We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Nearby Hotels
$488
$474
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Lara(Amalfi)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
$511
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$465
$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$537
$395
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Maria Luigia(Amalfi)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,358
$1,321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
843
150
44
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
150
44
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolour honeymoonconverted monasterywelcome drinkamazing viewsstunning hotelthe clifffive star hotelperched highterrace overlookingstreet levelwalk into townevery hourthe hotel offersjunior suitepastriessea view
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel is approximately 5-10 minutes walk to the centre of Amalfi with a stunning view of the town and harbour. It is a lovely building on the outside, and contemporary and clean on the inside. However such a shame that on the inside, it is very bland and nothing is made of the history of building. On the outside, the gardens are lovely, however such a shame that these areas are prohibited to the hotel guests. You can only really walk on the terrace and around the pool area.

The room was clean and fine for our needs, but nothing special for the price. It was however impossible to have a shower without flooding the bathroom.

The breakfast staff were pointless. They were either gossiping between themselves, or nowhere to be found, or busy reshuffling tables in preparation for lunch which was very annoying when you are trying to have a relaxing breakfast. Why can they not do this when breakfast service is over at 11 as lunch service does not start until 13:00. We had a nice meal in the restaurant one evening, but again, the staff were performing the same and each course was brought out immediately after the previous one. The impression was given that for both sittings, the staff were pleased to clear out diners as early as possible.

Breakfast choice was poor. Hot food on offer at breakfast was stone cold. Only a single choice of ham and cheese availabe. Other selections of cheese and ham or hot food were available, but were charged at an extra cost e.g. 15 euro for a selection of cheese.

Car parking charges are not mentioned anywhere until you depart and have to pay 25 euro per day. Wifi is intermittent.

The hotel overall is very expensive for what you get and is defintely not 5 star.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spectacular cliff borne hotel. Gorgeous sea views, spectacular winding walkways covered in trellis flowers. Best bathroom showers in Europe. Avant-garde sheik white rooms and awesome infinity pool. Perfect staff, royally treated. Phila.Pa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been traveling the Amalfi Coast for the last 20 years. During one of my recent visits, we experienced the Grand Hotel Convento. Words cannot describe the breathtaking views enough and fabulous service this hotel has to offer. Our rooms were meticulously clean and comfortable but the best part was the view. Evenings along the Amalfi Coast are just as splendid! During our stay we enjoyed several dinners at the hotel. Imagine in the evening dusk, sipping your aperitif at a balcony looking down and around romantically at what resembles stars but electricity, lights. As you gaze to the moon above, you notice the water casting a light filled shadow along the quiet sea and you find a sense of inner peace. Life is good and even better when dinner is served! Alberto Annaruma is a talented chef at the hotel. His dishes are not only deliciously prepared but each plate is like a work of art! We highly recommend this hotel! In fact we are returning next summer with a large group of friends to share this amazing experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IoSonoAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A wonderful experience in an amazing piece of history. It is not for everyone, but it is certainly a memorable experience. The hotel, perched so high on the hill above the lovely town of Amalfi provides a fantastic buffet breakfast and the rooms are quite spacious.

Access to the private beach via boat is also a very special extra pleasure.

There are many corridors and nooks and crannies to discover and it is an adventure to find your way through the whole hotel......but worthwhile and certainly an enjoyable stay :)))

And then there is the view from the pool deck.......amazing ! ! ! ! !

Room Tip: Get a room with the best of views to enjoy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this hotel when we were in Amalfi in 2011, so there was no question when we returned in August 2013. Spent a day simply enjoying the hotel and that view. Food is very good and the service is out of this world. The last night we were there it started raining. Everyone watched from the glorious terrace until the bottom fell out and then we all moved into the dining/seating area. The staff was terrific working with everyone and their dinner needs. Many of us were sitting around talking not wanting to move to the dining tables and the staff never missed a beat and served us right where we were. I love the lemon cake in Amalfi and even though it may not be on the menu each night the staff was always able to find us a piece. Such a wonderful relaxing place with great service and staff. We will always stay at the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffey409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews