We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully Decorated, Spacious Rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Pansa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Pansa
Ranked #10 of 38 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautifully Decorated, Spacious Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

The rooms and bathrooms here are gorgeous and much more spacious than the photos on the website imply. The bathroom, tile floors, furniture and bedding seem very new and are immaculately clean. The balconies are cute (some more spacious than others), and the wi-fi is fast. Though the breakfast is may be limited according to the standards of other reviewers (croissant, orange juice, fette biscottate, coffee, and yogurt), I found it more than satisfactory. The croissants come from Pasticceria Pansa and are some of the best I had during 3 months of travel through Italy and Spain. The owner, Roberto Pansa is extremely charming, welcoming and helpful. When I arrived in Amalfi, he met me in the Harbor, walked me to Residenza Pansa, and even helped me carry my backs up the steps. Though he speaks limited English, this is not a problem because his amiable assistant is fluent. Not all the rooms have much of a sea view, so if this is important to you, make sure you book one that does.

Though my room at Residenza Pansa was one of the best values I found in Italy, I found the town of Amalfi a bit frumpy. Personally I prefer the younger, more picturesque Positano, which is why I gave a rating of 4 instead of 5 for location. However, if you favor the more laid-back atmosphere of the Amalfi town, you simply cannot go wrong choosing Residenza Pansa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
110
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

This B and B was a very nice surprise complete with a spectacular view of the beach from the terrace. Breakfast was delivered to your room each morning. Eva was very friendly and I would recommend this B&B to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renswoude
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Upon arrival in Amalfi, we called and waited a few minutes when a small car came to pick up our luggage and the driver delivered it at the residenza (for free). A few minutes later somebody else brought our car to a parking (15 euro for one day). When we checked out, luggage and car were handed over to us at the main square. Residenza Pansa is a bit difficult to find. But the lady was so kind to meet us at the cathedral because we couldn't find the place. Spotless clean rooms and breakfast was served after we said that we were ready for it. It was room service without extra charge!! The lady was very helpful and friendly. We certainly recommend the residenza.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renswoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Recently renovated, spotlessly clean, all equipment worked as expected. Breakfast in room was fresh from the family bakery. View from the balcony was of the town facing the beach. Soundproofing was excellent. A very restful place handy to the main town square. Access was up 60 odd stairs and a little difficult to find initially. Ask a local for directions. Luggage was picked up from the Bus station, gratis.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Residenza Pansa is the perfect place to stay in all of Amalfi. Eva is absolutely the best. She brought a delightful breakfast each morning right to our room. Cappucino, croissants, the best orange juice,mmmmm.
Our room was the cleaninst room I have ever been in. Cleaned daily, The sea view from the terrace was very nice. We could see ships and the ferry when it was running. There were beautiful blooming flowers on the terrace. When our internet did not work, Eva got the best electrician to come fix it. He was so nice also. I cannot say enought good things about this B&B. The location is perfect. Extremely quiet, not too many stairs, but convienently close to all the action. I cannot wait to return with my sisters in a few years!!! Thanks Eva and your wonderful family that I was fortunate enough to meet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

We had a really good stay at this "residenza". We did wonder as the taxi arrived just few metres where the hotel was! The staff were all extremely helpful and efficient. The local restaurants recommended were good and even the bar over the road did a great value coffee. Our room was a good size & clean with a good en-suite shower room; marvellous... it has been the breakfast room service from the desserts homemade from the Pansa Patisserie. The hotel is out of the centre of Amalfi (our windows was on the huge Duomo steps and its square) but is a short walk from the bus stop to reach all the Amalfi Coast towns, i suggest to visit Minori, Ravello and Cetara.
This is a good value hotel for seeing the Amalfi and we would certainly book again if we were to visit Amalfi Coast again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandroik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

If you are staying in Amalfi, the Pansa hotel is a good bet. The room was large and airy with a balcony that was shared with other rooms but divided by planters. Eva, the woman managing the front desk was very helpful. We over paid our bill by one night and she picked it up, emailed us and had the money transfered to our account.
If you are travelling the Amalfi coast you have to expect stairs and the Pansa hotel is no exception so travel light.
We liked the location close to the water with a little quieter square (piazza) off the beaten trail.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Pansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Pansa

Property: Residenza Pansa
Address: Via di San Nicola dei Greci 11, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Pansa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few meters from the wonderful "Duomo Square", it's possible to find Residenza Panza. One of the most attractive hotels, situated in a building of the eighteenth century. Residenza Panza is composed of six rooms and four of them face direct the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residenza Pansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing