We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service was 5 stars but only 3 stars for the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Marina Grande

Restaurant Marina Grande
Viale della Regione, 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 871129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $89
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We use locally sourced products and organic food.Our Philosophy:Producing food in a sustainable way, respectful of the earth and its inhabitants. Melding this philosophy with our passion we create healthy, savory meals, using the freshest ingredients gathered at peak season from our favorite local producers and organic food whenever possible. Our focus is flavor, freshness, taste. We think these priorities benefit you, our guest.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The service was 5 stars but only 3 stars for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The service was 5 stars; the waiters were very attentive and we particularly liked the bread served in warm bean bag. However I am afraid but I give only 3 stars for the food. We ordered Seafood pasta and Seafood risotto. Although the seafood was very fresh, both dishes tasted nothing, just blunt! We were very disappointed. not going back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great outlook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This restaurant is on the beach with great views out to sea. We arrived without a booking for dinner and we had a nice table on the deck. The food was simple and fresh, good italian food. The service was also excellent

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Above Average Italian and Seafood with a fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Marina Grande is a top tier Italian ristorante located on the water in Amalfi. The food menu has a standard fill of quality Italian choices and a strong seafood menu to boot. The restaurant accepts reservations, though they were not needed when we went in August . Reservations would have helped in obtaining the prime seating along the water. One of neat things that was included during dinner was a bread "bag" with a wide range of warm breads. The wine menu was solid as is expected at above average Italian locations, with wines from throughout the country. The food was excellent and worth a look if your looking for a great restaurant with a view!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen_koehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach area
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On the marina, very good service; fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went here based on an episode of David Rocco on a food/travel channel. I got the panzanella salad that they showcased on that episode (even though it was not listed on the menu). It was good but not great, portion was huge. My husband got the pasta with clams (red sauce). He commented about how much clam flavor the dish had. I had a pasta dish as well and loved how al dente it was. The service is excellent!! Good wine selection. Location is right on the marina in front of the local beach; you have to walk own a flight of stars to get to. Was very nice sitting right out by the water on a gorgeous night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank whammo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, great view !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another stop on our Mediterranean cruise was the spectacular coastal town of Amalfi. Bustling streets, restaurants, bars, ice-cream parlours, cocolate shops……these Italians know how to live !

Before long, lunchtime was upon us again. Having surveyed the surrounds, we opted to hit the beach and lunch at the Marina Grande.

The restaurant “Marina Grande” began life as a seaside bar in 1918 and then moved to its current location on Spiaggia Grande in 1935. Towards the end of the fifties, it evolved into a restaurant overlooking the wonderful expanse of water enclosing the historical centre of Amalfi. Waves break on the beach near the covered terrace while you taste the best of our local cuisine.
“Humility, respect for the ingredients and the culture of nourishment…” is the philosophy of the Marina Grande.

The result is traditional food based on Italian heritage but truly innovative in its presentation. Dishes are created not with overpowering flavors or spice but are savory and light, with rapid cooking methods that retain the integrity of the fresh taste.

Lunch consisted of an entree of local clams and mussels cooked in a spicy tomato and wine sauce. An abundance of herbs and garlic always present, marries perfectly with the delicately cooked seafood. Main course was soon upon us. Spaghetti vongole. In Italy, you never get tired of this dish. Simple in its construction, pleasing to the eye and an explosion of taste in the mouth. Vongole, most delicately cooked in white wine, garlic and herbs, tossed with zucchini flowers proudly straddling the pasta. What more could I ask for.

Our combined rating: 4.5 / 5, a double thumbs up :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darius_Pavri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Marina Grande also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Restaurant Marina Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing