We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My family finished our Eurpean vacation at the Grand Hotel. Our 10, 12, and 14 year old daughters were with us. We had hit Paris, Vinice, Rome and Munich on the way. We thought it would be the perfect ending to a busy travel schedule, and it was.
Fresh squeezed lemonade was served to us upon arrival. We checked into two incredible rooms with private sun decks. The rooms were clean. The hotel is absolutely breath taking.
We ate the first night at the hotel. The food was good. The portions were small,and it was expesnsive. The service was great. They also have a wonderful kids menu. The breakfast very morning was wonderful.
The staff here is incredibly helpful. Our youngest daughter got sick the third night of our stay. We called downstairs and asked for a doctor. The hotel staff had one there in 30 minutes. A very nice man from the hotel staff, stayed in the room to translate for the doctor who spoke no English.
The only draw backs to the hotel were the walking distance to town, and the laundry service brought our clothes back still wet. Both were not deal breakers.
The hotel I will say is kid friendly, but most of the people we encountered were couples. The pool really was not kid friendly. Couples were enjoying the peace and quit. Much better to take the kids to the private beach.
We would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiebugtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    138
    40
    22
    11
See reviews for
125
672
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights last month but were shocked at the "hidden" prices.We are used to paying top prices for hotels, but I feel this hotel is just plain greedy.
Car Parking- Watch out for charges for car parking-the price is not mentioned on website.. it costs 25 euro per day!!!-
I love to have a cup of tea before breakfast- no tea facs in the room- ok so I asked before ordering what the service charge is.. wait for it....15 euros per person on top of the tea.. so a pot for 2 is 30 EUROS SERVICE CHARGE( not including the tea!!!!).
If you wish to get a taxi from the hotel.. please ask the charge. We went 3 miles and the charge was 50 euros. I understand it's not the hotel's fault but they should warn you how much the taxi may charge.
Like other reviewers the cost of using the internet in the rooms is unacceptable.
The position of the hotel is lovely, the breakfast is good, but overall but I won't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is a 5-star hotel in looks and location alone. We've had an indifferent three nights here, but will be honest in the review:

Pros: stunning, beautiful location with amazing views. Rooms, even the small ones, are lovely. The pool is great, as is the gym. The whole vibe is relaxing.

BUT...

Cons: It takes the mickey seriously with what it charges as add-ons. Its the only hotel at which I've stayed in Italy where they charge for Wi-fi (including b&bs and no-star and one-star places), and the Wi-fi is intermittent due to the thickness of the walls.

The snack bar and drinks menu is marked-up well above anything I've ever experienced at a 5-star, perhaps because it's a slog to town. We never ate or drank here. Likewise, breakfast is good but if you want extra, like a fried egg, it costs - €12 in fact. For a fried egg.

Worst of all was the laundry service. We had small amount of items washed and theoretically dried for, unbeknown at the time as they didn't tell us the cost beforehand, €34. It came back wet. We asked it to be dried properly and it came back wet again. They then started telling us it wasn't as wet as we thought, and that they couldn't dry certain items properly. 

This is a hotel for people who are made of money but don't expect a top-class experience. There are better, cheaper places in Amalfi.

We're not even snobs - we usually stay in more boutique places but came here as a treat on honeymoon. Rather upsetting.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KillBoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed for a week in June and we could not have been happier. On arrival our room was not quite ready (we arrived early) and so they offered us drinks and nibbles on the wonderful terrace. Then we had another very small wait, they apologised with a very nive bottle of Prosecco. The staff are wonderful and you should seek their advice for the best local restaurants, where to go on Capri etc. Pompei was brilliant and we booked through the hotel. Salvatore in particular was a star - he really went out of his way to try to make our stay a brilliant experience. If there is a small negative, the entry level rooms are a little small - but if you are spending too much time in the room, you are missing the beauty of Amalfi and the rest of the fabulous hotel. We have already recommended this hotel to our friends. As a tip, we paid €130 fixed price for a crappy fiat taxi to get from Naples airport to the hotel. We booked the return journey through the hotel and paid €120 for a nice Mercedes driven by a local Amalfi guy who politely showed us the sites on the wonderful drive back - pretty good value.

Room Tip: Ask maybe to be away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberts60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is one of the most incredible we'd ever been to albeit a little difficult to find. Make sure after you come out of a tunnel (coming from Positano to Amalfi) to look for a small lobby cut into a mountain on your left and a tiny parking lot on the right - that's the entrance. Once we'd found it, two attendants came running out, stopped traffic so we could park and ushered us in. From there you literally travel 15 stories up through the mountainface to the convent perched on a cliff. The multi-level convent was amazing - had great gardens and incredible views. Our room was nearly a suite with 2 bathrooms, a large sitting area and bedroom and a massive patio that overlooked the ocean. The patio had a large table and chairs and a couch overlooking the sea where we listened to an opera being performed in the harbor one night. We wandered around the property and through the old convent - there are preserved areas and signs for you to find the chapel, etc. All the rooms are probably pretty unique and the fixtures/furniture are very well done. There are glass elevators that take you between the 3-4 levels of the hotel which have interesting views of the inner building. We ate dinner here one night and thought the food was very good. The breakfast in the morning was one of the better included breakfasts we had over the course of a 3 week trip. Really an amazing place and would highly recommend but the town of Amalfi is lacking we thought when compared to Positano.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Beautiful. Unquestionably the best hotel I have ever been to, and well worth the expense.

Absolutely fantastic breakfasts, the service was top rate, and the view was just incredible.

The bed was fantastically comfortable, and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

Couldn't fault it at all; the perfect place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

What a disappointment. We checked in today and cannot believe this place rates any serious positive reviews at all....other than the view. Thats all we need..another tired hotel reliant totally on the view.
We waited half an hour at check in, albeit on the patio with a great view. The staff appeared "sour" in almost evry case. We had just spent a great four days in Rome at the brilliant Grand Hotel Via Veneto (not affiliated) so perhaps we were expecting too much to see a friendly smile, a welcoming approach, a helpful attitude.
While we waited to check in we asked some hotel guests if they had enjoyed the restaurants in the hotel or had they found any elsewhe. They quickly advised us that they had very unfavourable comments about the hotel food.
On arriving at our "deluxedouble" accommodation ,(which they were supposed to upgrade us from but did not) we found a room barely large enough to qualify for a standatd hotel room amywhere in Europe. The bathroom is tiny, the closet large with only six coat hangars, yet we have a balcony with a wonderful view.....and filthy floors and dirty patio furniture.
We travel all over the world...sometimes we like to choose expensive hotels to enjoy being papmered, sometimes we just like good value...sometimes we just go for cheap.
Im not sure who awarded five stars to this hotel but in our books it wouldnt rate 2 stars.

Please...save your money....go elsewhere....the are many places that deserve our accolades...this is just a dump.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank macrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing