We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with lovely views over the Amalfi Coast”
Review of Residenza Pansa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza Pansa
Ranked #12 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely b&b with amazing views over the Amalfi Coast. We enjoyed the walk to the the b&b, it is up through alleys and stairs and really does feel like the typical Italian neighbourhood. We made a point of having breakfast and sundowners on the balcony while soaking up life slowly passing by. The rooms are decorated to a high standard. This was the perfect place for our 3 day stopover of the Amalfi coast. We ate loads of fresh seafood, drank litres of limonchello and ate any dessert or ice cream imaginable made from lemon.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the corner with the best views over the amalfi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinStyle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here whilst travelling around the Amalfi coast. I was pleasantly surprised how beautiful Amalfi was as I had only heard how amazing Positano was. Amalfi is not as crowded and is a very pleasant place to spend a day sight seeing and the Cathedral is very impressive. It is also a great base if you want to do a day trip to Ravello which is an amazing town high up in the hills. The b&b were very helpful from the start and organised for us to be picked up at the ferry port via a free shuttle service. This was perfect as saved us carrying our suitcases up the stairs. The b&b is in a great location just a few minutes walk to the main square. It is very clean and modern and we had a huge balcony looking out over the beach and port. Although it was beside a very busy road, there was no problem with sleeping as the doors were heavily sound proofed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an extremely pleasant stay here and would recommend it for friends, family or as a romantic getaway with your partner.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melsmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Amalfi Coast is expensive so we were pleasantly surprised at the value we received at this property. We stayed for three nights in June 2013 and it was overall a fantastic experience, with one exception.

The location is convient and there is free porter service if you let them know when you will be arriving. There are not a lot of stairs, but it was nice to have someone lead us right to the B&B. We called beforehand and a porter met us at the bus drop-off area. Margot was fantastic at reception, giving us several great recommendations for walks and restaurants.

The room is modern, clean and comfortable. There are no English tv stations but it was nice to have a break from BBC World. Breakfast is delivered to your room daily and it was very good. Would have been nice to have meat and cheese but wasn't going to pay extra for it.

However, there was one hitch. We paid extra for a superior ocean-view room with a terrace. We did receive an ocean-view room with a terrace, but it was not overlooking the coast/ocean, just a sliver of the ocean between two buildings. This was the only thing that marred our stay -- we had upgraded and expected more, but only one room had this view and we weren't lucky enough to get it. And, the people who had the lovely view didn't use the terrace while we were there, which was also disappointing but nothing we could do about that!

We liked staying in Amalfi and walked through the hills (not the quick tunnel!) to Atrani one day, then took the bus up to Ravello and walked back to Amalfi. It was more amazing than any postcard or picture we had ever seen and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Despite having a lot going against it when we arrived (we arrived much later than desired, not exactly sure where it was located, nobody was at reception and it was raining), a call to the hotel number brought about a flurry of activity and within minutes we were greeted by someone and another gentleman came to park our car. Only problem was the 60+ steps up to the room with two heavy suitcases… in the rain. Which is as rough as it sounds. For that reason alone make sure you arrive on time to avail yourself to their porter service!

But that little self-inflicted drama aside, everything else was very pleasant. Very cozy and comfortable room that is spacious enough and kept in good condition. Our room had an opening on to a shared terrace though each room has an area separated by potted plants. The terrace offers a fine view and everybody opted to have breakfast outside. Note, even if it is raining there is a small table in the room in which to sit.

The downside is obvious, the 60+ steps. If you have mobility issues this is definitely not the place for you. Also, the man who greeted us, while very polite and friendly, did not give us a great recommendation for dinner. So I wouldn’t follow their advice on that front. Avoid the Bistro for food, but the beer was the best we had in Italy.

Parking was 20 Euro per night, but that seems to be about average in Amalfi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracyInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Residenza Pansa. To have a room with a balcony overlooking the foreshore was great to say the least. We had breakfast on the balony each day, except for the final morning where we had to leave very early. The staff provided us with cereal, milk, biscuits and fruit juice, the night before so we could have some breakfast before catching the bus to Salerno. The amenities were great and the service, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was of the highest order. Many thanks to Margot and the rest of the staff - we would recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the foreshore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boondie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked this accommodation last minute and go a very good rate. It is only 2 minutes from the central bus station and the host, Margot, was very helpful, service oriented and well organised. The rooms are clean and have a nice and modern design. The front rooms are a bit noisy but you can close the door and turn on the aircondition to sleep. Unique was that breakfast was delivered to the room and we were able to have breakfast at a little table on our own terrace. Overall an excellence price/value experience and we felt very welcome as guests. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room we got did not have a view (except of the street below), but we didn't really mind. Margo (the receptionist/ manager?) was extremely helpful and helped us book a driver to the Naples airport on the day of our departure. Since we had to leave pretty early on the day of our departure (7:00 a.m.), she even brought a few breakfast items ahead of time the night before! The room itself is pretty large for Italy standards, and the place is clean and comfortable. I especially liked the shower, as the water pressure was great, and it was an overhead shower head. The B&B is located close to the bus stop (where the SITA bus dropped us off), however, there are a few flight of steps up to the place, so keep that in mind with luggage and all. From our room, the street below can be noisy, but we brought a sound machine with us and it was fine. The place is also located centrally, just steps from the main piazza in town.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, you should request it when you contact the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaGirafe610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza Luce
Residenza Luce
#1 of 43 in Amalfi
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Pansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Pansa

Address: Via di San Nicola dei Greci 11, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range: $132 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Pansa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few meters from the wonderful "Duomo Square", it's possible to find Residenza Panza. One of the most attractive hotels, situated in a building of the eighteenth century. Residenza Panza is composed of six rooms and four of them face direct the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Pansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing