We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view - food comes second!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Marina Grande

Restaurant Marina Grande
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $86
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We use locally sourced products and organic food.Our Philosophy:Producing food in a sustainable way, respectful of the earth and its inhabitants. Melding this philosophy with our passion we create healthy, savory meals, using the freshest ingredients gathered at peak season from our favorite local producers and organic food whenever possible. Our focus is flavor, freshness, taste. We think these priorities benefit you, our guest.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great view - food comes second!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Book the day before and get a table on the front row for this place. The atmosphere and view are to die for - if you ain't romantic when you get here you will be by the time you leave. The food is pretty good, fresh fish dishes are the best choice, But this is maybe not the point - you come here to feel special. More expensive than others locally but worth the extra.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scareybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    290
    70
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were on a boat ride through the Costa Amalfitana and when stopped in Amalfi for a late lunch, found this place completely by accident: what a good surprise! Service was always efficient and friendly. We had a lovely table directly overlooking the sea - under big sun shades, good for me! - and the view of the place is great. The environment is elegant, but relaxed: after all, you're in front of the sea! Upon arrival, we were handed a welcome starter by the chef, lovely! We also received variate homemade kinds of grissini and bread. The prosecco we ordered, from the Valdobbiadene region, was great and fresh, with the staff always coming to refill our glasses. We tried the Entrecôte with rucola and cherry tomato and also the grilled fresh fish of the day, all good and consistent. It was a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dindi_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The service was 5 stars but only 3 stars for the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The service was 5 stars; the waiters were very attentive and we particularly liked the bread served in warm bean bag. However I am afraid but I give only 3 stars for the food. We ordered Seafood pasta and Seafood risotto. Although the seafood was very fresh, both dishes tasted nothing, just blunt! We were very disappointed. not going back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great outlook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This restaurant is on the beach with great views out to sea. We arrived without a booking for dinner and we had a nice table on the deck. The food was simple and fresh, good italian food. The service was also excellent

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above Average Italian and Seafood with a fantastic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Marina Grande is a top tier Italian ristorante located on the water in Amalfi. The food menu has a standard fill of quality Italian choices and a strong seafood menu to boot. The restaurant accepts reservations, though they were not needed when we went in August . Reservations would have helped in obtaining the prime seating along the water. One of neat things that was included during dinner was a bread "bag" with a wide range of warm breads. The wine menu was solid as is expected at above average Italian locations, with wines from throughout the country. The food was excellent and worth a look if your looking for a great restaurant with a view!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen_koehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Marina Grande also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Restaurant Marina Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing