We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Ranked #11 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Only a few steps away from the cathedral, hidden in the alleyways of Amalfi in one of the most ancient and peaceful squares of the town, is the Taverna Buonvicino. In the authentic tradition of the Amalfi Coast, our guests will enjoy an a la carte menu and a food and wine tasting menu, strictly serving only products in season, to give them a taste of the places and culture of our territory. Our food is not ready made, but the shoert wait respects the sincerity of preparation and cooking times, far from today's much and ready's culture. For those who want to discover the Hidden Amalfi we suggest a journey that starts at the table and leads towards the colours and tastes of our territory where you can discover new places of belonging. Finally, a hidden corner to propose to those guests of ours who love small surprises. We look forward to seeing you here in this hidden corner because 'The true taste of Amalfi is hidden in the alleyways'
Chenonceaux, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Last Tuesday I had a great lunch in this restaurant. I was there with 3 friends. The temperature in Amalfi was 35 degrees, but fortunately we got a table outside with shadow, and the chilly wind made our lunch very enjoyable. The waitress was lovely, and we eat very good food. I was impressed in particular by the starter (mixed cold seafood) and secondo (fried mixed fish). The cake was delicious (a slice of delizia al limone). Everything was served professionally (all plates at the same time), we always got clean forks and they never put pressure on us to complete our meal. To be repeated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samx2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    197
    51
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this little gem by losing ourselves in the little side streets of Amalfi. The atmosphere was warm and comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the food and wine were tasty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChattyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Hidden in back alleys, a nice pause for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place really is hard to find, we came accross it by accident and decided to pause for a drink. The young man serving us was very friendly and polite with very good English and we enjoyed talking to him.

We called mid afternoon so not a time to eat, the waiter suggested a carafe of house wine (a blend of Falanghina and something else). This was very pleasant and refreshing, sitting under an umbrella in the little square outside was a lovely change from the other busy streets in Amalfi.

When we asked for another couple of glasses we were presented with a half carafe, no charge!!

The bill was Euro 6, unbelievably cheap. We paid the young man Euro 10 and thought we had the bargain of the day.

If we visit Amalfi again we will try to find this place again, possibly for lunch next time.

If you stumble accross Buonvincino, pause at least for a drink..
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsieurTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A decent restaurant spoiled by indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

You find this restaurant up some stairs near the cathedral. It has a little outside terrace and a reasonably sized interior. We weren't welcomed terribly well and though the evening was coolish, the air con was on and it made the place rather draughty.

The waiter eventually came to the table and we ordered our meal. After some minutes the waiter passed our table and dumped a brown paper bag rather unceremoniously on his way down to the other end of the restaurant. My wife and I looked at each other and wondered if he'd forgotten his shopping. Anyway, it turned out to be our bread.

My wife had marinated fish which was well presented but over-lemony. Before we had barely drawn breath, the main course was served. I can't think why they did this; the kitchen wasn't very busy that evening and it would have been nice to relax for 10 or 15 minutes. I had pasta with peas, broadbeans and a mixed salad. My wife had Saltimbocca and spinach which she said was OK. Neither main course was memorable. With a bottle of water and a half litre of house wine the bill came to 55 Euros not including tip.

It's a pity that our meal was spoiled by amateurish service but I think the kitchen is capable of turning out some decent food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good enough to go back on a second night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had stumbled across this restaurant on a wonder through the maze of little streets just a little way up from Duomo. There is also a little lane no wider than a doorway just up from Duomo on the right that leads to it. The menu appealed as it was not just a standard menu but had a bit of a twist. The waiter was very friendly, told us what his favourite dishes where and helpful with explanations of the menu. The food was wonderful with great flavours and textures. We ate at another restaurant the following night but decided to return again on the 3rd night to have the squid and potato salad again which was served warm and to try the pasta with lemon sauce that the waiter sang lyrically about. And it was excellent meal again, the lemon pasta being such a simple dish with home made pasta light cream sauce and lemon and lemon zest but it was one of those dishes which you can't stop eating. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Winterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing