We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hands-on museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Museo della Carta

Museo della Carta
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.36*
and up
4-Hour Amalfi Coast Walking Tour: Valle delle Ferriere and Historical Highlights
Ranked #4 of 42 things to do in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little hands-on museum”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The whole tour takes maybe 40 minutes, which is just long enough. There are very cool, old mechanisms of the paper mill, and then there are beautiful cards for sale in the gift shop. Especially nice on a cloudy day....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank csw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    165
    43
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small and quaint”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My fiance and I stopped in the Museo della Carta on a rainy day in October and really enjoyed it! I can be highly picky when it comes to museums where I can't touch things, but this place was great... We learned the history of handmade paper and I even got to help make some with the tour guide. Worth the walk up Amalfi to see, takes about an hour if you arrive when a tour is starting. (Tour was in English, too!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelDoug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not much to see unless you go early”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a long walk up the hill from the dock, but worth it to see how paper was made Way Back. Unfortunately, we got there 30 minutes before closing, so the only thing open was the small front museum and gift shop. In the high season (or perhaps whenever) they appear to actually make paper the Old Way, in full view of touristy passerby like us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's a bit of a walk up the hill to the paper museum but it is well worth the trip. We went with their group tour and found it incredibly educational and the museum features native English speakers. It's very fascinating to learn about how paper has influenced every part of our history and the importance it played in the region. Absolutely recommended, unless you are not a history fan.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A most memorable experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

For four euros per person you can take a 20-30 minute tour of this 13th century paper mill with an English-speaking guide. You see the machinery, the tools, and the processes used throughout the centuries. The company still makes paper today but not at this site and, according to our guide, their primary customer is the Vatican. The museum and the tour are fascinating. A member of the group gets to make a sheet of paper by dipping a frame into the cotton water. We learned so much in a very short period of time. From the center of town walk up the hill about 15 to 20 minutes by following the signs to the paper mill. Just when you feel like you won't find it, there it is on the left. This was a real highlight of our visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo della Carta also viewed

 

Been to Museo della Carta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing