We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna degli Apostoli

Taverna degli Apostoli
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a great restaurant tucked up a set of stairs behind the cathedral. The food and service was excellent. I loved that it was out of the main traffic areas and more intimate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    174
    44
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent and authentic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our favourite eatery in Amalfi. We even went back to eat again during our 5 night stay there. The staff were ultra friendly and engaging. It is run by two brothers, who proudly brought out their mother who had cooked the whole meal! The lemon pasta was lovely, but my favourite dish was the maccheroni with napolitana sauce. The antipasto was also excellent. We later bunched into one of the brothers at the beach and he remembered us and had a chat, which only endeared this place more. The view of the courtyard and church is also a lovely draw card.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nckbrdfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Like Sunday dinner at Nonna's house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Tucked under the steps of the Duomo on the mezzanine to the left of the staircase is a hidden jewel of Amalfi's dining scene. Family run since the time of WWII, this restaurant delivers Italian home cooking at its best. The ladies of the family are cooking their specialties in the kitchen, and a team of brothers provide attentive and helpful service. The choices a perhaps a little more limited than what you might expect, but everything is prepared very well (we dined there four times during our week-long stay and tried most of the menu). We dined al fresco each visit and experienced soft jazz music in the background, candles flickering in nooks and crannies of the wall, and the cloudless, moon-filled sky above. Elderly neighbors in the adjacent buildings came and went about their business, and kids from the neighborhood (including the daughter of one of the brothers) played up and down the stairway. What a slice of the Italian good life!-- it was like living in a scene from Cinema Paradiso.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Domer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Lemon Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere, simple food, casual style. Frequented by locals and tourists. Service is not the best but very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ferrari0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Other
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Relaxed athmosphere, despite central location you don´t get the impression that this is one of the many restaurants where the ship busloads of tourists. more like an informal family style location.

Food was outstanding (we can only comment on the antipasti and pasta, which was excellent). Try the lemon pesto!

We even went there twice during 4 days of Amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FL321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna degli Apostoli also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna degli Apostoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing