We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Luxurious and amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious and amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel was amazing!!!! Everything you expect out of a 5 star hotel. Staff was fast, attentive, and hospitable, they take really good care of you. You can feel from their service that you are at a nice hotel. The whole hotel is beautiful. The rooms were classy, cozy, and clean. The view from the room was more amazing than I expected. I took a glorious bath in the room's bathtub while overlooking the Mediterranean. And the location is perfect. And everything about this hotel is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at!

Room Tip: We had the standard room with a view and it was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    121
    34
    19
    11
See reviews for
100
575
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This old convent sits on the top of Amalfi - about 120 steps down (and up!) to the marina. It has been stylsihly resfurbished and decorated blending old charme with new chic. rooms are modern and clean. we got upgraded to a deluxe suite - with an amazing terrace bigger than the room itself, deck chairs and view back to Amalfi. Breakfast was sensational. Staff very helpful. Would love to stay here again. End of Season was the way to go, hotel was not busy any more..

Room Tip: rooms can be small - go the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great Hotel - The best location, fanstastic room, great food, good facilities. Photos do not o it justice. Must admit it may not be to eveyones liking, due to its quirky features... although of all the hotels we visited this was the most luxurious. The rooms were large, ours had a large sitting area, the hotel loung was quiet and comfortable, although why would you sit inside with such a mgnificent terrace and glorious view. The restaraunt was great, breakfast in the mornings was a full buffet and the restaraunt food was very good too. But with some many options in Amalfi for eating why stick to the hotel. The staff were always very helpful and most accomodating, particularly when the realised we were Australian and not English ;-) but not over the top.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattH-in-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well worth every penny. The most beautiful location, high on a cliff - with the most picturesque view of Amalfi. Great room, elegant and modern yet rustic and chic. The scent of orange blossoms everywhere...an unforgettable experience, a few minutes walk don the steps to the village centre. Loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, the view is magical (specially sunrise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaboub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Staying at this hotel was a treat. The ambience is lovely. I particularly liked the chandeliers and old convent pews. The highlight for me was the view of Amalfi from our bed, the lounge area of the room and even the bathroom! Guests must be careful of the road and traffic at the street level entranceway.

Room Tip: We were on the same floor as the reataurant/terrace etc which was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZKrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is situated in a stunning location on the Amalfi coast. The hotel building, grounds, common areas etc are gorgeous and the very picture of luxury and elegance. However this hotel has one problem which overshadows all its positive qualities. And that one problem is the staff and service. Across the board, the staff are rude, unfriendly, argumentative and generally give the impression that they would rather be anywhere else than help the hotel guests. We stayed here for 3 nights in october and were very disppointed with the staff's performance. We were told that a shuttle would meet us at the bus stop and take us to the hotel. We emailed them multiple times to let them know our itinerary. We arrived in Amalfi in pouring rain in the evening and despite waiting for 25 mins, didnt find this shuttle. We eventually walked up the hill with our luggage in the rain to get to the property. The reception staff (Delfina in partcular) were unapologetic and blamed us for the shuttle's absence. When we politely tried to ask aboutt he missing shuttle, she told us "please dont argue with me, that is not my style". We decided to not argue with this rude person and spoil our mood further.
Apart from the staff, here were some obvious issues with the hotel and its rooms. The on site restaurant was ridiculously expensive and served average food. The breakfast staff was bored and least interested in serving. Breakfast is good but focuses heavily on pastry items. The main dining room is beyond gorgeous and overlooks the amazing blue sea. However, the staff just stand around looking bored. Wifi in the room works but you have to keep asking for free vouchers every day and updating your device with new passcodes. (this assumes that if you get a free wifi deal while booking). This is inconvenient and annoying. For some strange reason, our deluxe room turned out to be rather small but had two bathrooms. The room was basically smaller than the bathrooms. The showers were very poorly designed and the bathroom would flood every time we tried to take a shower. The water in the showers alternated between warm and scalding hot every 60 seconds or so. There were two tiny shelves in the bedroom and no drawers to put our stuff away. The television would start okay but changed to give grainy and staticky display within a few minutes. All in all, a very beautiful hotel with thoughtlessly planned rooms and rude, ill mannered staff to match. Very expensive and definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: get a sea view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crabs_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

fabulous location, service and architecture.
Stayed in October 2012 and were very lucky with the weather, we ate out a lot as we had children but the restaurant was good for lunch on the terrace and the concierge arranged dinner reservations.
May be a bit stark in cold weather as its a very cool hotel and perfect for Mediterranean atmosphere
Pool not massive and not a splash pool for young kids in my view, but beach is pebbly but nice
Cleaners arrive in the long corridor rather noisily and woke us all up..my only complaint

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, NHHotels, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing