We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Ranked #9 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Only a few steps away from the cathedral, hidden in the alleyways of Amalfi in one of the most ancient and peaceful squares of the town, is the Taverna Buonvicino. In the authentic tradition of the Amalfi Coast, our guests will enjoy an a la carte menu and a food and wine tasting menu, strictly serving only products in season, to give them a taste of the places and culture of our territory. Our food is not ready made, but the shoert wait respects the sincerity of preparation and cooking times, far from today's much and ready's culture. For those who want to discover the Hidden Amalfi we suggest a journey that starts at the table and leads towards the colours and tastes of our territory where you can discover new places of belonging. Finally, a hidden corner to propose to those guests of ours who love small surprises. We look forward to seeing you here in this hidden corner because 'The true taste of Amalfi is hidden in the alleyways'
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited this reastaurant on a Saturday evening and due to not making a reservation we had a table inside. The service was so-so, but the food itself made up for it. The buffalo was great, along with the vegatables on the side. the stuffed pork was tasty, but if I went again I would certainly order buffalo still!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beccakins587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    238
    59
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem away from the madding crowds”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this little haven of calm in amongst the madness of touristy Amalfi. Up some gloomy and narrow lane ways we turned a corner and there was this restaurant in a tiny quiet square. We sat outside in the shade and the food was wonderful. It was quite modern styled food with delicious flavours and presentation. The service was fine and the bill was about 60 euro for 3 starters, a salad and 4 glasses of prosecco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUCK!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

By far the worst place I ate while in Italy. The restaurant itself isn't bad, but the food is awful. First off, there is only one meat dish there so if you're expecting more selection, beware! I happen to love seafood, so the no meat doesn't bother me at all. It was just fishy-smelling and good/decent seafood generally doesn't have a smell to it. I will admit, their portions is pretty decent. My husband and I ordered seafood everything, but it just wasn't to par to what we had been eating.

The waiter was ok, not the most tentative. His bus-girl was very good though. While sitting there for dinner, we must have seen 3-4 couples sit and leave. I'm not sure what that's about, but the place was not busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good dinner and service in lovely small piazza..”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place was just great with relaxed friendly staff providing good service. The atmosphere in the little piazza is quiet and romantic, away from the crowds. The food was just excellent. It is a little difficult to find, up an alley and then stairway with a sign for another restaurant adding some confusion but don't give up you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2outgalavanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & off the Beaten track so you can relax”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located in a tiny, quite piazza next to a small church and with amazing food, this is a great way to spend lunch and take a break from the busy main streets of Amalfi. It's a short walk through some very thin streets as you get away from the crowds and the noise. Peaceful spot and the food is very fresh and perfectly prepared. - J&H

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayOnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing