We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spectacular View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER FREE-DOM
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this hotel when we were in Amalfi in 2011, so there was no question when we returned in August 2013. Spent a day simply enjoying the hotel and that view. Food is very good and the service is out of this world. The last night we were there it started raining. Everyone watched from the glorious terrace until the bottom fell out and then we all moved into the dining/seating area. The staff was terrific working with everyone and their dinner needs. Many of us were sitting around talking not wanting to move to the dining tables and the staff never missed a beat and served us right where we were. I love the lemon cake in Amalfi and even though it may not be on the menu each night the staff was always able to find us a piece. Such a wonderful relaxing place with great service and staff. We will always stay at the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffey409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    105
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
84
497
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I am very sceptical about any 5 star ratings and in my time as a tripadvisor contributor find it extremely difficult to assign 5 stars
In this case I cannot fault anything within this Hotel
From the exceptional staff (Delfina and Francesco are amongst the most personable and can do people that I have ever met) through to the facilities - they are without fault
The position of the Hotel is fantastic, a short stroll to the centre of town, a private beach reached by a private vessel and first class meals that would rival any Michelin rated restaurant
Seriously folks this Hotel should not be looked past and I would recommend it to any discernible traveller

Room Tip: Must have a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 373RESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First time for us In Amalfi coast!!!!!! Best experience ever. We loved to stay at the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi.
The view is just spectacular and is a such quiet place.
Service and food was excellent. The members of staff very friendly and very professional. We enjoyed our breakfast early in the morning especially with our lovely waiter Paolo!!!! So professional and always available. For sure we are going to come back soon. Thank you to make us very happy during our holidays!! Xxxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we stayed 3 days in this hotel in August. fantastic location. near the center of the country. beautiful pool and private beach. breakfast and staff are super . The cocktail bar is great and the cocktails delicious as the staff . restaurant with very good food and excellent service. i raccomendet it .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flytwo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The history of the place is amazing: a real "convento" up in the mountain, right in front of the sea, fully renewed without losing the location former spirit.

The room and the bathroom was very good, the pool up in the mountain in front of Amalfi's bay amazing, the breakfast at the hotel's balcony very charmy, and the reception service pretty welcoming.

What they could have done better: the check-out service. We needed to stay 2 more hours than the regular check-out time and they were very unflexible and a little unpolite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Facirelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a place on the Amalfi Coast that has friendly, OUTSTANDING service, this hotel is for you. My wife and I travel frequently and consider ourselves hotel snobs. Even at the "greatest" hotels, we havent had attentive service like this. Beautiful grounds, terrific relaxing pool, views that are amazing, and a beach that is semi private where the hotel sets up a short boat ride to get you there. Say hi to Claudio in the snack shop at the beach.
Keep in mind, the rooms are on the smaller side, especially the closets. I read all the reviews before I booked, so I knew the small quirks of the hotel. But everything outweighs the slight negatives. Thanks to the Convento for providing life long memories on our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMarc-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A great location, beautiful room, very peaceful, after the summer throngs all along the coast.
The best meal we had was in the hotel restaurant "Capucine".
But it was the people working there that make it the best place for a holiday...the manageress was always in evidence, and everone was so polite and could not do enough...they were really focused on the customers staying there...we will go again !!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite (715),easy to get to the restaurant and to the Pool etc...perfect spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraserview702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing