We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is really special, I have been staying there every year for the past 20 years. Always charming staff and attention to detail. The views are amazing and dining on the terrace is something else. The pool is lovely and the saracen tower a lovely place to dine in. Rooms are authentic with ceramic tiles made in near by Vietri.

Siting in the courtyard sipping a G and T is fantastic in the balmy evening surrounded by
kumquat and lemon trees.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Only a few minutes walk to the lovely town of Amalfi, excellent position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    178
    45
    25
    16
See reviews for
97
347
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Luna Convento for 2 nights. The hotel is neat and tidy, with a great Italian ambient feel. We were upgraded and our room was on the top floor, with views from both sides of the room. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel is only a 5min walk from the main Amalfi area, 30min bus ride to Ravello. If you catch the bus from Solerno train station, they will drop you at the front of the hotel. Staff are extremely helpful. Wifi only available in the Lounge/Bar area. Full buffet breakfast provided, with a great variety of food. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLP_SJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience in every way. Great location and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. View is spectacular. A photographer's dream. Rooms are spacious, on-site food excellent. Breakfasts are fresh with a wide variety of fresh fruit, grilled vegetables, and Italian breakfast pasteries.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmTreeMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A wonderful hotel at a fair price. Outstanding breakfast buffet with fantastic view of the Mediterranean and Amalfi. Rooms are small but air conditioned. Great location with easy access to water transportation and bus service to other Amalfi coast towns. Service is outstanding and a great courtyard to relax or have drinks. Wifi available only in the check in area..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed four nights in May. The hotel is convenient to the port, albeit an uphill walk. The staff are very helpful and polite, and were kind to us as my husband was not well when we arrived.. The room had lovely views but no balcony. The windows were very large and, if the hotel had provided comfortable chairs, then we could have relaxed and taken advantage of the view (the chairs were those little, nursing, type). The room was clean but suffered from damp, with paint peeling from the ceiling and some parts of the wall - I guess that's one of the hazards of an old building. The bathroom was much worse, with lots of damp and, on one occasion, a millipede! The toiletries are limited, although the towels are OK. Breakfast has a good choice, and excellent coffee, in a room with stunning views. It is a shame that the hotel does not have a public room with relaxing chairs to take advantage of the sun, sea and views; they might easily convert part of the terrace. The swimming pool is down quite a number of steps, across a busy road, so not suitable for those with mobility problems. Again, the views are delightful. There is a lovely cloister to relax in at the heart of the hotel, a fantastic peaceful space. Overall, we enjoyed the stay, but really the hotel could be much better given the prices charged. It needs maintenance and repair, or I suspect it will start to have less favourable reviews.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, have a room with balcony. Sea facing rooms front on to the road, which is ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is great. Friendly & helpful staff, all with a medium to high standard of English. It is in great location overlooking a bay & is just a 5 minute walk down a medium gradient into the lovely town centre. Plenty of places to eat in Amalfi. Trips to Pompeii & Capri (catch the ferry from Amalfi) are a must!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
292 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed a three night visit to the Luna Convento, a unique property. We don’t often get to stay in an hotel which is nearly 200 years old and itself a conversion of an 13c convent founded by St Francis of Assisi. The original cloister has been retained, together with religious memorabilia including a confessional.

The property clings on to a cliff and is c. 500 m (mainly uphill) from the ferry terminal and central Amalfi, so many of the rooms have world-class views over the town and the coast. There is a (seasonal) pool area across the road with the most amazing coastal views but it wasn’t open during our stay. The building generally looks somewhat under-maintained.

The list of previous guests is impressive and Ibsen allegedly wrote A Doll’s House while living in the hotel.

Rooms vary. Ours looked like a converted nun’s cell - narrow but adequate and with wonderful views. The bathroom was very mid-20c and needs upgrading. The over-bath shower was awkwardly located and in need of maintenance. Toiletries were minimal.

WiFi is free but available only in part of the public area, where there is also a public computer.

Breakfast is an adequate buffet with attentive staff. We had two good dinners in the restaurant, which has to-die-for views and classic service.

All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful.

Physically, the Luna Convento is an exceptional property and the atmosphere offsets some of the irritants. With careful modernisation, especially of rooms and bathrooms, it could be a five-star offering without losing its distinctive ambience. But even now it's a unique experience. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing