We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wedding day we will never forget.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wedding day we will never forget.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

In June 2011, we travelled to Italy to book our wedding reception. The Luna Convento was our first appointment and we fell in love with it. Needless to say we cancelled all other appointments!
Our wedding was in June this year and I cannot speak highly enough of the management, staff and organisation of the hotel. Salvadore and Andrea were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The food on the day (from the canapés to the evening dinner) was amazing, our guests could not speak highly enough about it. We had the canapes in the cloister, with a perfect mix of light snacks. Our reception dinner was then in the Tower, which is such a beautiful setting with fantastic views. The food was amazing, just the right amount and the home made lemon cake from the local Lemon trees was lovely. After the meal we had music and dancing, they even let us extend the finishing time by an hour - we really could not have asked/wished for more of our day.
We stayed in the Tower room which we would recommend to anyone, the pool and sea access is fantastic.
We thank everyone at the Luna for making our day so special. Would highly recommend for anyone thinking of getting married there.
We will see you next June when we return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrandMrsTearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    152
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
85
307
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Maybe we lucked out buy we found the service to be impeccable. We booked a room in January or February and they confirmed an off-peak rate at that time, and held to it. They facilitated retrieving a camera that fell out of my pocket in the car we took from Sorrento, took care of laundry, and I swear we ended up in a suite as our room was huge and the view from the balcony thrilling. The bathroom was acceptable but the hotel really showed its age there, as it did with the valiant but borderline AC units, one of which leaked a ton of water once shut off in the a.m. The pool is a great spot, but a salt water pool which is not the same swimming experience, really only good to cool off with. Loved diving into the sea and watching the hotel men pull up a massive octopus which presumably was served for dinner later. Strong breakfast but not unhappy to have eaten dinner elsewhere. Overall, met expectations, would have liked better bedding for the price. PS Transportation around the Amalfi coast is a nightmare. The driver provided by Luna Convento was far better than our incoming driver, but a bus trip on a summer weekend sounded unpalatable and driving yourself is suicidal, leaving us with no good options. One of the most picturesque hotel locations I've ever seen much less stayed in, and worth the trouble IMO.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happywanderer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived at the airport and were met by the hotel driver who carried bags and made us feel very welcome. Lunch on the terrace and a swim in the pool. We still have a week to go and already want to come back. It is truly beautiful here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaJCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Beautiful location, but the service is lacking. They did not tell us that the hotel restaurant would be completely overtaken by a wedding and closed to guests. The hotel has no real bar in which to hang out and the only place with a good view in which to watch the town or sunset is the restaurant but it was closed because of the wedding. The woman in reception was cold and failed to provide the typical information offered guests in other hotels we visited. She reminded me of the crabby nuns from catholic school, which is perhaps fitting as this was once a convent. The pool location is lovely but there is no real pool service and the restaurant near the pool closes between lunch and dinner. For a great meal try Eolo which is down the street from hotel
Luna.

Room Tip: ,Ask for a room with a deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel after spending 3 wonderful days in Rome. From the time we arrived we felt so at home & it was a great start to our Amalfi experience. The hotel is so well located & lovely to be able to have a short stroll into Amalfi for shopping, lunch or dinner. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. A special thank you to Mauritzio, the barman, who went beyond the call to chat & tell us about the local environs etc. He was a very proud Amalfian & looked after us very well. We also did the walk to Ravello from Atrani, how amazing was that & one of the highlights of our trip. It's not for the faint hearted but you can take your time and the view back down to the village and to the sea is amazing. It was a Sunday & when we arrived in Ravello we could hear the singing come from the church in the village square. The locals kids were making their First Holy Communion. At the end of Mass they all gathered in the village square, dressed beautifully as only the Italians do & all so proud of their kids & family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for six nights. Our room, a part of an old convent with a tiled bathroom, had a balcony with a great sea view. Our favourite part of the hotel was the cloister, surrounded by lemon trees - a great place to sit with a coffee, aperitif and / or a digestif.

We had breakfast and dinner looking out to sea on the terrace and down on Amalfi. Stunning.

One person who made our stay even more enjoyable was Maurizio. He always served our drinks with a smile and a kind and provided great suggestions on what to do and where to eat locally.

One point to note is that the swimming pool is across the road and down a lot of steps, right by the sea. It is lovely and you can swim in the sea - but quite a descent and climb.

To get to Amalfi before the metro al mer runs from the end of June is slow or expensive. The best taxi option is via the hotel at 120 euros - each way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claireandpaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Where to begin???? From start to the very end, the service we received from The Luna Convento, and in particular Andrea, the hotel manager was first class… I could not fault the staff or the organisation of our wedding in the slightest.
The food was first class… the best seafood salad I have ever tasted….. We went for the 6 course menu, recommended by Andrea… clearly he knows best! Everyone raved about the food, and service everyone received.
The church, Wedding breakfast all took place in the hotel, and we had our evening party in the Saracen tower opposite…. All our guests… and ourselves were simply blown away by the whole experience.

We had a fantastic band with the singer Helen… by www.weddingmusic.it Marco was fantastic at organising that side for us… which was a pretty mean feat, as many guests are all musicians/singers and were blown away by the band….

Flowers by Franco Di Bianco were out of this world, and a wonderful service by him and his team too…
But most of all I could not have done any of this without the wonderful help from Mister Raf, who came recommended by Andrea…. He arranged all the paperwork, and sorted me out with any questions I had… (There were many!!! Ha!) Without Raf… I would have been a very lost and very stressed bride! His fees were very reasonable…. I cannot recommend him enough.

The room was spotlessly clean, and every staff member was polite and helpful.... Really made us feel very welcome...x

There is a lift, which many hotels in Amalfi don't have, so it's very accessable for those who find it difficuilt with too many steps.

The pool is gorgeous... right on the sea... you can also swim in the sea too, with easy access. There are quite a few steps down to the pool, but totally worth it. The sea is so clear, and Pepe the pool man really looks after you!

The car parking was easy too... greast service.

We were lucky enough to be there during a historical boat race, with the most wonderful firework display that night.... There was no better place to view all of this than from our balcony, or indeed the restaurant balcony.... perfect view... best view in town!

After this write up I do expect a free trip next time I'm in Amalfi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
But seriously.... The hotel Luna will remain in my heart and memories forever....
I thank you...

xxxx

Room Tip: Room 19 has a huge balcony with wonderful views across Amalfi and the sea. Perfect. x
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treatmenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing