We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure”
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Ranked #22 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nice time for couples and groups of friends. Fresh fish of the day and good meat. Wood oven pizza. Outdoor dining.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited La Carcara for the first time this year. Its entrance is not at all attractive, but once you are there the setting and firendly service are great. Wonderfully cooked fresh fish (especially lemon sauce!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    82
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“SO friendly”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lucia, Gino and Fabio are so friendly. Popped in for a look. No problem - even gave us coffees with no charge. Then when for a meal - excellent and lovely views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor_Validcomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Homemade quality”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This place has excellent quality food, made themselves and with a local touch with Italian love for what they serve. We went there on the last night in Amalfi and wish we had gone earlier. I'm Italian and have grown up with Italian food and these guys made it just right!

Recommend eating there or even take away, it's cheap, top quality and very hospitable !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank delche76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is probably one of the best Italian meals I have ever had! We visited this restaurant while in Amalfie for a week. The food was excellent and so was the service. Having dinner at Lucia's place was like being with family. The fresh fish of the day and pasta were always exceptional. Let's not mention the awesome pizza or Lucia's famous Limoncello that she makes herself with the lemons from her garden.

Great Service, Great food....wonderful people. A definite must in Amalfie!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sherm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish ever!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to this restaurant during our honeymoon. Very reasonably priced, great service and really tasty! The waiter bought a plate of fish out, caught fresh that morning, and asked us which we would prefer. It was the best fish I have ever tasted! The waiter was extremely friendly and very helpful. I would recommend visiting this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing