We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"The" place to stay on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"The" place to stay on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you want a peaceful environment where you can relax comfortably, enjoy a panoramic view of the harbour and Mediterranean Sea and have an easy access to the hectic activities of a busy tourist town, this is the place to stay on the Amalfi Coast.

Fantastic buffet breakfasts and dinners on the terrace. Meticulous cleanliness everywhere. Attentive, friendly and useful staff (almost all speak English). Direct access to Fulvia Clapier, the cheerfull General Manager.

Valet parking available at 25€ per day, but a car is not very useful on the Amalfi Coast. The hotel can arrange to pick you up at the Napoli train station and you can visit the Amalfi Coast from Sorento to Salerno by public buses, tourist double deck coaches, pubic or private boats or with a private chauffeur.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view, but if you also have a balcony overlooking the sea, it is fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    109
    33
    19
    8
See reviews for
89
517
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were assisted across the busy road by a member of staff who assisted us many times during our stay which was greatly appreciated.While we waited for check in we were given a welcome cool drink on the terrace overlooking Amalfi and what a fabulous view it was.
Our room was on floor three, two floors below reception. We had a wonderful view of Amalfi below us. The room was crisp and clean with a comfortable bed ,curtained off wardrobe area which we found quite useful not having to open or slide doors and the bathroom was well equipped but a bit small. Dressing gowns and slippers were provided and an array of toiletries (but I wish they had replaced the bubble bath which I used the first day ).
We quite liked the blandness of the interior as mentioned by an other reviewer as It reflected the buildings past history and added to the atmosphere. Our buffet breakfast was taken on the beautiful terrace and we returned there in the evenings to enjoy the twinkling lights below .We did not eat dinner in the hotel but enjoyed lunch in the bar beside the infinity pool .
It was a short walk into Amalfi either along the road (no footpath) or via steps down to the marina area. There is a shuttle bus throughout the day.This is a lovely hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful location , love the small town of Amalfi. Wonderful staff, the General Manager Fulvia Capier was very attentive. She greets every guest and walks the grounds speaking to everyone and knows what is going on with each group. The view is to die for.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 days at this hotel - Fantastic breakfast buffet, amazing staff, lovely terrace and pool overlooking the port of Amalfi. Still has the cloister area from when the space was a monastery. Really enjoyed the dinners and bar service on the terrace. Very helpful concierge while changing flight plans. Room was wonderful - light and airy - nice bathroom. Hotel was fully booked but it felt very private - never crowded

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the 3rd floor which added a living space - Great view of the bay, no balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbird320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel is approximately 5-10 minutes walk to the centre of Amalfi with a stunning view of the town and harbour. It is a lovely building on the outside, and contemporary and clean on the inside. However such a shame that on the inside, it is very bland and nothing is made of the history of building. On the outside, the gardens are lovely, however such a shame that these areas are prohibited to the hotel guests. You can only really walk on the terrace and around the pool area.

The room was clean and fine for our needs, but nothing special for the price. It was however impossible to have a shower without flooding the bathroom.

The breakfast staff were pointless. They were either gossiping between themselves, or nowhere to be found, or busy reshuffling tables in preparation for lunch which was very annoying when you are trying to have a relaxing breakfast. Why can they not do this when breakfast service is over at 11 as lunch service does not start until 13:00. We had a nice meal in the restaurant one evening, but again, the staff were performing the same and each course was brought out immediately after the previous one. The impression was given that for both sittings, the staff were pleased to clear out diners as early as possible.

Breakfast choice was poor. Hot food on offer at breakfast was stone cold. Only a single choice of ham and cheese availabe. Other selections of cheese and ham or hot food were available, but were charged at an extra cost e.g. 15 euro for a selection of cheese.

Car parking charges are not mentioned anywhere until you depart and have to pay 25 euro per day. Wifi is intermittent.

The hotel overall is very expensive for what you get and is defintely not 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spectacular cliff borne hotel. Gorgeous sea views, spectacular winding walkways covered in trellis flowers. Best bathroom showers in Europe. Avant-garde sheik white rooms and awesome infinity pool. Perfect staff, royally treated. Phila.Pa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been traveling the Amalfi Coast for the last 20 years. During one of my recent visits, we experienced the Grand Hotel Convento. Words cannot describe the breathtaking views enough and fabulous service this hotel has to offer. Our rooms were meticulously clean and comfortable but the best part was the view. Evenings along the Amalfi Coast are just as splendid! During our stay we enjoyed several dinners at the hotel. Imagine in the evening dusk, sipping your aperitif at a balcony looking down and around romantically at what resembles stars but electricity, lights. As you gaze to the moon above, you notice the water casting a light filled shadow along the quiet sea and you find a sense of inner peace. Life is good and even better when dinner is served! Alberto Annaruma is a talented chef at the hotel. His dishes are not only deliciously prepared but each plate is like a work of art! We highly recommend this hotel! In fact we are returning next summer with a large group of friends to share this amazing experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing