We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic little B&B”
Review of Residenza Pansa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Pansa
Ranked #14 of 42 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic little B&B”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this B&B for 3 days in september. We had some issues before we arrived because they didn't answer our emails, but once there we really enjoyed our stay.

The B&B is situated in a back street in Amalfi, up quite a few stairs from the harbour. It is a romantic little place with large clean rooms, some with large terraces with a great view of the town and ocean. We stayed in the room Amalfi, and had our breakfast every day on our terrace with a beautiful view. The manager is present until about 13:00 every day, and happily answered all our questions, and also helped us when we had problems with our car.

Parking is no issue, there is a newly built parking garage inside the mountains between Amalfi and Atrani, just make sure when you arrive that you let them know that you are staying for several days. You can use your car as much as you want during this time, and pay per 24h.

It was a pleasure staying at Residenza Pansa, and Amalfi was a good place to stay for exploring the coastline.

Room Tip: The room Amalfi (and Positano) have the nicest view and a large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiseelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    53
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
117
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Really clean, newly refurbished decor. Centrally located, staff very helpful and overall a perfect place to stay while in amalfi. The rooms with the seaview and large terrace's are a must.

Room Tip: look for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at this B&B and were not only delighted, but we felt like were really were in Italy! I cannot say enough about the location, the rooms, the ambiance and general pleasure in staying here.
There are only 6 rooms, we had the Amalfi room, large terrace with a view to die for, completely renovated, modern and very nice bathroom, bed is good, fab location just off of the Duomo Square - there are two squares in Amalfi, the main square and then Duomo which is smaller and right by the pier. There are 3 rooms with the full terrace, one is the Amalfi which we had and Ravello and one other that I cannot remember. Be sure to ask for a terrace view!

It's a little tricky to find but added to our adventure and learned that Italian's are indeed helpful. If coming by SITA bus or ferry it's really just steps away located just off of the main square. The location is SO Italian, you are in the thick of things! The B&B is has historic value as it once was paper mill. Checking in was easy. Remember that this is a B&B so it's small, simple and check in is very basic.

Breakfast was filled with Italian coffee, juice and lovely, fresh baked goods, delivered directly to our room, all served of course, on our lovely terrace overlooking the water. Thrilling,,,,,really!
There are alot of stairs but manageable. The hotel is a little noisy in the day times, but the evening and early morning were fine as most cars were not operating then. There was some traffic noise, but typical European sounds...did not bother us, it is part of the culture and experience!

The fellow checking us in recommended a restaurant in the nearby square...fabulous all around. Wished we had stayed longer.
We had taken the SITA bus from Solerno and having arrived, wished we booked another night. The evening once the tourists are gone (!) was spent having a wonderful dinner, walking along the boardwalk and enjoying the center square.

The day following we hopped on the ferry to Capri, but honestly, we loved Amalfi better. More ambiance, no modern stores (I can get that at home)...great places in Amalfi to buy pottery/ceramics! Be sure to buy some of the locally made paper notes and cards...beautiful.

We cannot say enough about the destination or this hotel, dollar for dollar GREAT value. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace/sea view - Amalfi or Rovello
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Fabulous service, met at the wharf by owner & her son to guide us to the B & B, son carried our bags to our room which was great given how heavy they were and the steps that needed to be climbed to reach the B & B. The room was very mordern and very, very clean. We had a small terrace outside where we had breakfast each morning, the terrace had views to the coast. Location was very good close to the centre of Amalfi. I would certainly stay here again and have no hesitation recommending to other travellers. Eva is a wonderful host, she recommended us to several restaraunts and these restaraunts certainly looked after us when we told them that Eva had recommended there restaraunt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I've stayed here five or six times in the last year and, considering the sparseness of great updated accommodations in Amalfi, I was a little torn between the pros and cons of the place. No more. First, the good: the interior was recently renovated into a very clean comforting blue and white tile decor. Compared to other places I've stayed in Amalfi, this in itself held it above the other choices. Plus, the value was pretty good. Now, the bad and the ugly: They have a pretty awful concept of what basic hospitality customer service is. This isn't all that unusual in the Campania region (or maybe Italy in general), but it should be. I would not recommend RP to a friend of mine after the most recent stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at Residenza Pansa with my boyfriend for 5 nights and we were really happy with the location, room decor and cleanliness.

Located in a perfect position in Amalfi - 2 seconds away from the centre of things but neatly tucked away so it's not too loud - this B&B serviced all our needs.

I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and cleanliness, and I found this hotel to be super clean and beautifully furnished.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amalfi, it really was delightful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yazmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We loved Residenza Pansa. The owner, Roberto, was extremely helpull in providing advices of things to see and place to eat in Amalfi. The hotel is very nice with modern and extra clean rooms. Although our room did not have a sea view, the balcony was quite enjoyable. Great place, Great value!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolstiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Pansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Pansa

Property: Residenza Pansa
Address: Via di San Nicola dei Greci 11, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Pansa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few meters from the wonderful "Duomo Square", it's possible to find Residenza Panza. One of the most attractive hotels, situated in a building of the eighteenth century. Residenza Panza is composed of six rooms and four of them face direct the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Pansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing