We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Residenza Pansa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza Pansa
Ranked #9 of 38 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misleading”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This review would be 'Very Good' if I were basing it just on the quality of the room; it was clean, well air-conditioned and charming. Location was ideal too. My problem with my experience was that we were expecting to get a room with a sea view. We actually upgraded our room to a "Superior double room" to ensure this, and we also received confirmation from the hotel that we would have a "frontal and lateral sea view". Instead, our balcony was looking out at another building, just across the alley, and it was about 10 feet away. If we turned our heads to the right, we could see our 'sea view', a sliver of blue, shining through the gaps between other buildings. I think the hotel staff had anticipated our dissatisfaction, they gave us a tour of the room when we first checked in, but left quickly after they had pointed to the balcony. They were back at the front desk before we saw how crappy our view was. When we complained, we got no discount, weren't able to switch our room, and we left after staying 1 night.
Go to Capri instead anyways, it's much more beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    51
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
112
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed there one night and it was absolutely perfect. Taking the SITA bus to Amalfi lets you off in the main square which has a sign pointing towards the B&B which takes two minutes to get to with very little climbing of stairs. The staff were very friendly, instructing us in things to see and places to go. The beachfront was a 5 minute walk away, as was the duomo. The room had all the amenities we required, wifi, air conditioning, a nice spacious shower, and a terrace that had an amazing view of the sea. Breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast served to your room. The stay was perfect for a quick vacation and would have been even better for a few days!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We really liked Residenza Pansa. We stayed 2 nights. The staff is friendly and the room was spacious and clean. The outside deck was a nice touch, especially over breakfast during a warm morning! Seems like each room has a Wifi router in-room which is really great compared to the weak signals you get at other places. WiFi is critical to bypass cellular data rates overseas which is too expensive (keep the family updated over Facetime/Skype and update Facebook with photos). We placed our order for breakfast the previous night and was pleasantly surprised with a very nice breakfast tray.

Logistically, I was not expecting to walk up a bunch of stairs to the hotel but it ended up being a nice characteristic and made you feel that you were staying amongst the locals. The staff, while in-house 24/7, are available over the mobile phone and very receptive and take care of bringing the luggage up/down the stairs. Be prepared for time/cost if you a bringing a vehicle.

Overall, I would surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the premium rooms that have a water/shore view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Residenza Panza. When emailing we were told someone would meet us at the bus stop, however, nobody showed up and we had to find the B&B on our own. The B&B was closed on our arrival, but luckily the owner showed up shortly afterwards. It's not a long walk from the Bus stop and Ferries, but it can be confusing to find if you have never been to Amalfi. The room was very clean, and fairly modern and even had a TV (not something we used, but may be a selling point for others). The bathroom was clean well equipped with a shower stall. The air conditioning was not working when we stayed there. Even though it wasn't overly warm in Amalfi, the rooms did get very hot and stuffy. Other than the A/C, the room was excellent and we had no complaints.

The breakfasts were okay, very minimal though. Mostly breads, jams, nutella, yogurt, milk, and croissants, none of which was spectacular. The owner speaks very little english, so when he greeted us we had difficulty communicating. He did give us a good restaurant recommendation which included a discount. The receptionist Eva speaks more English and is somewhat helpful.

The location is close to the central part of Amalfi and everything is within walking distance. Be warned its 67 steps up to the main entrance, but they do offer baggage assistance for those who need it.

Overall, this was a very good B&B but it falls short on the details and little extras. If you are looking for a reasonably priced clean rooms and not much else, then this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

The accommodation at R. Pansa was of a high quality, and everything was nice & clean. There was only one attendant who spoke English, and after 4pm, there's no representative on the front desk. The breakfast was typically Italian with a croissant, roll, a beautiful latte, and a yoghurt.

Wireless internet worked eventually on the iPad but needed some assistance from the non-English speaking staff but got there eventually with their support and my 'sign language!'

One thing to be aware of here are the steps to get to the property, which in comparison to other hotels are quite plentiful. So if your knees are a little dodgy, then I'd recommend alternatives such as Floridiana which remains our favourite budget, but top quality service orientated hotel in Amalfi.

So a reasonably good review but why 3*? Well on the checkout I was assured that our bags would have someone looking over them until we returned at 2pm, but when we did the attendant at the front desk wasn't there, and our bags were left open to anyone or any other guest walking past them. We could have had everything or some things taken. Now it is Amalfi, and a very trust worthy place and so whilst I have no doubt at all, the hotel staff are completely responsible, you can't ever accommodate for the other guests that may be staying at the hotel. So my big tip - if you're going to leave your bags, ensure they're secure and if in doubt, find an alternative solution.

In the main though, an affordable option with good quality space & set up, but for an equivalent price, Floridiana would be my tip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fandango1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the start of April and had an excellent welcome. The hotel is tucked away in a small side street and as others have commented in reviews, there are several well graduated steps to be negotiated to get there...but we soon got used to the climb! Getting luggage to the hotel was not a problem- this was swiftly arranged once we contacted the hotel. They also made arrangements for us to park our car. In fact nothing we asked for was too much trouble. Eva, the friendly receptionist was helpful at all times...booking restaurants etc. One member of the party has a wheat intolerance and Eva went to great lengths to ensure that a suitable continental breakfast was supplied each day.
The hotel is modern, clean and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Amalfi room and Ravello room...which I would suggest you ask for if you want the best view and sun on your terrace. We plan to visit again and will certainly book this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the Amalfi room or Ravello room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menai63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for 12 days end of May/beginning June 2011 and had a super time!
Ideally located, this is the perfect place to explore your surroundings! You do not need a car - in fact we found it perfect to explore Amalfi on foot and use the SITA bus to explore the surroundings. Mr. Pansa, the lovely, helpful owner came to pick us up at the SITa bus stop to show us the way to his lovely B&B. The multilingual receptionist is also very nice. Lovingly renovated, beautiful bathroom, good bed - very cosy. Make sure you book the room called "Amalfi", it is the one with the best view over the village and harbour/sea. The room itself might be smaller than the others, but the view is definitely worth it! Breakfast with lovely fresh croissants is served on the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Pansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Pansa

Property: Residenza Pansa
Address: Via di San Nicola dei Greci 11, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Pansa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few meters from the wonderful "Duomo Square", it's possible to find Residenza Panza. One of the most attractive hotels, situated in a building of the eighteenth century. Residenza Panza is composed of six rooms and four of them face direct the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Pansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing