We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to eat.”
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Ranked #22 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nice time for couples and groups of friends. Fresh fish of the day and good meat. Wood oven pizza. Outdoor dining.
Goderich, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to eat.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a find high in the mountains overlooking Amalfi. The family that runs this restaurant are most welcoming. The chef is very talented. He even runs a cooking class for those who wish to really see how Italian food is made. A must if in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    82
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quiet lunch in Pegerola”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a 13 km trek, we made our way to La Carcara because of Trip Advisor reviews. We were the only customers on a Tuesday lunch-time in mid October, and the family stopped their own lunch to make ours. The fresh fish catch of the day was displayed, and I picked from the offerings, enjoying the resulting sea bass perfectly prepared and accompanied by very tasty fresh, roasted vegetables. The eggplant parmesan was a bit disappointing, chewy and not a large portion (as a starter). Wouldn't have given this the #1 in Amalfi, but we didn't give it the full testing of an evening meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“The sign outside says Pizzeria”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went in to have a Pizza for lunch,,, something nice and simple..
We were welcomed and asked to choose a table and were given a menu.
looking through the menu there were no Pizzas listed so we asked the waitress if we could just have a pizza.
We were told that no we could not have a pizza so we decided to leave...... When I was putting my coat back on the waitress asked the chef and we were told we could have one.
After all the fuss and embarrassment we decided it would be better for us to use another one of the many eating establishments within easy walking distance...

The sign outside says it's a Pizzeria our experience is that it was not easy for us to get a pizza. From other reviews It is obviously a popular restaurant that serves very good food,,,

l

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best pizza we ever had”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Place is a little far from downtown, but they have a free shuttle to pick you up from the hotel. Food is impressive, so is the customer service. Individual pizza is gigantic and the best we ever had. We were very impressed with the food and the price is very inexpensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaccioStoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly magnificent traditional cuisine based on local produce”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I cannot recommend La Carcara highly enough. The owner Lucia manages the restaurant while her husband Gino creates magic in the kitchen. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the food is incomparable, whether you have pasta, fresh fish or meat. I personally recommend the Spaghetti with clams, orange rind and artichoke.....exquisite, as are all their pasta dishes. We are staying in Hotel Santa Caterina a little way away, and both times Gino has been kind enough to take us home. We have been here three nights so far and eaten there twice already and are all set to go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewT1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing