We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great, traditional restaurant. Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di Masaniello

La Taverna di Masaniello
Ranked #21 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, traditional restaurant. Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose this restaurant having looked at several others in the adjacent square. The owner was very friendly and accommodating: he set up a table outside, as that was our preference.
Our starters and main courses were excellent. In terms of atmosphere, service, food quality and value for money, it was one of the best dinners we had in Amalfi. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    286
    80
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great pizza - down a little alley way, makes for a great neighborhood feel away from all the tourists. True napolitano pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiry726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have eaten in this restaurant for the last four summers whilst on holiday. The food is excellent and the owners are very friendly and welcoming.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank virginia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Found this little restaurant based on TA reviews. Lunch service was speedy, friendly, and the pizza was the best we've had in Italy so far. The Diavolo (spicy salami) was delicious. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude waiters and below average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited as the restaurant looked nice from the outside and the waiter outside was nice enough to give us directions to our hotel when we arrived. Once we sat down it all changed and they grumpy waiters took our orders. My chicken for the main course was pink in the middle and in a watery bland gravy with microwaved vegetables. When I asked for the chicken to be sent back the waiter "tutted" at me and mumbled.

He made me feel like it was my fault that the chicken was un-cooked.

Would never recommend anyone to go here and I got charged €50 for the privilege of this well below-par experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremygasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Masaniello also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna di Masaniello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing