We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adendorf, Deutschland
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Excelent view and great time :-). We stayed at this hotel during our recent stay in Amalfi and loved it. Everything was as described on the website. The hotel and rooms have beautiful views and the hotel is centrally located in Amalfi. All the staff was extremely helpful at all times and always very nice and polite. Our room was also very nice with a quiet location, plenty of clothing space and a large bathroom. We will absolutely stay in the hotel again and will recommend to any friends traveling to the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulviaClapier, Direttore at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Tom,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi for your vacation and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I wish also to thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your stay. I am truly glad you enjoyed our hospitality and service and your words were much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel Convneto and in the meantime we send you our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    105
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
84
497
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have never written a review on a hotel before and have stayed in many around the world. However, I felt particularly compelled to write about this hotel as I have never had such a faultless experience. My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon and stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted with a welcome drink on the beautiful terrace, this was lovely touch after our journey. Once checked in we found a complimentary bottle of fizz in our room. Our view was breathtaking, the room spotless with a cool and crisp feel. Bathroom was very well equipped including razors which came in handy for my husband having forgotten his. Beds are made perfectly every day and pulled down for you at night with chocolates at your bedside, again a lovely touch.
The service we received from everyone was just fantastic. Staff can't do enough for you and are so welcoming, friendly and professional. The pool is just breathtaking. The breakfast is delicious with so much choice. I would recommend booking dinner in the hotel also. We ate there on our last night and it was the best meal we'd had the whole trip (which in Amalfi is some going, the food is gorgeous everywhere). The chef sent out little extras for us to taste, it was truly a great experience.
We booked the Lemon Tour through the hotel. I would definitely recommend this. It really gives you an insight into the beauty and culture of Amalfi. The man who takes this is so passionate about the lemon grove and his family business. It was fantastic and the cake at the end was to die for.
As I say, I have never felt compelled to write a review before but was is impressed with this hotel I had to. There was nothing I could think of to improve, it was faultless.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulviaClapier, Direttore at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Sarah,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi for your vacation and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I truly appreciate the time, and your first time!, you took to share your feedback after your stay.

I’m delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable and I’m furthermore glad to learn your appreciation about the kindness and professionalism of the Hotel Staff and I’ll be happy to extend your comments to the whole team with a special note to our Chef Alberto who is waiting for your return to surprise you with his new recipes!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel Convento and in the meantime we send you our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The original foundation of this hotel are from 1212 I think the beds are the same. If you're into hard uncomfortable beds even worse pillows... But a great view and great service, in a town that offers nothing special this is your place.....!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Soh4il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After the hectic stay in Rome and Naples, the hotel with its phenomenal service felt like paradise on earth. The views from the hotel restaurant and the Monk terrace leading from the hotel to its pool are just amazing and best in Amalfi. Loved enjoying my morning coffee and breakfast on the most beautiful terrace in the world and relaxing in the infinity pool...

The hotel has two parts - one is in the ancient XII century convent. Just walking around the hotel feels like diving into history. You can till see the XII century cloister with ancient frescos and sculptures where wedding receptions are still held. I guess room in the old part of the hotel, although renovated, are small and may have limited views. The other part of the hotel was added in the XX century. All hotel was renovated in 2010. Our room was the biggest room at the corner of the hotel on it highest floor in the newer part. It was a suite and had a huge sunbathing terrace (but we had to pay a fortune for it). The room next to us was also great, not a suite but its terrace had better views. The room was immaculately clean - always. they check the rooms twice a day.. The bed was very comfortable...

The rooms décor is quite simplistic - the region is famous for its linen, so my guess is the hotel interior designer tried to reflect it in the design - everything is linen, white or beige.

The hotel has incredibly welcoming, polite and helpful staff to assist you with your every need and desire - be it at check-in, a concierge or restaurant staff. Weused consierge's help quite a lot with advice and guidance on getting around, sightseeing, finding hiking trails, booking tickets to Ravello classical music festival. My favourite concierges there were two ladies both named Antonellas - both were incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. My advice would be to trust their recommendations, especially in terms of restaurant selection to avoid tourist traps with mediocre food... Everything they recommended to us was wonderful.

Many thanks to Fulvia Clapier, the hotel director, who made special efforts to make our stay so amazing. She tries to meets guests personally at check-in, talks to them in a restaurant, makes you feel welcome and at home. I really appreciated this personal touch in comparison with snobbish service we received in 5-star hotels in Rome and Naples.

The only improvement I would recommend to the hotel is to prolong the pool hours till later ( the poll closes at 6pm...)

Would go back in a heart bit and am actually planning to be back. I simply fell in love with Amalfi and that place.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor in the newer section. Ask for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Americanaexotica7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulviaClapier, Direttore at NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Calgary,


First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi for your vacation and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I would like to personally thank you for your very positive feedback, I am truly glad you enjoyed our hospitality and service and your words were much appreciated.

There is nothing more rewarding for us to see than a satisfied guest, our aim is to make our Guests "feel special"!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel Convento and in the meantime we send you our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Incredible views of the water, if you want to relax by the pool...trust me it is like no other pool. It is an infinity pool with spectacular views of the ocean...
Service from, check in/out good...staff ready to answer and make suggestions as to what activities are available.
Rooms, very simple and minimalist but clean...offering slippers and robes for your comfort...food at the hotel was very good and full of taste. Having dinner there on the outside patio simply amazing with views and food.
Location is great walk 10 minutes to town.

Overall, it was a positive experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BitbyTravelBug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the Convento and it was really splendid !!
The staff was very helpfull and friendly !! The breakfast every morning was delicious !!
A charming room with very good bed and an unbelievable view on the coastline.
We have done a lot of trips also : boattrip to Capri - a walk : Sentiero degli Dei - start in Agerola to Positano, visit to Ravello ...
I hope we can return another time to Amalfi and stay in the Convento !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sceyfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We recently came back from staying in that hotel. The views are terrific but that's about it. The hotel is situated on a very busy skinny road. To get to our room we had to take 3elevators. The room was small considering how pricy it was. There is no closet space but a tiny tiny rod and 2or 3 small shelves with a curtain for cover.
The hotels energy is low and the hotel pool is not even appetizing, it needs renovating and some kind of life v Upon our arrival we were told that they had to charge us 50 euros more because they thought the booking was for one person only which I found to be weird since my documents which I'm sure they had the same stated both our names. They don't have a beach but they take you to a beach by boat a 15 minute ride to a pebbly beach with old chairs and towels. The restaurant at beach was bad. We asked for another place we can gobto to swim they sent us to another hotel that has a beach we can swim in. We paid 30 euros each for the day but we were the only two people. I've been to Amalfi coast several times and have always had a blast. This time around it was not so at all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arles615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing