We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good dinner and service in lovely small piazza..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Ranked #11 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Only a few steps away from the cathedral, hidden in the alleyways of Amalfi in one of the most ancient and peaceful squares of the town, is the Taverna Buonvicino. In the authentic tradition of the Amalfi Coast, our guests will enjoy an a la carte menu and a food and wine tasting menu, strictly serving only products in season, to give them a taste of the places and culture of our territory. Our food is not ready made, but the shoert wait respects the sincerity of preparation and cooking times, far from today's much and ready's culture. For those who want to discover the Hidden Amalfi we suggest a journey that starts at the table and leads towards the colours and tastes of our territory where you can discover new places of belonging. Finally, a hidden corner to propose to those guests of ours who love small surprises. We look forward to seeing you here in this hidden corner because 'The true taste of Amalfi is hidden in the alleyways'
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good dinner and service in lovely small piazza..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place was just great with relaxed friendly staff providing good service. The atmosphere in the little piazza is quiet and romantic, away from the crowds. The food was just excellent. It is a little difficult to find, up an alley and then stairway with a sign for another restaurant adding some confusion but don't give up you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2outgalavanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    196
    51
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & off the Beaten track so you can relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located in a tiny, quite piazza next to a small church and with amazing food, this is a great way to spend lunch and take a break from the busy main streets of Amalfi. It's a short walk through some very thin streets as you get away from the crowds and the noise. Peaceful spot and the food is very fresh and perfectly prepared. - J&H

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayOnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for a nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our 'let's go out for a nice dinner' choice during our 4 days in Amalfi - I happened upon it while making a wrong turn down the little alley near our hotel. I spoke to the primary waiter who was very friendly so we made a reservation for the next night. We ate outside on their quaint patio and had a mixed seafood appetizer followed by a whole grilled fish for my wife and and grilled skewers of seafood for me. Everything was delicious and the service was exceptional. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Italian food bellisimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate at a few restaurants during our stay in Amalfi and they did vary a bit. There were two restaurants that stood out while we were there and this was one of them. We had talked to one of the waiters there beforehand and he was very friendly and could tell us all about the food that was served in the restaurant. In fact we were so impressed that we decided to go there on the night of Steve's birthday which was the 6th of August. They had little lights which made it look really pretty and the waiter that we had already spoken to was very attentive. The food was delicious and you could tell it was freshly cooked. There were also some Italians eating there always a good sign. Unfussy menu, excellent service and gorgeous food. What more can you ask for. sara shipton Chalfont St Peter England

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sara_shipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a must go for whoever wants an authentic experience, in an authentic place, with authentic food, and authentic people. I cannot say what to recommend, from the wine, to the soup appetizer, to the pasta.... And God forbid the "spigola all'aqua pasta " or the "delizia al limone" ( the best in Amalfi). Great value too. Strongly recommend you drop here, it will certainly be a highlight of your Amalfi experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing