We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,274)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveler rating
1,028
161
49
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,028
161
49
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool our honeymoon converted monastery welcome drink stunning hotel breathtaking views the cliff five star hotel perched high perfect stay every hour walk into town the hotel offers pastries overlooking the sea junior suite shuttle bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We'd decided to stay in Amalfi for 3 nights to see the area and relax a bit. We'd chosen the Convento Di Amalfi for a bit of luxury!
We arrived in Amalfi, and having just come through a tunnel suddenly stopped next to a small room cut into the wall. Staff came out to take our bags, and we went inside. There's a lift that takes guests up to the main building dug into the hillside, so we didn't actually see the hotel until we got to the top!
The hotel is simply stunning, on getting out of the lift it seems to tower above you! There are steps and a lift up to the reception on the 5 floor. We walked, and was it worth it - the views out over Amalfi are stunning, the clear blue water of the Mediterranean, the town below you and the terraces of lemons.
The staff were very friendly, and welcomed us with a drink, our room wasn't ready yet (we arrived at 11am), but we were told it would be done soon so we walked around the grounds. Among their lemon trees are dotted chairs and a couple of hammocks, and it all felt incredibly peaceful.
Inside the hotel, they have kept the atmosphere of a convent, with the fragrance of incense and the vaulted ceilings. This was carried through to our room, where we had what were presumably 3 small rooms in the convent connected by archways with the bathroom in one, our bed in the other and a small living space in the third.
There is a shuttle service into the town hourly, but the traffic seemed to get pretty bad so most of the time we walked. After about 20m there is a set of stairs that lead down to the seafront, so you don't need to walk along the busy road. From there it's only a short walk into the center of the town. The pickup from the town is about 10 minutes after the hour, and the bus is easy to find (it's got the NH logo and Convento Di Amalfi written on it) near the bus stop.

We are already planning our next visit!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Jet19376799635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiacomoS1450, Direttore generale at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review!

I am pleased to read that our Hotel has been the perfect location for your stay in Amalfi and the our gardens, pool and staff offered the peace and relax you were looking for.

Moreover, knowing that you will come back really is the best compliment for us and the sign that we are on the right road for making our Guests live unforgettable experiences.

Looking fowards to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Giacomo Sarnataro
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

This hotel puts the ‘S’ into service. The staff were excellent and exemplified by the outstanding restaurant team that included;

Francesco
Giuseppe
Walter
Erasmo
Diego

The menu was superb. Our room included a terrace and Jacuzzi! Was amazing with the backdrop down onto the little harbour. I would have no hesitation and recommending this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiacomoS1450, Direttore generale at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Experience!

It is always the best moment for me and for all the Staff here at GH Convento di Amalfi to read reviews like yours.

I hope that you will come to visit us again in the future.

A presto!

Giacomo Sarnataro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is unique and exquisite.
The staff throughout were extremely friendly, accommodating and professional during our entire stay (6 nights).
We were greeted from the taxi by concierge who assisted with cases and navigated us across a death defying road to the hotel (normal in the Amalfi).
Our check in was straightforward and staff spoke excellent English. We noticed that all reception staff had badges on showing which languages they spoke and all had an addition language to English and Italian.
After our 1st night of poor sleep due to a soft bed (I acknowledge that this is a personal preference and that people have different requests) we raised with reception and they offered us 2 different rooms to choose and move to and assisted quickly with our move. We enjoyed our 2nd room much better due to the decor and harder bed. Thank you to the reception lady and manager that assisted with this (apologies I do not recall your name) And also the new male reception staff member that patiently showed me the rooms and then also showed me again with my husband when I had a decision dilemma.
It became clear to us that all rooms are quite different so do your research prior to booking and choose the best option for you.
If budget is no option for you we saw rooms that had their own sunbathing area and outdoor hot tubs with panoramic views of the sea and Amalfi - wow!
The property is well maintained and clean with high standards throughout. You would expect this from the price however I can assure that it is guaranteed.
There are many areas of the property to explore and enjoy so make sure you have a good look around on arrival and find secluded spots for reading and eating/ sharing a drink.
The pool is amazing for the sea views and would be a great spot to enjoy. Unfortunately we visited in May 2019 and encountered terrible weather of colder than average temperatures and lots of rain showers so could not enjoy this feature as we had planned to on booking.
There is an on site spa with steam room access for poor weather days or people that fancy some pampering. Spa staff were friendly and welcoming. We used the steam room which has its own relax area which was bliss after cold rainy days.
The spa also houses a small gym accessible from approx 7am. It has some cardio equipment and a combined multi gym and a selection of free weights. Not a large gym but a good selection to allow workouts. There is also an outside gym for those that prefer to exercise outdoors with panoramic views which would have been amazing however was covered due to poor weather. If you are a runner/ jogger you would struggle in Amalfi due to uneven paths and dangerous roads. Best stick to the gym options.
Set in an old convent with parts still present and visible within the hotel this place has history and magic that you can see and feel. A walk through the chapel/ courtyard and reading room is a must.
The hotel is set above Amalfi town in the hills. There is an accessible walk via the property which is like a tour in itself because you walk through corridors / steps weaving and winding amidst real houses and Italian residents. It felt very safe and is lit even late at night.
It would be very difficult or perhaps even impossible if you are unfit/ have any issues with knees / ankles / walking or have prams or wheelchairs given the downstairs, uneven paths, narrow sections and the reverse uphill stairs to come back. You can dine at the hotel. The menu looked nice although prices were quite high however they are exclusive for hotel guests only so you can be guaranteed good service and to get a table.
For the able bodied this is an adventure which we loved each day/ night and helped to offset some of the calories consumed with the delicious food and wine available at the restaurants (I have review a few of these if you wish to look up).
The walk down took approx 10-15 mins to the main shops/ Restaurants although may be quicker if you are not stopping for views and photos which is hard to resist!
If you are visiting Amalfi I would add staying here to your bucket list!!
Thank you to the staff. We hope to return and would love to experience when the weather is nicer.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Fivestar247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiacomoS1450, Direttore generale at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review!

You have not only made me feel very proud but, above all, happy to know that we have a new fan of our GH Convento di Amalfi!

We love to make each stay unforgettable and, since our Guest's satisfaction is our main focus, nothing is ever too much for us.

I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Giacomo Sarnataro
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

My family just completed a wonderful 3-day stay at the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. Our two rooms overlooked the sea (as do all rooms). Ours had a nice balcony.
The hotel is a converted convent which dated back about 800 years. There are numerous outdoor seating areas, a wonderful infinity pool, and beautiful landscaped gardens across the large property. There is also a spa and a small gym.
Our room was a little small. I had to store my suitcase in a corner. My wife's larger bag went behind a curtain near the in-room safe and mini bar.
Breakfast was wonderful--an extensive buffet with fresh breads, cheeses/meats, yogurt, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. Plus, there is a menu offering eggs, pancakes, etc. You won't go hungry here.

The service was excellent throughout. The concierge helped arrange a driver for our trip back to Naples (via Pompei). Also, she recommended fine restaurants for dinner.

Grand Hotel Convento sits on the Amalfi road. There is an hourly shuttle into town (2 minutes). But you can walk--carefully--along the road and take steps down to the city. It's only 5 minutes that way and gives you a chance to work off the wonderful breakfast.

Oh, there's a chapel inside the hotel, presumably a remnant of its days as a convent. It's a relaxing place to sit and read if you're looking for a diversion.

We loved this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiacomoS1450, Direttore generale at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Experience and for letting us know about your stay.

Just like you said, this Hotel is a former Convent which means that every corner reveals an ancient past and important history, consider it dates back to 1.200 AD. On top of this fascinating past, we have added all you need for a relaxing and unforgettable stay: the Infinity Pool, the Panoramic Gym to admire the sea view while training, a sumptuous breakfast served on our terrace, and much more.

Don't wait too long to visit us again!

Best regards,

Giacomo Sarnataro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Very friendly staff, great location, perfect view, superb breakfast, delicate traditional dinner and marvellous desert. We enjoyed the stay very much even the weather was not too good (this is the only thing the hotel manager did not manage perfectly)

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank RoHenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiacomoS1450, Direttore generale at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the community of Tripadvisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and, although the weather did not help us during the period of your stay, it's great to know that our Convento has been the perfect location for visiting the Amalfi Coast.

Don't wait to long to come back!

Best regards,

Giacomo Sarnataro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews