We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“ate there 3 times!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Abside

L'Abside
Ranked #4 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: L'Abside italian Restaurant is situated in the centre of Amalfi, in the charming Piazza dei Dogi. L'abside is one of the most popular choices for tourists visiting the Amalfi Coast every year, both for the quality of its food and the professional and warm welcome given by the staff. We offer a selection of fresh local fish, meat and vegetable dishes on our menu, all excerpt from the "Mamma Gaetana's" recipes handbook.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ate there 3 times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

this restaurant was so so good! we went three times out of six days in amalfi . first the staff is awsome , super friendly and helpful. the food is great they have homemade lasagna which was to die for. the bruschetta w mozarella is also super good and pretty much everything on the menu! try one of each course.. the tiramisu and lemon cake were also delish! the last night we ate there we didnt have enough cash with us to pay and they were so understanding we just went back the next day to pay them and they were super fine with that. dont hesitate to eat there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    258
    62
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best Lasagne I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant and great service. I ordered the Bolognese pasta and tried a portion of my friend's Lasagne. Wow the Lasagne was so good I ordered a plate for myself! Amazing!

We love this hard to find restaurant off the main square. We are glad we found it and will seek it out again on our next trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRWilliams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

what a lovely restaurant, great food, great service and great waiting staff! We had dinner there on our last night and the waiting staff remembered us from brunch a couple of days before and welcomed us back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth a trip, off main square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed! You have to get bruschetta, all of them look amazing but we got the tomato, mozzarella, and arugula one. I tried spaghetti Bolognese and husband had mama's lasagne, both amazing. We also had eggplant parm, also good. This is also one of the few restaurants in amalfi that provides oil and balsamic with bread, a nice addition. It's a family run restaurant and the owner, staff and servers are very welcoming. Service was great. We ended up going back the next dat for pizza at lunch, the salami pizza has a nice kick to it. We would definitely return!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely dining experience off the main piazza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Agree with other reviews, excellent service, chef has his own specialties which you must try. Great home made pasta with seafood. Nice atmosphere in little piazza just off the main area. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Abside also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to L'Abside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing