We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent historic building with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent historic building with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent six nights at the Hotel Luna Convention, this historic old convent has been very sympathetically made into the most lovely hotel. The view from our room was stunning, looking out across the bay and down to the town of Amalfi. When I say room, we had a large bedroom with a huge en suite bathroom and a sitting room annex. The rooms had curved ceilings with beautiful frescos on them. The restaurant was excellent and provided a really good buffet breakfast and had a good dinner menu. We tended to eat our at night, as we enjoyed trying out the many interesting restaurants in and around the town. The Luna Convento also has a second restaurant across the road on the cliff top at which we had dinner a couple of times and this was also excellent. The hotel is situated perfectly for local walks and is a short bus ride from the hilltop town of Ravello which is magnificent and has many historic places to visit, one of the most interesting being The Villa Cimbrone, which has an interesting history and is breathtaking. It was a favourite place of Greta Garbot, who stayed there several times in the 1930's with her then-lover, the conductor Leopold Stokowski. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Luna Convento and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for excellent accomodation in an historic setting. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room looking across the bay, the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    150
    39
    21
    14
See reviews for
81
293
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a seasoned traveller and we really could not fault it. A beautiful old convent overlooking Amalfi and looking out over the Med. Our balcony room was perfect for two, plenty of room and very clean.
The restaurant did a great job of making my wife and i have a great time celebrating her birthday, low key but great.
just a short stroll down the hill, taking your life in your hands with the traffic on a VERY narrow road, into Amalfi or wander back the other way into tiny little Atrani for the best meal in a carpark you will ever have.
A big thank you to Mauritzio, the barman for his friendship and willingness to tell us all about the local area and local people, you made amemorable stay fantastic.
M&K Australia

Room Tip: get one of the front balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is really special, I have been staying there every year for the past 20 years. Always charming staff and attention to detail. The views are amazing and dining on the terrace is something else. The pool is lovely and the saracen tower a lovely place to dine in. Rooms are authentic with ceramic tiles made in near by Vietri.

Siting in the courtyard sipping a G and T is fantastic in the balmy evening surrounded by
kumquat and lemon trees.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Only a few minutes walk to the lovely town of Amalfi, excellent position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Luna Convento for 2 nights. The hotel is neat and tidy, with a great Italian ambient feel. We were upgraded and our room was on the top floor, with views from both sides of the room. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel is only a 5min walk from the main Amalfi area, 30min bus ride to Ravello. If you catch the bus from Solerno train station, they will drop you at the front of the hotel. Staff are extremely helpful. Wifi only available in the Lounge/Bar area. Full buffet breakfast provided, with a great variety of food. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLP_SJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience in every way. Great location and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. View is spectacular. A photographer's dream. Rooms are spacious, on-site food excellent. Breakfasts are fresh with a wide variety of fresh fruit, grilled vegetables, and Italian breakfast pasteries.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmTreeMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A wonderful hotel at a fair price. Outstanding breakfast buffet with fantastic view of the Mediterranean and Amalfi. Rooms are small but air conditioned. Great location with easy access to water transportation and bus service to other Amalfi coast towns. Service is outstanding and a great courtyard to relax or have drinks. Wifi available only in the check in area..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed four nights in May. The hotel is convenient to the port, albeit an uphill walk. The staff are very helpful and polite, and were kind to us as my husband was not well when we arrived.. The room had lovely views but no balcony. The windows were very large and, if the hotel had provided comfortable chairs, then we could have relaxed and taken advantage of the view (the chairs were those little, nursing, type). The room was clean but suffered from damp, with paint peeling from the ceiling and some parts of the wall - I guess that's one of the hazards of an old building. The bathroom was much worse, with lots of damp and, on one occasion, a millipede! The toiletries are limited, although the towels are OK. Breakfast has a good choice, and excellent coffee, in a room with stunning views. It is a shame that the hotel does not have a public room with relaxing chairs to take advantage of the sun, sea and views; they might easily convert part of the terrace. The swimming pool is down quite a number of steps, across a busy road, so not suitable for those with mobility problems. Again, the views are delightful. There is a lovely cloister to relax in at the heart of the hotel, a fantastic peaceful space. Overall, we enjoyed the stay, but really the hotel could be much better given the prices charged. It needs maintenance and repair, or I suspect it will start to have less favourable reviews.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, have a room with balcony. Sea facing rooms front on to the road, which is ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing