We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My fiance and I visited the Luna Convento in August 2012 on our honeymoon. I'd requested a regular room, but when we arrived, we asked if it was possible if there were any other rooms available. The staff were so professional and kind. They found a room that was amazing and beautiful, even if it was only available for one night. When we returned that afternoon from visiting Amalfi, we found our bags moved to the new room, with a bottle of champagne on ice next to the balcony overlooking the bay! It was a very kind gesture, and all of our other interactions with them were great. Although we stayed at a series of hotels, this made our stay at the Luna Convento very special, and probably the highlight of our trip.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank W F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Luna Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 647 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

One of the best hotels i've stayed. Surely it has some minor faults but considering the age of the builing the staff are doing fine job to keep it up. The views are stunning from rooms and restaurant. Breakfast is good too, even hot food is served which is rare on the continent.
There is even a small chapel in the hotel with stunning private function room making it ideal wedding venue.
All the staff we incountered were helpfull and knowlagable of the area. We were advised a day trip to Ravello few miles up the mountains - didnt disappoint, a magical place.
It'd definately return to this place, many happy memories.

Room Tip: try to get a room with sea view balcony - amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We certainly have decided to go the Amalfi for a short break. There were not much choice of hotels, as well as there were not good deals such as a high season( August),so we booked this hotel even we felt that the price was a little bit expensive.
The location of the hotel is very good; it is ten minutes’ walk from the centre .it means that it is easy to access restaurants, shops, buses and sea-jets stations, and away from noisy atmospheres.
All rooms have ‘Sea- view’ but only half of them have with a balcony. The room we booked a ’standard double’ have no balcony, so if you would have the room with balcony, you make sure which room you will get it. The ‘standard double’ was very small however a high ceiling and a big window did benefit for the room to become light and airy. The Small screen of TV was hanged the wall which was no good signal reception but we did not bother it. The bathtub was little bit narrow width otherwise there was very good a shower power. The tiled floor was little bit slip if the floor is wet.
There were Good selection of buffet breakfast and always three to four waiting staffs were available for the services but missing a fresh squeezed orange juice.
Alongside of the swimming pool with the lock beach has divided three areas, half of them will become a shade after 16:00. If you would stay in the swimming pool a whole of day and need a sun, you need to be choosing a south east position of the rock. The sundeck and the position are first come and first serve. Also, there were many steps to go down and up to the Poole, and you need across the blind corner of the road, you must be very carefully.
Member of staffs are very kind and cheerful, most of them speak Good English as well as short sentences of other languages which is very good hospitality attitude.
Overall we satisfied the hotel and we definitely choose this hotel for next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satomi-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is very quaint. Good location (in Amalfi). The room itself is "tired".

It's pretty small, which is probably neither here nor there as you don't really spend that much time there. But there was some serious water damage in the bathroom which is somewhat disconcerting. I'm not a big fan of mould and mildew and plaster falling off the wall (albeit small parts).

But the rest of the hotel is find. Am sitting in the cloister as I write this (this used to be a convent). and it is quite becoming. We have not had dinner here, but the breakfast buffet is much better than we expected.

It is expensive - 300 Euros per night - but that seems to be the norm for this area.

The overall impression is positive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were walking around Amalfi at around sunset, and we were drawn toward the tower by its romantic twinkling lights that appeared like fireflies on the horizon. We were pleased to find that this 500-year old tower was a restaurant with a terrace that affords breathtaking views of the water and coastline. While the views were memorable, so were the cuisine and service! This is definitely a special ocassion restaurant, tucked away from the bustle of the main piazzas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellWornPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This Hotel had everything we could have asked for... great rooms, incredible views, wonderful staff, and tons of history. How many hotels can boast their own chapel? The staff greeted us like we were family and took care of us as such. They were helpful in every way and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay in Amalfi. The hotel restaurant did not fall short either-- all of our meals there were excellent, and our server Luigi was outstanding. Do not pass up a chance to stay here if you have the chance!!

Room Tip: Any room with a view is great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kushbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Luna Convento is a nice hotel and our room was very good. Spacious, comfortable, with soundproof windows, good bathroom. Only the bathtube was tiny and must be careful during shower to dont slip and fall. The swimming pool and the access to the sea is fantastic and well supported by the staff. The staff is very helpful, friendly and efficient. A shame the WiFI works only in the central patio and restaurant. The location is great although walking from there to the comercial center is a bit tricky due to very narrow street and traffic with absolutely NO sidewalks. The price is a bit above average but dont hurts.

Room Tip: Our room was #16 and we did like it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $122 - $2,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing