We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A most memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo della Carta

Museo della Carta
Via delle Cartiere 23, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
39 089 83 04 561
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$127*
and up
Small-Group Positano, Amalfi, and Ravello Day Tour from Sorrento with Lunch
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A most memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

For four euros per person you can take a 20-30 minute tour of this 13th century paper mill with an English-speaking guide. You see the machinery, the tools, and the processes used throughout the centuries. The company still makes paper today but not at this site and, according to our guide, their primary customer is the Vatican. The museum and the tour are fascinating. A member of the group gets to make a sheet of paper by dipping a frame into the cotton water. We learned so much in a very short period of time. From the center of town walk up the hill about 15 to 20 minutes by following the signs to the paper mill. Just when you feel like you won't find it, there it is on the left. This was a real highlight of our visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    144
    38
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Worth a trip up the hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In visiting Amalfi the tour guide spoke of a museum some 20/25 minutes up a hill. We decided to go to the museum prior to having lunch/visiting the cathedral. The good news is that the journey only took about 15 minutes (maximum) and the museum was well worth a visit.

For 4 Euros per person a guide took a group of 5 of around the museum and explained the history of paper making and allowed one of our group to 'start making some paper' using the technique of several centuries ago.

The tour took about 15/20 minutes so in 45 minutes you can make the trip up the hill and visit the museum - this is well worth doing in addition to visiting the cathedral.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aveagoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are in Amalfi don't miss it - it's a short and interesting tour which sheds light on the paper industry in general and also a little bit about the history of Amalfi. Interesting both for kids and adults.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MirM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amalfi paper mill/museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a great visit to the paper museum just above the shopping area in the town of Amalfi. It's a little bit of a walk up the hill but well worth it. You get to see the old paper machines actually operate and you can even make paper using the old process from cloth. The staff was very friendly and they offer tours in both Italian and English.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Now I know better about paper!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the museum. Lino, our guide, was informative and very funny. Half hour of interesting info and few laughs!

I found fascinating the way they use to make paper. No waste and little money!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elpatojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo della Carta also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Museo della Carta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing