We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beef, it's what for dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna dei Briganti

La Taverna dei Briganti
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
La Taverna dei Briganti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: recipes from the kitchen of the Kingdom of Naples and the Two Siciliescold cuts, cheeses and rusticpasta dishes with homemade meat sauce topped with Neapolitan or Sicilian sauce pork, lacane and chickpeas, soupsgrilled meat and bakedcodvegetableshomemade sweets
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beef, it's what for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What an amazing restaurant! As an American you only ever hear about pasta when the topic of italian food comes up and during our two and a half weeks of traveling through southern italy that is mostly what we experienced. That is, until we visited La Taverna dei Briganti! After an amazing antipasta dish of local meats and cheeses I ordered the special of the day which was grilled steak over a plate of arugula and parmesan cheese. I don't know if all italians can grill this good but man, this was the best meal of the trip. In addition to the amazing cooking, the restaurant owner was very knowledgeable about wine and made very helpful suggestions that paired excellently with our meal.
Amazing view, amazing service, amazing food, I can't recommend this restaurant enough! If you are wanting to get away from the absurdity of the tourist trap that is Amalfi and experience a truly unique italian dining experience visit La Taverna dei Briganti!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    116
    27
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice place, a bit off the path but all worth it-enjoyed great service, good food and the darkening night. Amazing view to the coastal line to the other side, really recommend to try this place. Reasonable prices also!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susa19467889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were on a family holiday with my parents, brother and girlfriend during May this year and I can honestly say this was the culinary highlight of our week! I'd read the reviews on tripadvisor and it seemed a lovely, intimate place to spend the final night our trip... There was a huge storm in Amalfi night and we wound our way in a taxi up the bendy roads to the tavernna. We were greeted with first class hospitality from the second we arrive till when we left...

We all choose the menu of the house... It was absolutely gorgeous - my only watch out to people would be size... If you choose this menu don't eat before as it really is a feast! The meal began with an antipasti of local cheese and cured meats which were fresh and varied in flavour, it was then followed with a beef pasta dish - the sauce was full of flavour, followed by a local specialty of rolled beef and potatoes and finished off with a fresh, just of the oven cake...

Our hostess went out of our way to make our evening special... The prosecco and house wine were high quality and she even found gluten free pasta for me so I could enjoy pasta with the rest of my family.

The view from the terrace would have been perfect for watching the sunset had there not been a torrential storm.

Overall the experience was everything we were look for and more... Definitely a must to visit during your time in Amalfi.

If you are travelling from Amalfi do try and take the bus up the hill as taxis charge a premium.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurafpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a wonderful evening at this very special little restaurant. I had contacted the owner ahead to see if she could accommodate different food allergies and she went out of her way to prepare for us. Everything was very fresh and cooked over a wonderful open grill. The views from this restaurant are spectacular. We took a van/cab from the Amalfi port which took about 15 minutes and booked him to return for us. He did not feel he could make it to the restaurants main entrance so we had to walk down over 100 steps to reach the restaurant. The owner said vans come to the main entrance all the time so hopefully future guests will know its ok to proceed there. We ate so much that the walk back up was good for us......

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highest quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I had lunch yesterday. We had walked up from Amalfi and looked forward to a great lunch. This expectation was met by Fedrica. The meal started with a large mixed antipasta with some smoked meats ,cheeses and some grilled vegetables. Her home made pasta with porcini mushrooms was to die for. The Tagliatelle steak reminded me of what steak used to taste like.
Fantastic flavour. Fedrica helped pick a great white wine.. All together a superb meal. Sadly we were the only ones in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank humphrey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna dei Briganti also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna dei Briganti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing