at their restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is an 800 year old monastery, carved out of the side of the mountain. Too many authentic attributes to list. The pool is sea water, right night to the ocean. Food is good, service is fantastic, hotel is clean and beautiful, and prices are very reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large balcony facing the Med - there are several and they are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

You arrive at a door just off the main road that runs along the Amalfi Coast, walk into a vestibule carved into the rocky cliff, and are wisked away in an elevator three stories above the sea. When the elevator doors open you walk into the verdant cloister of a former convent that was founded by St. Francis of Assisi. The floors are covered in painted tiles, and Italian antiques line the corridor. And you experience all of this in just the first two minutes of your stay at Hotel Luna Convento. Our room (for which we paid a little more to go deluxe) had a balcony and large patio, both of which looked over the sea and the town of Amalfi. And the hotel pool was worth the visit to Amalfi alone-- so very refreshing, peaceful and scenic just steps from the sea. Salvatore and his staff treated us like royalty during our stay. It's clear to me now why foreign dignitaries and movie stars have signed the guest book here.

Room Tip: Ask for room 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everything that I want in a hotel! I was only able to stay one night but it was by far the best day of my vacation. The view from my room was so amazing I kept taking pictures of the same view, which in my defense changed each time the sun moved and the lighting changed. The pool area is amazing but with the sea right there I never actually went in. I was traveling by myself but never felt like it because the staff was so friendly and accommodating. I absolutely loved this hotel and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family in April. The staff was extremely friendly, and the kids loved the old fashioned rooms and wonderful view. The walk into town was a little hard on the grandparents, as the lift into town was not in service, but they managed. The rooms are simple, so don't expect anything fancy. The wonderful memories were worth the price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautifully and sympathetically decorated hotel mixing original features with a modern pallette of colours and making good use of local tiling. Our room had an amazing view and frescos on the vaulted ceiling. The hotel had plenty of space to relax: the cloisters, a bar and lounge area, great restaurant and beautiful pool with great views of the Amalfi coast. But our favourite experience was the second hotel restaurant across the road which was heaven in a holiday. With beautiful fresh food, excellent choice of wines, the rugged coastline and the sound of crashing waves below it was hard not to keep going back.
Easy walk into Amalfi, boat trips to Positano and Capri and a bus to Ravello.There were plently of trips laid on from the hotel e.g. Pompeii and everything was made very easy, the service was superb. Of course all this comes at a cost, nothing was cheap but I guess we had no complaints. We came home feeling it rated amongst our favourite holidays and we'll certainly never forget it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenMF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing